We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Price is Right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Haymarket, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Price is Right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2007

We have recently returned from a weekend in Lewes DE. We stayed at the Beacon Motel. The motel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, but you do have to get their attention because they are hidden from the front desk area in a back office. We stayed on the 2nd floor, no elevators! So be careful if you have small children or lots of stuff to carry. We paid $97 a night, which we thought was an excellent value. There were 2 double beds in our room, frig, small table, and that's about it. This is a budget hotel(two star), but still very adequate just not luxury by any standards. If you’re looking for a romantic get away, I wouldn’t recommend this place, but if you’re not it’s a great bargain in a town that has plenty of over rated expensive hotels. We were pleasantly surprised about the number of quality activities for Sea Witch festival. I highly recommend this event for those traveling with kids. Again a nice motel, especially for the price. Also you must do breakfast at Blue Plate Diner and dinner or lunch at Stripper Bites.

  • Liked — Price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — No elevators
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank davisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    53
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

We just returned from a delightful stay at the Beacon Motel in Lewes. The motel was quite adorable - roomy and very clean. It was close to the historic and shopping district, and also the beach. The staff was quite helpful in giving information about eateries, etc. The only drawback was that they have no elevator. Since I have difficulty with hauling items up stairs, my companion had to do most of the work. I would still recommend this reasonably-priced motel.

  • Liked — Very clean, fun, beachy decor, close to town
  • Disliked — No elevators
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kesslkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

I was really disappointed with the Beacon Motel. The location is about the only good thing -- it's right between downtown Lewes and the beach and walking distance to restaurants and shops, with a sandwich shop/convenience store and a bike rental shop on the ground floor. It feels run-down from the moment you walk in the door, and it gets worse in the room. The shower/bath didn't look like it had been cleaned in quite some time. The mattresses were saggy and covered (under the sheets) with something that felt like a giant diaper -- very uncomfortable to sleep on. You can hear other people walking around in their rooms. The a/c is quite loud. It seems fairly safe, though, and the staff are quite friendly, even though when I was there, there clearly were not enough people on duty. There were a lot of families with young kids running around the public areas screaming, so keep that in mind. It would be okay if you had no other options (which was my case), if it was $50 or so (which was not the case -- it was more than twice that), and if you don't have any heavy luggage (as others have noted, no elevator -- you have to haul your luggage up narrow, steep, dark stairs).

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mnkytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

This motel as a real pleasant surprise! We did not have a lot of money for a room and were afraid of what we might have to settle for! This place was a gem! The rooms were colorful and clean! The staff were all very friendly and cheery! Even the cleaning people seemed like they were having a good time! We only stayed one night, but the experience was great! Good location and the balconies were cool! The pool and pool area was also really nice, though we never had much time to use it! Will go again!

  • Liked — value, balcony, clean rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — tacky stairwells
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mknamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2007

I stayed at this hotel April 20-21, 2007. I was in the area for a wedding and this was the least expensive option. It was a great location to the downtown area and the room was very clean. It was a great value, however, it was not in peak season. During peak season, I'm not sure of the value. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was just down the road from the ocean as well. This hotel is not luxurious, but clean and convenient.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kobsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2007

Recently stayed at the Beacon Motel for a little getaway with my 8-year old daughter. Terrific place for a weekend at the beach. Our 1st time to Lewes, DE - absolutely loved the town. It's adorable with cute little shops & a great restaurant - Striper Bites; which is within walking distance of motel.

Motel rooms are spacious - downside of course is no elevator but truly not a big deal. Pool is on 2nd floor and nice size w/plenty of lounge chairs & tables. Great little deli right next door for breakfast or lunch. We got sandwiches & ate at the pool one afternoon. Clean & so convenient to the town & Cape Henlopen state park beach.

We will be back again & will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawntoddlivvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2007

It's a really nice hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very attractive. The staff was nice and helpful--we got a great recommendation for breakfast. The setting is nice and you are right by the town bay beach. There are nice restaurants within walking distance. There's just one problem:
No Elevator!
All the rooms are on the second floor or higher, and this was NOT fun for lugging our luggage!
We'll probably be back here, but we'll plan accordingly.

  • Liked — Very attractive and comfortable.
  • Disliked — No elevator. No Internet of any sort, though since we were only there for one night, it didn't really matter
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LibraryLady61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#1 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#2 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.8 mi away
Heritage Inn and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Motel

Property: Beacon Motel
Address: 514 E Savannah Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1161
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Beacon Motel Lewes, Delaware
Beacon Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing