We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night as a married couple! and First B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The John Penrose Virden House
Ranked #5 of 9 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My new husband and I married 11-9 at Irish Eyes (across the Canal) and we were given a night at the Virden house for our first night. We got there late after our reception, so didn't meet anyone til the morning, Everything was absolutely amazing. They left us a message with directions how to get to our room. The room was beautiful and comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning started at 9:00. It was ABSOLUTELY delicious. I wasn't too sure of the idea of eating with people I didn't know/wasn't sure what to expect - but the conversation over a tasty breakfast was enjoyable. And the food was amazing.
We definitely recommend to stay here as a night away. We live in Delaware, so this could definitely be a place for us to go again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMohler119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Been going for the past 7 years. Jim and Ruth are wonderful hosts! The breakfast is creative and delicious. Eating it on the front porch is a great experience. The garden in the back of the home is beautiful. I recommend the attached cottage for your stay but any room you get has it's own unique charm. The town of Lewes and surrounding area is great! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The John Penros Virden House was a beautiful home over a hundred years old built by a sea captain....John Penros Virden. The ambiance was quiet and peaceful. Ruth's breakfasts were some of the best I have ever had in my years of doing B & B's. Beautiful surroundings to rest, read and close to the charming village of Lewes, Del. A ten!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwenh447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for 3 nights at the end of August and stayed in the Penrose suite on the third floor. Our 19 year old son was with us and he was extremely happy to have the sitting room as his own private area complete with bed, TV and refrigerator. Not only was the house decorated beautifully but it was in the best area possible. Everything was within walking distance to beautiful shops and restaurants.
We didn't have the pleasure of meeting Ruth as she was away but Jim took excellent care of us! He is an amazing chef and prepared each breakfast with care and special detail making sure to question our preferences. Everything was always delicious! Sitting on the front porch for breakfast and then later before dinner drinking wine with cheese and crackers was so relaxing!
Beaches were a short distance away and Jim helped us with directions and with suggestions on things to do and restaurants to visit. We look forward to visiting again.
Laura, John and Jonathan

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momofkayandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were welcomed w/ fresh flowers, fresh fruit, and a choice of charming rooms. Gourmet breakfast in front of fire, choice of wine or tea before dinner on a lovely front porch. Innkeepers, Jim and Ruth very gracious.We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tkreinecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Spent two nights (Sept. 4 and 5) at the Virden House. It was sheer delight! Ruth and Jim Edwards are wonderful hosts. They prepare the most delicious breakfasts and serve them on the porch where you are surrounded by a lovely garden. The house is decorated with priceless antiques. Check out the bar in the dining room that came from a ship.
I highly recommend this B and B if your plans take you to Lewes.
Consider taking the ferry as there is a shuttle bus that leaves you within a few steps of the Virden house.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne11209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Ruth was probably one of the nicest, most charming hostesses I have ever met. The food was delicious, the place was comfortable, interesting décor, it was all just so relaxing. I will definitely come back next year.

Room Tip: all were extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katz5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
5.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#1 of 7 in Lewes
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savannah Inn
Savannah Inn
#1 of 9 in Lewes
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dogfish Inn
Dogfish Inn
#4 of 9 in Lewes
124 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The John Penrose Virden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Penrose Virden House

Address: 217 2nd St, Lewes, DE 19958-1325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range: £85 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The John Penrose Virden House Lewes, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing