We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway so near home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blue Water House
Ranked #1 of 9 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just got back from spending a wonderful Memorial Day weekend at Blue Water House, along with my mom, sister and a family friend! We stayed in the Nautical room and had just a lovely time! Rick (& Lola) were wonderful hosts and awed us with the number of amenities--free bikes, water, beach towels, advice etc. After our morning bike rides down to the nearby beach, we returned to yummy breakfasts made by Rick every morning. The whole house is colorful, fun and quiet so we left feeling recharged & refreshed. Coming from Metro DC & NYC, we were all happy to discover such a gem so close to home! We look forward to making Blue Water House a habit :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GleniseNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

When traveling to the Delaware Beaches, the first thing to decide is which city to stay in. Rehoboth has a huge outlet mall, scores of chain restaurants, gigantic big box stores, a boardwalk with tons of amusements, plenty of opportunities for bar-hopping, and lots of entertainment for children. For most tourists, particularly families, that's exactly why they come to the beach. In order to accommodate these numbers, the Rehoboth area also has lots of bargain chain motels.

Lewes has none of those -- just historic charm and quaint shops. Which is why we decided to come there for our time at the Delaware Shore.

Lodgings in Lewes center on either the city's history or its proximity to the beach. The Blue Water House (BWH) chooses to do the latter -- and spares no effort to do so. This is not surprising, as the place is only a couple blocks from the beach, just over a mile from the Cape May Ferry Dock, and about two miles from Cape Henlopen State Park.

Most B&B's, particularly those in low-key towns like Lewes, try to present a low-key decor and ambiance. The BWH does the exact opposite, decorating in a deliberately "funky" and colorful style. Every room and hallway has bright and loud colors, with beach furniture and artwork at every turn. This is NOT cookie-cutter lodging!

All rooms are on the second or third floor, and there is no elevator. Each room has a spacious bedroom area but a small bathroom -- some with shower only. They all have access to a common balcony that runs around each floor -- at each balcony door there is furniture for that room, but guests can easily walk to all parts of the balcony. Room amenities include AC, iron & board, mini-fridge, and digital TV with 85 channels. Despite being able to connect to the free wi-fi network, neither we nor any other guest were able to access the internet after this connection. Our room was clean, VERY comfortable, and well-maintained. As others have noted, the walls are thin.

The breakfast has made-to-order hot items and a buffet of cold items. Coffee is made at 7:30 am and the rest is ready at 8 am.

Free amenities include parking, a microwave in the kitchen, fruits and snacks, beer & wine, water bottles, ice, tubes of sun-screen, and one-speed bicycles. All are available at all hours, with no need to ask for them -- just take and use.

The top floor has a commons area with books, board games, large couch, and a TV. The ground floor has a covered entertainment area with a propane stove. There is no pool, on-site phone, business center, or exercise equipment. Smoking is prohibited. Manager 'Rick' has a well-behaved, small dog that is easy to find.

If you're looking for bar-hopping, boardwalks, or mall shopping; Lewes is NOT for you. If you want cheap lodging with little more than a roof over your head, the Blue Water House is not for you. But if you just need to unwind at a quiet, historic city with a beach; this would match your needs just about perfectly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RabePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our way to Avalon from Florida. The place is very Bohemian and extremely comfortable. Rick made us feel right at home from the start. It is located close to town with many fine restaurants. We will definitely stay there again.
Nancy M.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. The proprietor is friendly and makes awesome banana pancakes. He makes every effort to make you feel welcome and at home. The decorations and furnishings are first rate, particularly if you dream of visiting the tropics. We really enjoyed our stay here and hope to come back soon.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank dlcaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is a very nice property in quiet Lewes. The hospitality was exceptional, the amenities were of
the highest order, and they were understanding of our concerns when a misunderstanding arose and resolved the situation. Also, the decorations were fun and in keeping with the theme.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank MostAwesomeFamilyEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We had a great stay at Blue Water House. Rick was extremely hospitable, even renting us a room for one night although we are in the two night minimum season. We stayed in the Islamorado room. It was clean, and colorful. We didn't have the chance to eat breakfast - we slept in. We did take advantage of free beer in the kitchen area. Can't wait to go back!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My sister(s) and I have stayed at Blue Water House two times and both times we were very impressed. Rick has the perfect balance of hospitality/availability and privacy. He is helpful and friendly without feeling overbearing. Breakfast is always a treat. He has cooked us delicious eggs with fresh veggies, french toast and, pancakes. All were fantastic. The style of Blue Water House is quirky and fun. Each room has a slightly different theme. We stayed in the Key Largo room both times and we loved the whimsy of the decor. The porch swing can't be beat! It is located a comfortable stroll from the bay, and a very short drive from Cape Henlopen State Park (the Atlantic Beach). It takes no time at all to get into downtown Lewes, which has some great restaurants and places to shop. It is the perfect place to relax for a weekend and forget all your cares!

Room Tip: There are pictures of each room on his website. Look around and find the one that matches your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#1 of 7 in Lewes
196 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
153 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,869 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water House

Address: 407 E Market St, Lewes, DE 19958-1122
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range: £94 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water House in Lewes, DE is a casual beach bed & breakfast a short walk from the beautiful Delaware Bay beaches. Make our house your next stop today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water House Hotel Lewes
The Blue Water House Lewes, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing