We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Rodney

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rodney
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Charming boutique hotel in center of quaint little Lewes Delaware.
Walking distance to local shops. Short drive to Henlopen State Park and Lewes to Cape May Ferry. 10 minutes to Rehoboth Beach.
Just beware, the Exec Rooms are very small and there are only 6 parking spots for the hotel. The larger rooms are really nice. Take advantage of their current, Stay 2 Nights and Get one night Free Program.
Hotel has the feel on an elegant Ian Schrager Hotel.
Two free bikes on-site for guests.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 007Travelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    62
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
27
116
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Rodney and while the front desk help is very pleasant and the rooms were clean...the hotel is very noisy at night. A crying baby woke us up in the middle of the night and we could hear the guy snoring in the room next to us. Also, our room was near the elevator and we could hear it running all night. The hotel is in a great location but I would suggest taking ear plugs along if you want a good nights rest.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslaGirlAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Just came from upscale hotel in Cape May. As we drove thru Lewes we found Hotel Rodney. Upon arriving in the lobby it was nice, actually very nice. We stayed in a king size suite, the top room they offered at the time. Visually it was definitely a trendy room, we loved it. BUT.....after we moved our luggage into the tiny elevator and into the room, a little closer inspection revealed long dark hair in the sink. The room was just cleaned. They were nice and recleaned the room for us. Appearantly the sinks only! When we came back to the room we had to wipe the marble floors down which revealed more dark hair and just plain filth. When we went to take our shower in a beautiful shower unit we had no hot water. We had to shower in the adjoining room. We will see tomorrow how the staff will handle these items. Hopefully, they will offer to adjust our rate (pricey!) for conditions that were unacceptable in a "high-end" boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdlco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

A nice old hotel located in an artsy district with history and charm. I stopped in Lewes between business appointments and was traveling alone so I thought that their one bed “executive room” would fit the bill. The room was nice but small, real small, 11’ x 13’ (including bathroom) to be exact. No room to move or even setup a suitcase stand.
Old hotel, small room - not a problem, $135 per night for a shoebox room, problem. There is nothing wrong with the Hotel Rodney except that they are way out of line with their pricing. I don’t mind paying a premium price for a real room but not for a closet. Note that they charge your credit card immediately upon booking. This practice is not common in the hotel industry except for special saver rates and B&B’s.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiladelphiaElvisFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
225 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

My wife and I took a trip this weekend for a romantic getaway. The hotel is wonderful and was clean . We loved our room and that we were right in downtown Lewes. Customer service could be better. I would stay there again. There are may great places to eat with in walking distance of the Hotel. Right across the street is Agave Mexican and that is very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpqse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2009

As a mother of four pre-teens and teens, my husband was dismayed when I suggested we take our kids with us on our "romantic get-away" scheduled at Hotel Rodney. It is, after all, a very sexy and sophisticated spot in the middle of a town overflowing with charm and tradition. But I called the manger of the hotel and explained that my family needed to reconnect after weeks of conflicting sports schedules, football games and homework. She found us THE PERFECT accommodations - a king suite with two day beds and a king size bed for us and our two boys, and a room right next door with two twin beds for my teenage girls. The girls felt like Eloise and the boys each had their own flat screen TV's for simultaneous sports watching. What could get better?

Try the amazing bed and bedding, the fabulous shower head and the stellar service, just to name a few. The prices were AMAZING for the quality stay we experienced. I would HGHLY recommend Hotel Rodney for either a romantic getaway or a decadent jaunt with the whole family. Quality time at beaches, outlets, restaurants and wine bars - and twenty bucks and a great ice cream parlor buys you 15 romantic minutes alone with your husband.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomXsFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmington, del.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

As frequent travelers to Lewes, we were eager to try out Hotel Rodney, the new, hipper incarnation of a hotel we had patronized a number of times before but had gotten kind of run down at the heels.

We were surprised at how much the rates had risen -- we paid $189 in a beach resort on Sept. 28 -- but after seeing pictures of the cool new renovation we thought it would be worth the bucks.

Hotel Rodney does look much nicer, with a retro inspired black-and-white theme in the lobby. It is much cleaner and outdated bathrooms have been supplanted with black-and-white tile baths (altho our room had only a shower, no tub).

But the level of service has not advanced. We were responsible for lugging our own luggage into a cramped lift and up to the third floor. (I also observed a woman traveling solor, madder than a wet Blue Hen, dragging her bags to her room).

Our room had a very nice TV but no iron and ironing board. Outside, parking was inadequate. When we said there was no place in the lot, Robert, the guy at the desk invited us to park in the bank lot next door -- as long as moved the car by 9 a.m. the next morning.

In the old days, the hotel's very reasonable rates also included a hearty continental breakfast. No such luck these days.And guests must pay an additional $5 for Internet access in the "business center" in the lobby, which consists of two PCs. We understand there is a fitness center in the basement but it was locked up tight so we didn't see it.

As an example of how poor the service is in this hotel, here is a very personal experience. My husband, who walks with a cane, fell in the lobby. When I asked if Robert could please, PLEASE help me get him to our room he said, sorry, he had to watch the elevator to make certain no one gets stuck.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank discerningreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#1 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#2 of 7 in Lewes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rodney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rodney

Property: Hotel Rodney
Address: 142 2nd St, Lewes, DE 19958-1396
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rodney is a boutique style hotel fashioned after classic New York style hotels. The hotel has its home in the heart of historic Lewes, Delaware, which is known for being the first town in the first state. The hotel is located in a building built in 1926, on the Historical Registry, on property originally owned by members of the historically famous Rodney family. At the Hotel Rodney the staff and management strive to meet all of our guests needs and offer a gym and business center as well as 24 hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rodney Hotel Lewes
Hotel Rodney Lewes, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing