We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Beautiful”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We stayed here for one night in mid-May of 2009. The front desk people were very nice and helpful. It's located close to the beach, right on the canal, and VERY close to everything that there is to do in Lewes. The room was very clean and very well decorated. There was some leaks on the ceiling, but all looked like they were dry now, but still some were in need of repair. The bathroom was large, clean, and the blue sinks gave it an amazing glow. It had two sinks, a large tub, and a nearly two-person sized shower. The two-sided fireplace gave the room a romantic feel, and the outdoor fireplace on the roof, with seating around it, was simply amazing. If it had a hot-tub on the roof, or if the pool was ready to swim in, it would have made it simply perfect. I thought it was quite a good deal for the money spent, about $220.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danronian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2009

Jean and I celebrated 40 years of marriage at Hotel Blue over 5/17 weekend. It was just lovely! We were given a bottle of champagne for the anniversary. We don't drink but appreciated the kind gesture. Staff was helpful. Walking distance to old Lewes shops and restaurants.

For a special time give this lovely hotel a try.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed for three nights at Hotel Blue to celebrate a combination anniversary and birthday. What a lovely find! We picked this place after reading wonderful Dream getaway reviews in the Washingtonian and other feedback here on trip advisor. Our studio suite (room 306) was on the third floor (elevator access) facing the town and canal with superior amenities - balcony, gas fireplace (but too warm to use!), two flat screen tvs, comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, coffee bar, fridge and small sink, microwave, large bathroom with double sinks, separate tub and shower; great bath products. Fresh fruit and gourmet coffee in the lobby 24 hours; a "surprise" bottle of champagne compliments of the hotel for our anniversary. Bike racks out back;) A small rooftop pool with lots of lounge chairs, some sofas and a fireplace - a great place to cozy up with a nice book! The owners and staff are friendly, extremely helpful with excellent recommendations and directions. The town is lovely, just a short walk or bike over the bridge with great restaurants, coffee shops and cafes. Cape Henlopen State Park is about 2.5 miles - an easy bike ride with trails, beach access and a fort. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marylou452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

My wife and I stayed for just one night and loved the place. Much more style than the usual beach place with lots of space in the rooms. You can walk to several (good) choices for dinner and enjoy a drink on the balcony. Across the street and canal-front is a restaurant that is being remodeled which should be nice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khazelbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Spent the weekend for a romantic getaway. The hotel was one the best I ever stayed at with a very well planned decore. The staff was excellent. Would highly recommend for a trip to Lewes.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knight1458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here for three blissful nights. The room was gorgeous, the staff friendly and helpful, the amenities luxurious. We could not have been happier.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjkjMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

The staff were pleasant and helpful (e.g. on checkout they asked if we had AAA [which I had neglected to mention when I made the reservation] and took 10% off the bill). The fireplace in the room was wonderful, but the most appreciated amenity was the espresso machine in the lobby. The view was OK (across the street was the Lewes/Reheboth canal) and Lewes is a wonderful town for exploring

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDBob9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.1 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#1 of 7 in Lewes
192 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
2.8 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
5.2 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
878 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 110 Anglers Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1105
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £100 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a private and luxurious atmosphere in the historic first town of Lewes, Delaware. Enjoy a relaxed stay in this modern hotel that is less than a half mile walk from the beach. Escape the heavy traffic of Rehoboth, Dewey, and Bethany beaches at this upscale canal front hotel. The rooftop pool with a beautiful panoramic view of Lewes Beach is characteristic to this boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Lewes, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing