We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beacon Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lewes
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Blue(Lewes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Rehoboth Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
26
58
15
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
58
15
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge lobbyone nightpool towelssecond levelstaff was exceptionally friendlyroom was cleanthe upper floorsirish eyeslarge familyshort walkstrip mallnice sizestay there againfront desk staffnice staylong weekendget away
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Clean and spacious room with balcony, free coffee, easy walk to the beach and town, decent rates, generous with the towels. The only amenity missing is a safe in the room. One downside is the thin walls. Also, on occasion, a pretty strong sulfur smell presumably from the swamps around the property. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mingum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I've stayed at this motel last year, and was very pleased. The lobby is on the first floor, and the rooms are on the second and third floors, but no elevator. If you have trouble lugging things up stairs, ask for the second floor. This year, I went to check in, and the woman behind the desk was on the phone, obviously personal- she was talking about taking up golf. It took her several minutes to to realize I wanted something. WTH? The lobby is nice- huge, with plenty of comfortable looking seats and sofas, a flat screen tv, a small lending library, and a huge fish tank. I got to my room, and it wasn't as nice as the room I had last year. There was a burn mark on the carpet from a clothes iron, some strange stain on the ceiling (near the ceilingfan- that's why I noticed it) and the linoleum in the bathroom looked past its prime- some ground in dirt that nothing will clean it. The marsh across the street makes it almost impossilbe to have the door open during the day, the smell is so bad. the pool is only open till 9pm, early for a beach town. The pool is marked 3 1/2 feet deep, but when I stepped in, it was almost up to my shoulders. Probably will scare the crap out of some little kid, thinking its shallow water. But now the nice- there's a good sized 'frig/freezer in the room, (there's a community microwave in the hall near the pool) ceiling fan, private balcony (your choice of overlooking the pool and empty field, or the street/marsh-traffic noise at night is non existant) The bathroom looks recently remodeled (except for the floor) the room is spotless, the bed soooo comfortable, a flat screen tv with plenty of channels, and free WIFI. And the beach is just down the street!! A bit far to walk to, but you can bike or take the car. I've stayed in better places, but also stayed in places that were by far alot worse. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: since there's no elevators, I chose a room on the second floor. If you don't mind lugging things upstairs, get a third floor room. I prefer the street side rooms. Also, park in the front of the building-its well lit from the businesses on the first floor. The back parking lot has no lights.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is the second year my family and I have stayed at the Beacon. It is a quick walk to the quaint town of Lewes where there are many things to do such as shopping, dining and learning about local history. The Delaware Bay is a quick drive away as is the Cape May-Lewes Ferry and Cape Henlopen State Park.

The rooms are a good size at the motel and have a sizable refrigerator/freezer combo. Although they do have a microwave out in the common area, it would be nice if they had them in all the rooms. The rooms are clean, and all of the staff is very friendly. Although the cleaning staff is very friendly, and they do their job well, it would be nice if their carts weren't constantly in the hallway during the day. The pool is a great feature of the hotel, but during the summer it would be nice if it was open later than 9pm instead 11pm would be better.

Overall the Beacon is a very nice hotel, and I will probably stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musicalminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed here with my daughter's lacrosse team for a tournament and a few extra days at the beach. Location was perfect for where we were going and what we were doing. Easy walk into town and to Lewes beach. Short drive to Cape Henlopen State Park and ferry to Cape May. The lobby is nicely decorated with a big fish tank and a huge chalk board which guests are free to decorate. Coffee seems to be available all the time. Our room was huge (2 doubles with a pull out sofa) and very comfortable. The pool was nice with plenty of room for relaxing poolside even with a lot of people at the motel. No restaurant in the motel itself, but there is a deli/convenience store on the property that serves breakfast and lunch (some patience is needed here if it's crowded). Note: There is NO elevator here and I don't think there are any first floor rooms so climbing the stairs is a must. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cesejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed from July the 1st to the 4th, 2012. Grandparents and our 12 year old Granddaughter.

Everyone at this motel was very pleasant. When you walk in there is a large lobby with chairs a flat screen tv, a lending library and a huge blackboard that everyone can write on. Free cofee and tea is available thruout the day. The entire property is very clean. We had the Queen room with the sofa sleeper made up for our Granddaughter. All of the bedding and towels were of a soft Turquoise color or soft yellow. Plenty of pillows and towels were available, the beds were comfortable, the motel supplies pool towels as well. The air conditioning worked well. The room has lights that are good for reading. Each room has a nice size refrigerator, as well as tables and chairs and a vanity. There is ice always available in the pool level lobby, as well as the use of a microwave, and there are several vending machines. At the entrance level, there is a place to rent bicycles and all kinds of beach gear. There is also a deli. A short distance from the property is the "Daily Market" where you can get most anything you may need. Also, a nice Italian restaurant. Staying here at the Beacon, you can go to the Bay, Cape Henlopen Park, or Rehobeth very easily. The town of Lewes is a lovely small town. The motel is family friendly, my Granddaughter loved that she could go get ice in her pj's.....the pool is open from early in the morning until 9pm. There are tables and chairs and beach umbrella's located around the pool. It was quiet in the evenings.

We felt welcome and we will be back......

Room Tip: for more room go up to the Queen Room - Standards are sufficient for two people and have 2 double beds.......ask for room in the back of hotel this is quiet as it is away from the road
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuaneDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews