We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time expierence......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JD Shuckers

JD Shuckers
Ranked #36 of 88 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“First time expierence......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The food was good. The bartender was friendly but I went to watch a Monday night football game and the kitchen was closing 20 minutes into the game. I was barely settled into my seat before I overheard another customer being told that the kitchen was closing. I quickly ordered and it was very good but I left at halftime. I would usually be ordering food at halftime and staying spending money until the end of the game. There was also no sound on the TV's for the game.....SPORTS BAR ?????

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TikiBarb4243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    13
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Used to be good, not so much anymore”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We used to go here very often with family and friends. It slowly started to slip a few years ago and now it is entirely out of the rotation. At first, one person at the table would get a bad meal. Now, they are all bad. The last time I went there the food was actually spoiled. It's a shame. This used to be a good restaurant. Now, there is no way I will eat there again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancater County, PA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cream of Crab soup is "lick the bowl" awesome!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited JD Shuckers with another family (4 adults and 3 children 6 and under) and hit during the early-bird hours. I was pleased with the selection of the children's menu items and the fact that the chicken strips were actual chicken and not breaded and shaped mystery puree.

We started with cream of crab soup...it was amazing (no, we didn't actually lick the bowl, but it was that good). The fried flounder, sesame seared tuna, crab imperial, and steamed mussles/clams all got thumbs up. Service got thumbs down all around...couldn't even get a refill on unsweetened tea-it was apparent she was servicing beer-tab tables and not "free refills" tables.

While Acoustic Rick totally rocked early-bird hours (and is lead for Love Seed Mama), it was a little loud for any kind of conversation. We were relieved when his set ended at 6.

Overall, it was a good experience and we would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A-Road-Not-Taken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food is amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Had a friends wedding rehearsal dinner here. Staff super nice and accommodating. The food was amazing! We had a limited menu but great options all the same. Great decor. We will be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Friday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I believe it rained at least 5 inches today, so when it slowed to a roar, we hit the road for a quick snack after a long drive from Michigan to visit our family! We have eaten here for dinner, and all was good, but never stopped in for Happy Hour (: until today (2:00-6:00).

We enjoyed at least one Yuengling, which has not made it to the "big D (Detroit) yet $2.50 /each and some great hot pretzels and wings. Four beers and two appetizers for $15.50 (still love NO TAX DELAWARE) - What's not to be HAPPY about! Good food, lots of sports on TV's and inexpensive snacks and drinks on a rainy day.....

Stop in to give this locally run establishment a go! Enjoy.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dillon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to JD Shuckers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing