We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Beacon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We go to Lewes every summer, and we always stay at the Beacon!

The hotel is nice, I love the pool -- it's outside on the 2nd floor, which is awesome.

The best part is its location. It's within walking distance of both the bay and the historic town. It's also minutes from Cape Henlopen and the Tanger Outlets!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sadie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Went to Lewes to look for some property and did not make an advance reservation. There was a large wedding party in town so the two best hotels were full. We ended up spending one night at the less than bright beacon. The room was clean, but worn/dated. The furnishings had to be at least 15 to 20 years old. The common areas were worn out and the halls were dim and needed a coat of paint. You can't beat the location, there is plenty of parking and the lack of an elevator is only a minor issue, but we won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: I don't think there is such a thing as a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grandsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We needed somewhere to stay to catch early ferry to Cape May. This was convienant to ferry and downtown Lewes. 50's beach motif but clean & friendly and perfect for what we needed.
A little pricey for it's age but it had the desired location.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnemccreanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is in need of a major makeover. The furniture looks like it was taken from an 80s Florida retirement home. The hallways are dark and dingy. Everything is in need of painting. The bathrooms are cheap and the soap in the bathroom looks like it has been re-wrapped from a previous guest. Carpet needs replaced, burnt iron marks on the floor in my room. The prices are way to high 80 to 100 for off season for this place, should be about $50. For all that it does have a nice tv but that's about it. Wifi is free. Pool was closed in the middle of the day. Would not recommend

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Wvumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here 1st weekend of September for a weekend at the beach. Beacon staff were friendly and pleasant, the room was fine--quiet with quick access to the beach. we read the other reviews and brought our own sheets and will probably bring our own pillows for comfort next time, but you can't been the price and location for quick access.
great access to town too, we were able to walk to dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave45213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The location of this motel could not be more perfect. While the rooms could use a bit of an overhaul, they are clean and the staff is extremely pleasant. The swimming pool is fantastic. All in all....well worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bern08816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We've stayed at the Beacon every year for the past 12 years. We like the prices, the size of the rooms when you upgrade to a queen suite, it easily can sleep 6. It's very close to the Lewes Beach and the ferry, however we go to Cape Henlopen State Park. Downstairs are a few shops and a deli, also within walking distance from a few restaurants, the canal and all the shops in Lewes by the canal (our favorite). Staff is usually very nice, they even let you take DVD's and will play them on their own channel for you in your room whenever you like. We enjoy their pool and sometimes you can see the ocean from the deck. It's nice to sit around the pool in the evenings and let the kiddos swim while the adults indulge a little and unwind! There is no elevator, that to us is the only drawback, it is backbreaking when traveling with a large family to load up and down the steps, but we are used to it and appreciate all the other perks we look for, so it's a trade off. We love the Beacon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IslandGirlTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#1 of 7 in Lewes
197 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
153 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#12 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
347 reviews
4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Motel

Address: 514 E Savannah Rd, Lewes, DE 19958-1161
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Beacon Motel Lewes, Delaware
Beacon Hotel Lewes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing