We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Blue Water House, Lewes, DE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blue Water House
Ranked #1 of 9 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Blue Water House in Lewes. It was definitely a cool experience, and thanks to Lola and her master, Rick, we felt right at home. We had just the right amount of privacy and camaraderie from our host, and the little touches were thoughtful and made the time immensely relaxing. Worth a repeat visit!

Room Tip: The Key West room was great, especially inviting for a good night's sleep after a day at the bea...
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank psychbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for The Blue Water House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Really, REALLY Good!

Rick is a one man host, chef, cleaning crew and all-around good guy. A staff of 10 could not do better.

Rooms are very nice, beds are just right and all is spotless. Bikes, beach towels and chairs are provided; no charge. As is the cold water, wine and beer!

And, finally, the price is right.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Had a great one night stay with two college age kids. We all loved it. A super B&B at the beach. All the little things add up to a wonderful little place. Couple blocks walk to both beach and restaurants. Bike to Henlopen State Park and the surf. We'll be returning for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed for 4 nights last week, couldn't be more happy. Location is great in Lewes, very short walk to the beach and an easy walk to restaurants. If you don't feel like walking, Rick has quite a selection of bicycles to use anytime, just grab one and go. We used them to bike over to Rehoboth on the breakwater trail, was real nice. The house itself is spotless, very nice. Every where you look is another piece of art or decoration, lots of neat stuff, you find yourself constantly pointing stuff out as you walk through. We stayed in the Key Largo room on the 2nd floor, was very nice and the balcony was great to have along with our own bathroom. Breakfast was very good, and there's tons of cereal, juices, tea, pastries, sweets, snacks to choose from along with the hot breakfast. We have stayed in other real nice inns, but what set this place apart was all the amenities that came along with it. We are from Ohio so we don't exactly own a whole lot of beach gear, he has everything right there. There's boogie boards, umbrellas, beach chairs, coolers, bicycles, sun screen, aloe, even cold bottles of water to take with you, we didn't need to go out and buy or rent anything. The street that the house is on is very quiet too, no traffic or noise. We would no question come back for another stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 74BenK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a wonderful time staying here it was easy and convenient to everything we needed. Rick and Lola were great too! I'm sure we will be back, at least I know my daughter is already planning her return for next summer. Thank you, ILana

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was a bit surprise with the rating!!!!!! this place is supposed to be number 1 out of 9 , this is the best place to be hands down ; I mean who offers wine and beers all day long , bikes to the great park . Guests have a short walk to all restaurants, the B&B provides umbrellas and chairs for the beach, quite neighborhood, friendly guests. Rick is just awesome, very knowledgeable of the region, very accommodating to everyone in the house, ”please ask me anything” Rick repeatedly asked his guests , the customer service is above and beyond …. Lola is friendly… the place is very clean; Wi-Fi is on ... what else you name it. I will absolutely recommend this place to my family and friends, I had a wonderful time with my lovely wife.Thank you Rick so much and we will be back soon. (NYC Mohamed)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Rick the owner is a friendly and accommodating host. He took care of everything from start to finish. The house and rooms are eclectic marvels and we felt right at home. Near everything from beach to town and attractions.

Room Tip: I would suggest all rooms have their own charms. We stayed in the Torch Room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mag627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#2 of 7 in Lewes
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Canal Square
Inn at Canal Square
#1 of 7 in Lewes
191 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
150 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Water House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water House

Address: 407 E Market St, Lewes, DE 19958-1122
Region: United States > Delaware > Lewes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range: £92 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water House in Lewes, DE is a casual beach bed & breakfast a short walk from the beautiful Delaware Bay beaches. Make our house your next stop today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water House Hotel Lewes
The Blue Water House Lewes, Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing