We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Resort...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Regency Jerai Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gurun
Reviewed 16 June 2014

is a good place for groups. You have been good with walking up and down.
You would have a beautiful view if the weather permit. They serve Malaysian, Chinese and Western food.
The superior rooms are small, but with a small balcony. Deluxe rooms are very well furnished
and big. Outside the rooms are high chairs.
There is no problem with hot water at the superior rooms. You have to take your own
hairdryer.
There is a small Spa where they offer Massage. The Massage has to be improved.
The staff is very friendly at the Restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 403 with view, big and nice furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susangermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Greetings Susangermany,

First and foremost, thank you for visiting our Resort recently and we hope you had a pleasant stay. We have taken note of your feedback and shall convey to the Spa operators pertaining the quality of massage offered. Nonetheless, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort and look forward in welcoming you again. Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good. The scenery was great and all the staffs are friendly. The food was delicious too but sometimes I have to more for quite long time for the food. The room was quite spacious and clean. I will definitely go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaJohor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear ShaJohor,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort a couple of weeks ago. We are delighted that our accommodation and service were to your liking. We too are looking forward for your next visit to our Resort. We shall also look into speeding up the delivery of food from our kitchen. We hope to see and serve you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Awesome place for a vacation...and a best place to have some peacefull..
you can see the beach..the paddy field from the resort....and if you are lucky you can also see Langkawi Island...

1- LOBBY..
Friendly staff...credit to Miss Kay and Mrs Ekin... to Miss Kay..thanks for helping me makes the suprise cake order...=) ...

2- ROOM..
We stay at Executive Room...112 and 116...it was a very clean room and we also had the best view from the room...
Thanks a lot to Mr Salahudin (dinnis..hehe) who provide our room with WIFI... thank you so much..its really helpfull...=)

3- F and B..
Even they have regular menu...but we can still request a special menu from them...specially cook by Chef Ayub...
from all the menu we have requested I really love the Salted Egg Squid and Chilli Crab...it tasted so good..even my family love the foods..

Their staff also served us with polite and so friendly...especially Mr Rosli Hassan with a special tagline created by my father 'YOU ARE MMY FRIEND'... you are the best Mamu ever..=)

4-SPORTS DEPARTMENT..
Mr Anuar...you are the best sports manager and super friendly....=)

5- HOUSE KEEPING..
We go there for a several times and its good...got a lot of improvement...

6- SECURITY and BUGGY SERVICES...
Good Service and we feel saved when we stay there for 5D4N...

We will go there again...and we hope the improvement will keep on excellent for your own good forever...

and for Mr Rosli mamu... my father said you can use the tagline 'YOU ARE MY FRIEND'...hehe...

THANKS FOR EVERYTHING REGENCY GUNUNG JERAI.... =)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nita_ayong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Greetings nita_ayong,

Thank you for your recent visit to The Regency Jerai Hill Resort. We are very pleased to know that you and your family had a wonderful time at our Resort. Guest satisfaction coupled with warm hospitality is our utmost concern thus we are delighted to see that our service, food and rooms were to your liking.

We value your comments and feedback and shall definitely seek to further improve our service and Resort wherever necessary. We do hope to see and serve you again, so please do drop by and stay with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort. Thank you.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spend the weekend in the resort and had a very nice time. Just because the location in great with beautiful view and nice accommodation. How ever the place is need for some serious TLC.
Most of the out side is well maintained, but the executive rooms are in need for lots and lots of care. We found our room very very damp and it was so bad that my shirt is still smelling of it. This was really not expected as they were unable to let us in our room until 1400 because of cleaning.
I am not sure what happen their as it was definitely clean but very damp. We liked the room and the view was great. We could see that the place had great potential how ever a lack of maintenance has brought the place in a questionable state. Would we come back. Yes i would therefore I hope you will stay in your own place, room for room and change day by day what is needed. Kind regards, S.

Room Tip: Executive room 117 and up have a great view of the coast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetstreamdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Jetstreamdriver,

We would like to firstly thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Jerai Hill. We have analyzed and investigated pertaining the dampness of the room. Our Housekeeping team has since aired out every room especially when sunlight is available as the weather up in the Resort is always cool and damp.

During severe rainy conditions, air purifiers are used to help purify and clear up any dampness or mildew in the air that can lead to the unpleasant odour. Nonetheless, we do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and have followed up on this matter rigorously. We thank you for your valuable feedback and review. We hope to see and serve you soon in the near future. Thank you.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

After reading reviews by others about this hotel, we decided to take up the most expensive room with expectation to get cleaner and better quality rooms. But it turned out the opposite way!
The rooms were dirty, badly maintained and smelly. Some furniture, room fittings and architecture were worn out and torn. Come on! With everything the hotel has surrounding it, you can do better than that! Fresh air, cool weather, nice flowers, but with terrible rooms? If the hotel refuse to do anything about this, no improvement in future, you are just going to lose all your potentials and opportunities.

1. The room floor was dirty and dusty. My kids were forced to wear shoes to keep their feet clean! We even discovered a candy wrapper under our bed. I do not wish to know how long it had been there!

2. Disgusting stain on the bed sheet. I don't think this is acceptable in hotel industry. The bed sheet was rough and uncomfortable not because of its material, it was caused by over used.

3. Mold and stains! On the sofa, chairs, walls, tiles and practically everywhere.

4. Blow out lights not replaced with new bulbs. Wall sockets came off exposing wires. Wardrobe handle broken.

5. Architecture torn. Originally there is an outside door for the room. But, mine's gone. Well, my parents at the other room has one side left. I should be happy about it.

6. Balcony glass and windows very dirty. I wonder if the housekeeping actually clean it or not?

7. The water heater in my parent's room was not functioning properly.

In conclusion, this hotel needs serious room overhaul. Or at least improve in basic cleanliness!
It needs refurbishment and touching up renovation. With RM260 per room, moreover it's a promotional rate, it just totally not worth the value.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money over more expensive rooms. You expect to get better rooms or better quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JessieLimWeiSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear JessieLimWeiSin,

First and foremost, our deepest and sincerest apologies to you as per your uneventful trip at our Resort recently. The issues you have raised has been brought to our attention at top management level.

This is indeed a very serious matter which we shall ensure all of your concerns and the matters highlighted are looked into and rectified immediately. Once again, we extend our sincere apologies for the mishap that you have encountered.

As customer satisfaction and service is our utmost concern, we would like to refund the amount you have paid for the room in full. We shall be in contact with you soon to make the necessary arrangements for the refund.

Once again, on behalf of the entire The Regency Jerai Hill Resort team and The Regency Hotels & Resorts chain, our sincerest apologies for the unpleasant incident that occurred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city! Driving up the winding road with quite many sharp corners can be quite daunting.. There should be more notifications for drivers to honk as the turns can be so sharp that you don't even see oncoming cars. Once atop the view is amazing, considering it is more than 900m above sea level. Rooms are comfortable but the bed linen is not clean. The toilet is nice with the shower on a level below the main wash area. Drainage is a problem at the shower area where water can't flow quick enough. When it comes to meals, we were practically "trapped" in the hotel as the thought of going down the winding road with no street lights can be pretty scary. Would be good if the restaurant offers more choice of food. Facilities: swimming pool and a recreation hall for basketball, carrom, tennis, billiiards.
Because of the cool weather, beautiful orchids and flowers were planted and its adds to the transquility. overall, good experience !

Room Tip: for family activities, rooms near to the swimming pool would be good as they offers a balcony area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StargirlDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear StargirlDeanna,

We would to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to our Resort. We are pleased to know you had a wonderful trip overall.

Pertaining your issues highlighted, we would like to extend our sincere apologies. We will look into it that the items your have raised is rectified immediately. We value your feedback and will act accordingly to provide service and accommodation that is second to none.

Once again apologies for the shortfall and inconvenience caused during your visit. Nonetheless, we hope to see and serve you again and this time will ensure your experience will be a much memorable one.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

+View is good, surrounding clean n beautiful, rooms ok.
-The only problem is no hot water. Non residents loitering around this resort. This makes the resorts very noisy at times. Reception not very helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jayjameel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Jayjameel,

First and foremost thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort and thank you for your recent review pertaining our Resort. May we extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

We have indeed taken action and measures to rectify and remedy such concerns that you have raised. We strive to provide utmost comfort to our guests thus thank you for the valuable feedback given. We hope that you will indeed come and visit us again during your next holiday.

Once again, apologies for any inconvenience caused

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurun
10.2 mi away
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
#6 of 14 in Sungai Petani
87 reviews
22.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#11 of 24 in Alor Setar
118 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Pure Hotel
The Pure Hotel
#1 of 14 in Sungai Petani
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 24 in Alor Setar
136 reviews
10.1 mi away
T Hotel Sungai Petani
T Hotel Sungai Petani
#12 of 14 in Sungai Petani
57 reviews
13.1 mi away
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
#2 of 14 in Sungai Petani
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Jerai Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Jerai Hill Resort

Address: Jalan Kaki Bukit | Lebuhraya Gurun, Gurun 08300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Gurun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gurun
Price Range: £59 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regency Jerai Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Jerai Hill Resort is a welcoming change for the stress-drenched soul of city dwellers. For those seeking to relax and unwind, our spa will be a soothing haven for you to rejuvenate and heal your mind and senses. Pamper yourself with massages or indulge in therapeutic facials while drifting into the abyss at our spa. With world-class facilities, it will definitely be an invigorating experience. Make your way to our open-concept coffee house- Puncak Kedah where an airy, light-filled area mingled with rich, appetizing aroma welcomes you. Let our chefs entice you with tantalizing dishes from our delightful menu, from local cuisine to Western fare, all cooked in front of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Regency Jerai Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing