We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mum n Dad's Anniversary Hi-Tea at Gunung Jerai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Regency Jerai Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Regency Jerai Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gurun
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mum n Dad's Anniversary Hi-Tea at Gunung Jerai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went up Gunung Jerai after almost 10 years to celebrate my parent's anniversary with a hi-tea at the Regency Jerai Hill Resort coffee house on 29 July 2014. Was pleased to note that much has changed for the better since my last visit. There's a whole bunch of luxurious chalets to stay in and the landscaping was exquisite. The hi-tea was pleasantly delicious, even though they were simple menu items, the taste was excellent! In my opinion, the cook was truly passionate about the food...and it came out well with the scrumptious spread. The staff were very pleasant and saw to our every need well, too. Towards the end of our hi-tea, we were pleasantly surprised by En. Rosli bin Hassan, the F&B Exec, who presented my parents with a surprise cake (which was really delicious, too!), complements of the Regency Jerai Hill Resort. Will definitely come back for a camping trip in the near future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank AnasAdlanAmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear AnasAdlanAmir,

Thank you for your patronage at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort. We are pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your Hi-Tea at our Puncak Kedah Restaurant. We thank you for your positive feedback and are delighted the food were to your liking.

We shall strive to ensure the highest level of service and utmost quality of food is upheld. Do drop by and visit us again soon. We hope to see and serve you in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
10
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

It is a good place for a break, a weekend gate away with the tranquil and refreshing greenery surrounding it. What is disappointing is that we found hair and dirt on the bed at night after pulling off the blanket.It was so dusty that i began to wonder if the bed sheet had been changed. but since it was late at night i couldn't bother to call housekeeping just went on to clean / dust it myself. What we asked for additional blanket we were told that it comes with a charge of RM10. Hope the hotel could improve on this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kh0YS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Kh0YS,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort. We thank you for your valuable feedback on such matter. We have taken note of this incident and have enforced tighter procedures on our Housekeeping team.

We have also informed and briefed our entire Resort team to be more customer-centric. We sincerely apologize for inconvenience caused. We shall improve our service to ensure total customer satisfaction.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
256 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

is a good place for groups. You have been good with walking up and down.
You would have a beautiful view if the weather permit. They serve Malaysian, Chinese and Western food.
The superior rooms are small, but with a small balcony. Deluxe rooms are very well furnished
and big. Outside the rooms are high chairs.
There is no problem with hot water at the superior rooms. You have to take your own
hairdryer.
There is a small Spa where they offer Massage. The Massage has to be improved.
The staff is very friendly at the Restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 403 with view, big and nice furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susangermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Greetings Susangermany,

First and foremost, thank you for visiting our Resort recently and we hope you had a pleasant stay. We have taken note of your feedback and shall convey to the Spa operators pertaining the quality of massage offered. Nonetheless, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort and look forward in welcoming you again. Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good. The scenery was great and all the staffs are friendly. The food was delicious too but sometimes I have to more for quite long time for the food. The room was quite spacious and clean. I will definitely go back to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaJohor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear ShaJohor,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort a couple of weeks ago. We are delighted that our accommodation and service were to your liking. We too are looking forward for your next visit to our Resort. We shall also look into speeding up the delivery of food from our kitchen. We hope to see and serve you again in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Awesome place for a vacation...and a best place to have some peacefull..
you can see the beach..the paddy field from the resort....and if you are lucky you can also see Langkawi Island...

1- LOBBY..
Friendly staff...credit to Miss Kay and Mrs Ekin... to Miss Kay..thanks for helping me makes the suprise cake order...=) ...

2- ROOM..
We stay at Executive Room...112 and 116...it was a very clean room and we also had the best view from the room...
Thanks a lot to Mr Salahudin (dinnis..hehe) who provide our room with WIFI... thank you so much..its really helpfull...=)

3- F and B..
Even they have regular menu...but we can still request a special menu from them...specially cook by Chef Ayub...
from all the menu we have requested I really love the Salted Egg Squid and Chilli Crab...it tasted so good..even my family love the foods..

Their staff also served us with polite and so friendly...especially Mr Rosli Hassan with a special tagline created by my father 'YOU ARE MMY FRIEND'... you are the best Mamu ever..=)

4-SPORTS DEPARTMENT..
Mr Anuar...you are the best sports manager and super friendly....=)

5- HOUSE KEEPING..
We go there for a several times and its good...got a lot of improvement...

6- SECURITY and BUGGY SERVICES...
Good Service and we feel saved when we stay there for 5D4N...

We will go there again...and we hope the improvement will keep on excellent for your own good forever...

and for Mr Rosli mamu... my father said you can use the tagline 'YOU ARE MY FRIEND'...hehe...

THANKS FOR EVERYTHING REGENCY GUNUNG JERAI.... =)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nita_ayong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Greetings nita_ayong,

Thank you for your recent visit to The Regency Jerai Hill Resort. We are very pleased to know that you and your family had a wonderful time at our Resort. Guest satisfaction coupled with warm hospitality is our utmost concern thus we are delighted to see that our service, food and rooms were to your liking.

We value your comments and feedback and shall definitely seek to further improve our service and Resort wherever necessary. We do hope to see and serve you again, so please do drop by and stay with us at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort. Thank you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spend the weekend in the resort and had a very nice time. Just because the location in great with beautiful view and nice accommodation. How ever the place is need for some serious TLC.
Most of the out side is well maintained, but the executive rooms are in need for lots and lots of care. We found our room very very damp and it was so bad that my shirt is still smelling of it. This was really not expected as they were unable to let us in our room until 1400 because of cleaning.
I am not sure what happen their as it was definitely clean but very damp. We liked the room and the view was great. We could see that the place had great potential how ever a lack of maintenance has brought the place in a questionable state. Would we come back. Yes i would therefore I hope you will stay in your own place, room for room and change day by day what is needed. Kind regards, S.

Room Tip: Executive room 117 and up have a great view of the coast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetstreamdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Jetstreamdriver,

We would like to firstly thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Jerai Hill. We have analyzed and investigated pertaining the dampness of the room. Our Housekeeping team has since aired out every room especially when sunlight is available as the weather up in the Resort is always cool and damp.

During severe rainy conditions, air purifiers are used to help purify and clear up any dampness or mildew in the air that can lead to the unpleasant odour. Nonetheless, we do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and have followed up on this matter rigorously. We thank you for your valuable feedback and review. We hope to see and serve you soon in the near future. Thank you.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

After reading reviews by others about this hotel, we decided to take up the most expensive room with expectation to get cleaner and better quality rooms. But it turned out the opposite way!
The rooms were dirty, badly maintained and smelly. Some furniture, room fittings and architecture were worn out and torn. Come on! With everything the hotel has surrounding it, you can do better than that! Fresh air, cool weather, nice flowers, but with terrible rooms? If the hotel refuse to do anything about this, no improvement in future, you are just going to lose all your potentials and opportunities.

1. The room floor was dirty and dusty. My kids were forced to wear shoes to keep their feet clean! We even discovered a candy wrapper under our bed. I do not wish to know how long it had been there!

2. Disgusting stain on the bed sheet. I don't think this is acceptable in hotel industry. The bed sheet was rough and uncomfortable not because of its material, it was caused by over used.

3. Mold and stains! On the sofa, chairs, walls, tiles and practically everywhere.

4. Blow out lights not replaced with new bulbs. Wall sockets came off exposing wires. Wardrobe handle broken.

5. Architecture torn. Originally there is an outside door for the room. But, mine's gone. Well, my parents at the other room has one side left. I should be happy about it.

6. Balcony glass and windows very dirty. I wonder if the housekeeping actually clean it or not?

7. The water heater in my parent's room was not functioning properly.

In conclusion, this hotel needs serious room overhaul. Or at least improve in basic cleanliness!
It needs refurbishment and touching up renovation. With RM260 per room, moreover it's a promotional rate, it just totally not worth the value.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money over more expensive rooms. You expect to get better rooms or better quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JessieLimWeiSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Jerai Hill Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear JessieLimWeiSin,

First and foremost, our deepest and sincerest apologies to you as per your uneventful trip at our Resort recently. The issues you have raised has been brought to our attention at top management level.

This is indeed a very serious matter which we shall ensure all of your concerns and the matters highlighted are looked into and rectified immediately. Once again, we extend our sincere apologies for the mishap that you have encountered.

As customer satisfaction and service is our utmost concern, we would like to refund the amount you have paid for the room in full. We shall be in contact with you soon to make the necessary arrangements for the refund.

Once again, on behalf of the entire The Regency Jerai Hill Resort team and The Regency Hotels & Resorts chain, our sincerest apologies for the unpleasant incident that occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gurun hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurun
9.6 mi away
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
#7 of 15 in Sungai Petani
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#15 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
12.5 mi away
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
#1 of 15 in Sungai Petani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
T Hotel Sungai Petani
T Hotel Sungai Petani
#12 of 15 in Sungai Petani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
24.6 mi away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
#11 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Jerai Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Jerai Hill Resort

Property: The Regency Jerai Hill Resort
Address: Jalan Kaki Bukit | Lebuhraya Gurun, Gurun 08300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Gurun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gurun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Regency Jerai Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Jerai Hill Resort is a welcoming change for the stress-drenched soul of city dwellers. For those seeking to relax and unwind, our spa will be a soothing haven for you to rejuvenate and heal your mind and senses. Pamper yourself with massages or indulge in therapeutic facials while drifting into the abyss at our spa. With world-class facilities, it will definitely be an invigorating experience. Make your way to our open-concept coffee house- Puncak Kedah where an airy, light-filled area mingled with rich, appetizing aroma welcomes you. Let our chefs entice you with tantalizing dishes from our delightful menu, from local cuisine to Western fare, all cooked in front of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your The Regency Jerai Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing