We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Water House
Ranked #1 of 9 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, highly recommended”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed for 4 nights last week, couldn't be more happy. Location is great in Lewes, very short walk to the beach and an easy walk to restaurants. If you don't feel like walking, Rick has quite a selection of bicycles to use anytime, just grab one and go. We used them to bike over to Rehoboth on the breakwater trail, was real nice. The house itself is spotless, very nice. Every where you look is another piece of art or decoration, lots of neat stuff, you find yourself constantly pointing stuff out as you walk through. We stayed in the Key Largo room on the 2nd floor, was very nice and the balcony was great to have along with our own bathroom. Breakfast was very good, and there's tons of cereal, juices, tea, pastries, sweets, snacks to choose from along with the hot breakfast. We have stayed in other real nice inns, but what set this place apart was all the amenities that came along with it. We are from Ohio so we don't exactly own a whole lot of beach gear, he has everything right there. There's boogie boards, umbrellas, beach chairs, coolers, bicycles, sun screen, aloe, even cold bottles of water to take with you, we didn't need to go out and buy or rent anything. The street that the house is on is very quiet too, no traffic or noise. We would no question come back for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74BenK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    39
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
70
198
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a wonderful time staying here it was easy and convenient to everything we needed. Rick and Lola were great too! I'm sure we will be back, at least I know my daughter is already planning her return for next summer. Thank you, ILana

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was a bit surprise with the rating!!!!!! this place is supposed to be number 1 out of 9 , this is the best place to be hands down ; I mean who offers wine and beers all day long , bikes to the great park . Guests have a short walk to all restaurants, the B&B provides umbrellas and chairs for the beach, quite neighborhood, friendly guests. Rick is just awesome, very knowledgeable of the region, very accommodating to everyone in the house, ”please ask me anything” Rick repeatedly asked his guests , the customer service is above and beyond …. Lola is friendly… the place is very clean; Wi-Fi is on ... what else you name it. I will absolutely recommend this place to my family and friends, I had a wonderful time with my lovely wife.Thank you Rick so much and we will be back soon. (NYC Mohamed)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napanee, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Rick the owner is a friendly and accommodating host. He took care of everything from start to finish. The house and rooms are eclectic marvels and we felt right at home. Near everything from beach to town and attractions.

Room Tip: I would suggest all rooms have their own charms. We stayed in the Torch Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mag627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Location was great! Just a short walk to the beach one way and the canal, boat rides and places to eat the other! Loved borrowing beach chairs and bikes for an extra good time!! We will be back next year:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegAnn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Norriton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It was a great stay. The room had a Key West feel, always clean, updated private bath, strong a/c and an LCD cable t.v. as well as wifi. We also had a deck off the room with chairs and a side table. Rick was a very much on site host. Always had a friendly hello and pleasant conversation. Nice breakfast everyday with choices of hot breakfast, cereals, breads, toasts and muffins, fruits, coffee and juice. He always has the dinning area ready with snacks and juices through out the day as well as cold beers and wines available. The inn also has a area underneath in the yard to sit and relax. If you bring the family you can use the propane grills to BBQ and stay in for the evening, swing in the hammock or just enjoy a cold one at a table or lawn chair. Plenty of cold bottled water on hand also. Rick also keeps amenities on hand at the desk from razors to sun block. I must also mention Lola. One of the cutest dogs I have encountered.
Two blocks from the beach, and two blocks from the canal and the memorial park. great location, great price, great keeper.. call Rick and Lola, you won't regret the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norristown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Very nice cheerful place. Decorated in Key West theme. Our room was spotless, had a nice balcony with chairs and a table, air conditioning worked great luckily since it was a very hot week. King sized bed was so comfortable. About two blocks from the beach which was nice. The innkeeper Rick was so nice, very laid back and friendly and we loved his little side-kick Lola. The extras you get at this inn cannot be compared....towels, bikes, sunscreen, toiletries at the front desk of you forgot something, snacks, wine and beer and juices and a big icy container of cold water out front available at all times which was great. Nice shady sitting area underneath with funky furniture to sit on and a yard area with chairs and a hammock. They do allow children and babies so you may hear kids but overall a very nice experience!

Room Tip: We had the Little Palm room. King sized bed, balcony view of the front entrance, new modern bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanksMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#1 of 7 in Lewes
486 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
2.9 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
846 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,707 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water House

Property: The Blue Water House
Address: 407 E Market St, Lewes, DE 19958-1122
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water House in Lewes, DE is a casual beach bed & breakfast a short walk from the beautiful Delaware Bay beaches. Make our house your next stop today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Water House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water House Hotel Lewes
The Blue Water House Lewes, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing