We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Lovely Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Montchanin Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montchanin
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly Lovely Experience”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I stayed at Montchanin in April and the entire property was exceptional. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. Our room was larger than I had expected with two comfy club chairs, window seats, and a huge bathroom. The room also had a small fridge, Keurig, and very nice mugs and wine glasses. I was slightly disappointed when I discovered there was no DVD player, but after calling the front desk was immediately brought one. That kind of service was what really set the inn apart from other hotels and inns. Our stay was truly lovely from start to finish!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cvilletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    64
    14
    9
    11
See reviews for
35
129
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

My girlfriend and I wanted to get away from Manhattan for a night to chill out, breath some country air etc etc, so headed to Brandywine! Let's get to the detail: I loved the feel and design of the hotel and especially our room, Wittfiel will remain dear in our hearts! It really blended the old world feel with contemporary amenities so well. Small detail like the bath salts, the paper on the doorstep in the morning, the quality of the bathrobes, the books on the bookcase, they didn't go unappreciated. The restaurant Krazy Kats was so enjoyable for everything, but while we loved the scallops, and the great selection of Pinot Noirs on offer, special words have to go to the breakfast pastries! Really amazing quality. We had a customised tasting menu, and everything was very creative and delicious, very unique.

A major highlight and what probably made the biggest impact (we were after all seeking solice from the city) was the spa. All the staff were wonderful, it was a delight to sit in that robe, sipping green tea and reading my book in the relaxation area. The physical area of the spa is wonderful, so warm and relaxing. But my masseuse Sarah was above and beyond. It's really rare to find a spa technician who has such a warm, giving energy, and combines this with a great understanding of the anatomy and an amazing massage. I really believed her to have been a trained physical therapist who'd studied with buddhists! Both my girlfriend and I were blown away by the massage, she opened up taut muscles and gave both of us exercises to work on to ensure we could look after ourselves moving forward. A great way to end the stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetsetMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Stayed for a weekend at the inn; very large rooms for price, free internet, nice exercise room. The rooms are spread out in several smaller and larger houses (mostly 2-3 units per it seemed). These seem to be renovated older buildings, but the room we were in was well decorated, clean, and had all modern amenities including a small kitchenette.

The "village" has a few roads running between the restaurant/main building and some of the smaller houses where many of the rooms are, which is a mild incovenience and the rooms do get some street noise.

Overall a good place to stay in the Wilmington area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAndTMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I stayed with my wife for a romantic post-Christmas overnight get-away. Frankly it couldn't have been better. The communal lobby was a delight, with a soaring timber frame roof, enormous roaring fire, sumptutous decoration, and honesty bar from 5pm (note to owner: needs more mixers, esp tomato juice). Our room, "Colonel", was medium sized, but with great decoration,complimentary soft mini bar, large gas fire and comfortable king sized bed. By bathroom was awesome, with a proper two person bath, and wet room shower. The only downside was that the toilet was not segregated, which is impractical if your wife wants to take a three hour bath. The staff were courteous and efficient; we had a great time. Be warned through, the hotel restaurant is "different" to put it midly (see separate review - "Krazy Kat's").

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

close to Longwood Gardens, and Winterthur, and great restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RexKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Luxurious but not so over the top that you felt you needed to camp out in the room to get all of your money out of it! Such an inviting area, neat shops, great places to eat and beautiful grounds make this an intoxicating stay. This property was featured on the Travel Channel by Samantha Brown & it was not hard to see why! Private rooms are perfect for romantic getaways while larger suites easily accommodate larger groups. The bathrooms are the crown of each suite and the stocked fridges are a bonus. The staff was very helpful and easily met our needs (converting two twins into a king, for example). The rooms were exceptionally clean and the adjoining Krazy Kats had excellent food, though elements (such as the menu and some members of the staff) could stand an overhaul. Don't miss touring the Winterthur property, which is connected to the Dupont Family, who built the buildings at Montchanin. All in all: our family can't wait to return to the Inn at Montchanin Village!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruthTeller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My wife and I spent to nights here last week and had a wonderful time. We had a 2-floor suite, which was really like staying in a large-yet-cozy luxury apartment. Service was great, and they don't nickel-and-dime you, which is greatly appreciated. Lots of nice touches -- an honor bar at night in the main building, free wifi, free water and sodas in the minibar, New York Times delivered to your door in the morning, etc. The layout of the "village" is somewhat unusual, given that there are several houses on the property, but it's very easy to get from one place to another. What's nice is that you have a feeling of privacy that you don't get at other inns. Romantic and relaxing -- and also pretty reasonably priced given what you get. Winterthur, Wilmington, Longwood Gardens, Hagley and other sites are all very easy to get to.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gbsand81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montchanin
3.7 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#7 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
5.7 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Montchanin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Montchanin Village

Property: Inn at Montchanin Village
Address: 528 Montchanin Road, Montchanin, DE 19710
Region: United States > Delaware > Montchanin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montchanin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Montchanin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hamlet, once used by workers, has been converted to a hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Montchanin Village Hotel Montchanin
Village Montchanin
Inn Montchanin
Inn At Montchanin Village Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing