We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brewery Ever”

Dogfish Head Craft Brewery
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Brewery Ever”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

As a long-time fan of Dogfish Head brews, my boyfriend and I paid them a visit for my boyfriend's birthday and we had an amazing experience. All of the staff that work at DFH are warm, friendly, knowledgeable, and super down-to-earth - they were an absolute pleasure to be around, and our tour guide especially was fantastic! He was one of the brewmasters at DFH and he did a awesome job showing us around. Tours are free! They try to accommodate as many people as possible, so when we arrived, we only waited 10-15 minutes for the next tour. Luckily, the gift shop is right next to the bar/tour area so you can check out the DFH sway while you wait. The tour lasted over an hour and you get a full glimpse into the DFH brewing process from where they package their bottles to the entire brewing process full of all the wonderful ingredients they use. Then at the end of the tour, you can try up to 4 free beer samples, which is awesome, but you can definitely get more if you're willing to pay for them. Too, you can get your samples before or after your tour!

So give yourself above 2 hours to check out the full scope of the DFH Brewery! I also recommend then checking out their restaurant near Reheboth Beach to extend your DFH experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    83
    25
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Worth a stopover if you're on a road trip”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the best brewery tour I've taken. They do tours every day but Sunday and the tours last about an hour and leave hourly starting at 11am. You park in a large free lot, sign in at the front door and then they give you a slip that is good for four free taste portions (about 2-4 oz each) after you show your ID and prove that you are over 21. The tour is nice because they walk you through the steps of brewing and show you were it's all done, then show you the bottling, kegging and boxing steps. There is plenty of merchandise available and they have a food truck out front that serves up chowder and bratwurst. Overall, it's definitely worth checking out if you're road-tripping through the region.

If you're young and want to party down, stay Rehoboth Beach (I stayed at the Hyatt Place in Dewey Beach, which is the same thing as Rehoboth Beach and it was clean but loud) - it's a 15 min drive from Rehoboth.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drerinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Happy Husband”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband is always looking for different breweries and he was so happy to come here and Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, SMILES! He was grinning from er to ear as we were pulling in the driveway to the brewery!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fun, informative, delicious”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We made this a stop on our recent road trip to Rehoboth! So glad we did!!
The tour guide, Lars, is a stand up comedian as well as the bearer of all facts about the product!! The tour was an hour and a half but never ever dull! The bottling room was incredible. Could have spent an hour there just watching the process.
After tour, 4 free samples per person with detailed explanations of each.
We grabbed a delicious lunch a the lunchbox there! As well as some beer to take home.
Facility was clean. Every staff member was pleasant. A fun experience!! Area was very nice!
Only negative. Was a bit difficult to find. A few signs would be helpful.
Highly recommend to beer lovers and to engineers.

Helpful?
1 Thank CosmoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

As a Milton native, I would say this is the best thing to happen to Milton in years. Great tour, great beer and great people.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dogfish Head Craft Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Craft Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing