We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“did not make it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nanticoke Indian Museum

Nanticoke Indian Museum
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Millsboro
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“did not make it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

They were closed, but looked very interesting, housed in an old school with history of the local Nanticoke Indians

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Georgeann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millsboro
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Indian museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I was amazed at the amount of history I learned not just of Nanticokes, but other Indians of the Americas. Sterling and June were extremely knowledgable and gracious hosts. I spent two and a half hours there totally absorbed in the culture of the original inhabitants of Delaware (Mayan, Southwest, Eskimo,too). Any day is good to come here, but for me my spirit was rejuvanated totally on a cold winter one. I will return soon. Do not pass up this experience!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lward413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, DE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Quaint and easy to understand graphics and displays. Wish that there had been more to see in the small museum...as did my husband! Will peobably go back next summer to see if they have updated the displays.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TLee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snow Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“family fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Educational. Family fun. Good day visit. Busy road in summer.

Helpful?
Thank LocalLiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
1,102 reviews
445 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,680 helpful votes
“Small museum offers peek at native american life, history & culture AND low admission fees”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

The Nanticoke Indian Museum is located in Oak Orchard, which is a short drive from Lewes, Rehoboth Beach and Millsboro, Delaware. It offers a a peek into Native American life, history and culture. Admission to the museum is fairly cheap...at $2 for adults and $1 for children. The museum is open Tuesday through Sunday until 4PM.

We decided to stop and take a peek at the Nanticoke Indian Museum while in town for memorial day weekend. Once inside the small museum we were greeted by a lady, who at the time was on a conference call. We paid her our admission, which she promptly refunded since she was not able to give us a talking tour of the museum at the time. However, she did allow us to take a tour of the museum at our own pace.

Inside the 1st room we saw a small gift shop, which sells t-shirts, jewelry, and artwork related to native american culture. I did notice that some of the art had a photo next to them and it was the same lady who had just admitted us to the museum. So some of the artwork is definitely from a local artist. I also did notice that some of the pieces of jewelry were reasonably priced at around $5.00. There was also a donation box here for the museum, which we decided to donate a few dollars since we were able to tour the museum at own pace even though the guide was unavailable at the time of our visit.

The 1st room had some displays on native american pottery, beadwork, drums, dolls, moccasins, a large collection of arrowheads, a headdress, and baskets. Also inside this room was a display case that had a couple of Indian statues dressed in their apparel and had a few artifacts displayed along side them, such as pipes and baskets. There was a miniature Nanticoke village on display as well.

Inside the 2nd room, we saw a nice display that contained a stuffed wolf, fox, turkey, deer head, and many animal pelts in addition to a few more Indian statues with their apparel. There was also a breast plate and decorated war shield displayed here. There was a nice wooden turtle carved to look like an Indian face hanging on the wall inside this room as well. We did notice that many of these pieces were donated or on loan to the museum...which makes it even more interesting.

We did notice that one wall inside the 2nd room was lined with books. We later learned that these books are part of the Nanticoke Indian Museum library of Native American books & it is open to the public.

This museum is not a large place, but it does have some nice pieces (many of which are donated or on loan) related to native american life, culture and history. It is reasonably priced & probably will take you less than an hour to tour the site. I would recommend taking a peek, especially if you or your children are interested in native american culture.

**TIP: If in the area in September, you can get information about the Nanticoke Indian POW WOW from this musuem. It is held annually on the weekend following Labor Day & allows you an up close look at native american dance, music, culture, jewelry, artwork, and food (frybread).**

Helpful?
6 Thank daisyferret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nanticoke Indian Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nanticoke Indian Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing