We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rodney

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rodney
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
2 reviews
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

Located in downtown lewes, you can walk to everything. Theres a great ice cream spot next door and a very cool historic cemetery. Rooms very clean, cool, comfortable. Loved the feel of the historic inn. Great place to stay, loved it! It was a nice break from the "beachy" feel of the rest of lewes

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigaelolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    60
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
27
113
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stay here almost every time we go to the beach. Hotel Rodney is adorable, comfortable, and affordable. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. It's location is perfect...away from the hustle & bustle of Rehoboth & Dewey but close enough that you can go bar hopping, shopping or visit the boardwalk & then return to the peacefulness of Lewes when you're ready. Plenty of good restaurants & shopping right on 2nd Street, and of course King's Ice Cream is right across the street. We love Hotel Rodney & I would definitely recommend it to anyone heading down to the Delaware beaches :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunchieM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was the first time I'd visited Lewes. I'd love to return and explore this town some more. The Hotel Rodney was in a great location. The room was very nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We could hear the folks in the room next door which is a shame since the info clearly asks guests to be considerate since the building is old and not so soundproof. Fortunately, they quieted before too late. The only thing that would make it better for the price would be to have Wi-Fi in the rooms rather than just the lobby. Overall, I would highly recommend the Hotel Rodney.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We visited Hotel Rodney the weekend before 4th of July. Stayed two nights. We’d never visited Lewes, Delaware, or the Eastern Shore. It was a great getaway (just 3 hours from DC). It exceeded expectations. First, the hotel is charming. A far cry from the ubiquitous chains lining Route 1 (Costal Highway). Second, the town is authentic and has a real sense of place. Third, Lewes is centrally located for visiting Rehoboth Beach, the retail outlets, Henlopen State Park, and the Cape May Ferry.

Specifics:
- Room was small, but it was more than adequate.
Bathroom was great with strong shower.
No dining onsite (I think a Fish & Chips Pub is in the works), but the staff provided breakfast vouchers for a great cafe down the street.

Note: Focused on 2nd Street, Lewes offers a surprising wealth of dining and retail within its four block “downtown.” Make time to visit the town’s Farmers Market on Saturday mornings.

No complaints. We’re ready to return.

Room Tip: For a special treat make reservations for Nage. Named "The Best Restaurant in Rehoboth Beach&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at hotel Rodney for a weekend in June. Our room was an executive room, the smallest, but that was explained to us when making reservations. Room was small clean and very handsome. Staff was helpful in a beautiful lobby. Best feature of hotel is location on second street in heart of restaurant, shopping and historic district. We are planning a trip back in the fall and will stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parsippany, nj
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at HR for 5 nights. We had a king suite. The room was very nice, the AC works great, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice. The manager Kathy was able to address most concerns.
The cons: 1 The noise levels..we had some young children above us that ran everywhere in the room and you could hear every footfall.
There was some very loud construction one day from the restaurant that is being remodeled next door.
2 The parking or lack there of. The hotel only has 5 spaces, otherwise you can park in the bank parking lot after 4 pm and have to move your car by 9 am, pay for metered parking or park for free several blocks away.
3 Housekeeping or lack there of.... every day we had to ask for coffee, to come back and empty the garbage, leave clean mugs and glasses. No turn down service on 2 nights.

Room Tip: due to noise from creaky wood floors a room on top floor would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benton1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

With 100 degree weather and the need for a quick getaway, the decision was made to drive to Lewes and check on the availability of a small room I had inquired about the day before. Sure enough, it was available and a smart decision it was. The front desk person, Jody, was lovely and could not have been more accommodating. Check-in was incredibly fast and felt more like you were checking in at an inn. The hotel lobby, which has two computers and comfortable seating areas, has an urban yet relaxed feel and given that the hotel is in a charming small town near the ocean, all the better.

Loved the wooden stairs up to our room (they do have a small elevator although we did not use it) and the simplicity of the hallways. Our room had two twin beds and it was delightful. The bedding was comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the flat screen TV was clear plus there is a recharger for a smartphone. The bathroom could use a large towel rack and another shelf as there was little room to put sundries and hang towels. Housekeeping was incredibly nice; in fact, a lovely woman came to our door in the late afternoon asking whether we needed anything -- this is guest services for sure.

The only real negative was that, as others have mentioned, the walls are thin and you can hear sounds from the hallway and above. But with the air conditioner running (and it's housed behind very cool artwork), it was hardly what would be considered a negative.

If you are looking for a truly delightful hotel in a lovely small town, this is it.

Room Tip: Our room faced a quaint church that housed the most amazing small cemetery -- nothing creepy or spoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beetlemom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#1 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#2 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage Inn and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rodney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rodney

Property: Hotel Rodney
Address: 142 2nd St, Lewes, DE 19958-1396
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rodney is a boutique style hotel fashioned after classic New York style hotels. The hotel has its home in the heart of historic Lewes, Delaware, which is known for being the first town in the first state. The hotel is located in a building built in 1926, on the Historical Registry, on property originally owned by members of the historically famous Rodney family. At the Hotel Rodney the staff and management strive to meet all of our guests needs and offer a gym and business center as well as 24 hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rodney Hotel Lewes
Hotel Rodney Lewes, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing