We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap, super friendly staff.”
Review of Driftwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Driftwood Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap, super friendly staff.”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had a great experience here. The owners were incredibly nice, they came and checked to make sure we had everything we needed. The room was very clean and quiet (!!) and the location was about 5-10 minutes drive to the beach. The kitchen had a stove, dishes, large microwave and fridge. The couch was a pull out sleeper. Even the artwork on the walls wasn't super tacky like most motels. If I had to pick a negative, there was some wood panelling, but in my opinion, that's insignificant. It was a really great stay, absolutely worth the price, and I'd go back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    17
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
22
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My boyfriend and I were at a music festival in Dover on a Friday and planned to spend the rest of the weekend at the beach. I called about 10 hotels/motels in the area and the Driftwood had the best prices by far. Not only that but they agreed to let us check in at 1am which was very awesome since they are a small owner run business and someone had to stay awake to do it. I had mentioned that it was my birthday to the lady on the phone and when we saw the owner the next day he asked about the concert and wished me happy birthday. The efficiency is basically a small one bedroom apartment. I was impressed how well the kitchen was stocked with dishes, utensils, and cookware! Next time I come to the beach I'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sciteacher85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Perhaps not fancy, but truly a friendly and great place to stay!
These folks really care about the quality of your visit, and I really appreciated it.
They actually stop by, from time to time, to check with you.
These folks really care, and that is really special!

I know I will return again!

Room Tip: Heck, there are no bad rooms. There is some traffic noise, during rush hour, but in the evening is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithLauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We were looking for a place to stay that was low cost since we would be gone most of the day. This was perfect! The bed was comfortable. It was great to have a sofa, table and chairs. The bathroom is a little small but expected due to the age of the motel. Amanda was very nice, a great manager. On a busy highway, but that was expected too.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

When my girlfriend and I took an adventure along the East Coast we were en-route to Scranton, Pa but wanted to see the shore, too. We stayed a previous night in Annapolis, Maryland at a similar motel but the Driftwood Motel took our trip to the next level. From the minute we walked in the office door we were treated by Amanda, Lenora and Lou as if we were family. It was a one night stay but I wished we could have stayed longer. So many great things were experienced during our stay the real impressive moment was when we saw our room, immaculate! We even had a full kitchen to where if we decided to eat-in we could cook, so many possibilities with a full size fridge with a freezer top, a microwave, and full stove and oven along with all kitchen accessories...Let's not forget the pocket door separating the living room from the kitchen and the two flat screen tvs...This place is terrific we are planning on coming back a few times over the course of the next year...We've told all our friends and family this is the place to go for any occasion in the Lewes, area. The place is now open year round, what a delight! Trish and I would like to thank Amanda, Lou and Lenora for all there hard work and we wish to see them again this summer!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I have found this family owned motel .I am glad we stopped in to check out the rooms.They are a great value and have all the ammentities of home from the full kitchen to the queen size pillow top mattress. Wow what a night sleep. If your in the area just stop in and ask to see a room the owners are always looking to please.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pineypowr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Thought we were getting a regular motel room for our anniversary weekend. Instead, our "two room suite" came with a small full kitchen with new white appliances, place settings for four, in-room coffee! A definite plus. Cute living room with flat screen tv. Comfy queen bed in seperate bedroom with dresser and another flat screen tv wall mounted. Nicely decorated. When my husband and I returned from our day of shopping, we were greeted by fresh flowers on the dinette table and a nice note from the owners wishing us a happy anniversary. We will definitely go back. Great place. Great price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyD442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
146 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
333 reviews
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Property: Driftwood Motel
Address: 18282 Coastal Hwy, Lewes, DE 19958-4773
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine One-Bedroom efficiency Units with free WiFi, a queen bed in the separate bedroom, as well as a queen sofa bed in the living area. The apartment offers a full kitchen, as well as 2 flat-screen TVs and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Driftwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Motel Lewes, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing