We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Inn and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage Inn and Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a great stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

While some may think they're trapped in a time warp of an era when "kitchy Americana" was en vogue, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were in the "Mojave Desert" room, which included a little "Borax" diorama in its corner cabinet. Seriously. How many places will you stay and encounter that?

But, more importantly:
The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. The hotel was quiet, and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. We had to leave early the next morning, but their continental breakfast was fully stocked at 6:30am just as we hoped.

We would gladly stay here again if needing accommodations in the Rehoboth area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ks21620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    36
    29
    21
    19
See reviews for
62
43
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the Rehoboth boardwalk and right on route 1, so a great location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The price was the lowest I could find in the area for an acceptable hotel.

The room was a little grungy. It was US state themed with a bizarre curio cabinet filled with rarely-dusted knick-knacks. I thought that detail was pretty tacky. The area around the patio doors was dirty, as were the corners in the bathrooms. The vinyl shower curtain was starting to get moldy. Our toilet wouldn't stop running. The room smelled very musty when we first checked in. So, not the most luxurious or trendy accommodations. However, most importantly, the bed was clean and I did not get bed bugs. Also, it was quiet and safe.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We only spent one night here and it was nice. I booked the hotel online, attracted by it's lovely exterior and the fact that a good rate was offered at the time. We were coming into Lewes via a ferry in late afternoon so being on the beach was not important that day. You can easily drive to the beach from the hotel.

We got a standard room which had a refrigerator and coffee maker, no microwave. The fridge is bigger than the mini ones we've had in other hotels.

The rooms have a theme; ours was the Minnesota and was nicely furnished in a colonial style with photos and souvenirs from Minnesota. Air quality was okay, lighting average, atmosphere pleasant, and our room was very clean. The lobby was hung with colorful state flags. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The hotel restaurant was closed; whether permanently or just for the season I don't know. It was mid-September. A family restaurant is just a short walk away and there are other eateries nearby. Shopping is also nearby.

The hotel was very quiet but it was a Sunday afternoon after Labor Day. Later that night the wireless internet stopped working, but at least it was free while it lasted.

I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room looked over a parking lot so you might want to ask for a room with a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I made a reservation of a king suite on the labor day weekend. Before I entered the room, I discovered the door covered with full of bugs feasting, which reminded me the movie "Mummy", We managed to get in the suite where there were no bugs thankfully. I called the desk, they said they can only spray on the door after midnight. The day after, they seemed to sprayed something on the door but left all dead bugs on the hallway. Very disgusting experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevincho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewes hotels

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our second year to visit this area due to a baseball tournament. We have stayed at the Heritage Inn both times and had a great experience. It is conveniently located minutes from Rehoboth Beach and the Sports at the Beach complex. There are many restaurant and shopping choices near the Hotel, as well as a grocery store next door.

The price was fair (in comparison to other beach hotels during prime season) and they offer a AAA discount. Every room is over-sized and bright with a small bar sink and counter. If you have children you will not feel like the walls are closing in on you! The front desk staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating! They offer a continental breakfast, but if you prefer a hot breakfast there is a Bob Evans connected to the parking lot and a Dunkin Donuts across the street.

There is a guest laundry and a swimming pool. The pool area is large and offers plenty of seating. Another nice touch is they have hot coffee 24 hours a day.

My only suggestion for the owners/management would be they need new beds. They were a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I have stayed here on and off for quite a few years, but this was the first time in about 3 years. It seems not a lot has been done to keep the property up, and it is in need of some renovation. That said, if you are looking for somewhere in the Rehoboth Beach area to sleep, this could work. The bathroom was clean, but the maid skipped our room the first (and more important) day of our 2 night stay. The furniture has some peeling veneer, and there was a bottle cap and peanut on the floor under the edge of one bed when we checked in. The cereal and other breakfast items were fresh and plentiful even at 9:30, always a plus for vacationers who like to sleep in a bit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I made a reservation for my son for one night on the phone. The same night I discovered that they could stay two nights so I called back and changed the reservation to two nights. They did not request my credit card for the second night so when my hyusband and I were in the area on the night my son and his family were to arrive, we stoppdded off to charge the second night. Now I am being charged for the two nights that they stayed as well as for a second reservation that they claim I made on-line two days later. I would have had no reason to have made this second reservation. If it dated back to the first time that I loooked into making a reservation and
was just checking for availability, then their system is set up to be confusing and to rip people off. I am being charged for a reservation that was never made or used and I am getting no satisfaction in solving this problem from the hotel. When I stopped off to pay the remainder of my son's reservation and they loooked up the name, no one made any comment about there being another reservation for another room under the same last name and being paid for by the same person. Management on the phone was very rude and unhelpful. He kept saying that it was out of their hands since it had been "made" on line. Since they seem to be unable to operate an on-line reservation system correctly or efficiently, they should not be using one.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyR0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#1 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn and Golf Club

Property: Heritage Inn and Golf Club
Address: 34521 Postal Lane, Lewes, DE 19971
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn and Golf Club 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Inn and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn And Golf Club Hotel Lewes
Heritage Hotel Lewes
Heritage Inn And Golf Club Lewes, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing