We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for One Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Okay for One Night”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My family stayed at The Belle for one night while attending a NASCAR race in Dover. The location of the hotel isn’t the greatest because it is located right off North DuPont Highway which is a fairly busy road. Ask for a room away from the highway. Also, there is nothing within walking distance but a cemetery.

This hotel still has smoking rooms which results in the non-smoking rooms to also smell like smoke. It is a pet friendly hotel, so people with allergies be forewarned. Bring your Febreze and Lysol.

Our room was a bit outdated but clean. I don’t understand why hotels still have 2 double beds when 2 queen beds are much more accommodating and comfortable. The room did have a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, flat screen television, iron and hair dryer. Can’t comment on the pool or restaurant since we did not use those amenities. This hotel is fine for a night but in the future, I’ll look for other accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad that you stayed with us. I am sorry that you felt the room outdated, as we had completely redone the entire property only four years prior and attempted in our design, to be comfortable and contemporary, without losing the style of something classic. If the issue was the double beds, I apologize, but being that we couldn't change the size of the rooms during the renovation, two queen beds would have crowded out the room a bit too much. I also would like the readers of this review to understand that while we are a pet friendly hotel, we have segmented certain rooms that we allow pets in. Those with pet allergies, our non pet rooms would be just fine for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    57
    30
    16
    13
See reviews for
50
39
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
plainfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed there. Place excellent and clean. Hotel staff friendly. Breakfast was good selection.
Loved the bacon and eggs. Rooms cleaned each day in spotless condition.

The internet was not good. Hard to log on, staff told us to use business center, however, when I did same problem persists. Internet slow as well.

TV played well. Next door Augusta Grille made good sandwiches.

I would recommend the stay best in area.

Room Tip: stay near the pool area. 95 traffic area trucks noise constantly. Check the room fans rooms did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our property. We strive to offer a wonderful stay at a reasonable rate. I was disappointed to hear that there was an issue with the internet during your stay, as we have added additional redundancy to our system. Our front desk staff should have provided you with our 24/7 tech support line, to assist with the speed you experienced as generally we get high marks for our free internet access. We have reiterated that to our new front desk personnel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife and I decided to take a short (4 day) wedding anniversary trip to the Wilmington / New Castle DE area. We selected "The Belle" because of it's convenient location - just about midway between Wilmington and New Castle. The hotel was very easy to find. The accomodations were quite nice and very comfortable. The hot breakfast in the restaurant, which was included in the cost of the room, was also very good with a nice selection. Overall, it was an nice place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDSJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your appreciative comments and we hope that we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to North Carolina. Convenient location to highway and to Old New Castle.
I can't say enough about the staff. They were all so friendly and helpful. Had dinner with friends that evening and the food was good.
The room was good size and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda02813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
It is comments like yours that make us proud of the work that we do and the fact that people appreciate the effort is what keeps us coming into work everyday. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our way from Florida to NY. It was convenient to the highway and easy to find. My favorite thing was the bed (after a long day on the road). The sheets were soft, and there were plenty of covers and pillows. I can't comment on the breakfast because we left at 5:30 the next morning.
Overall, exactly what we were looking for.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay, but hope that next time you'll be able to stay for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed one night on anniversary weekend between visiting Winterthur and Wilmington & Western RR fall foliage tour. The reception on Friday night arrival was a bit cold. We got minimal service and barely a smile. The room was clean, but we found the bathroom extra small (barely wide enough to reach the sink). Also the bathoroom switchplate was broken. Had breakfast in the restaurant on Saturday AM. It was so-so, nothing to boast about. Check out was extremely easy. Housekeeping was knocking on our door in the morning--why can't they wait until after 11AM checkout?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chas501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Belle, and to thank you not only for your kind comments, but also in helping us to become more aware of where we can improve our service. If you are returning to the area, I expect that we will have ironed out any wrinkles.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We were doing a home renovation that had some snags along the way and ended up having to stay in a hotel. We have an infant and a small dog, plus it was memorial day weekend, so we thought we would never find a room, one that wasn't super expensive and one that allowed dogs during a holiday. But we had no bathroom (because of the Reno) so we had no choice but to find something. We found the clarion belle and gave it a shot. There was a huge reunion at the hotel so all the dog rooms were booked. I was so upset, exhausted from the reno and emotionally drained from things not going right. But then to my amazement the staff said don't worry, we'll make it work. AND THEY DID!! Not only did they give us a room to keep our dog, they were super accomodating, great with my son, friendly and most important.....understanding. Never have I had that experience at a hotel before. I would highly recommend this hotel. They literally "saved" us that weekend. Can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleGM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel - The Belle, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Am very happy to hear of your experience with us, as we try to offer that type of stay for all our guests. Glad we could be of help and hope that we'll see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Skyways New Castle
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington New Castle
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Wilmington South
Sheraton Wilmington South
#1 of 12 in New Castle
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
4.8 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel - The Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel - The Belle

Property: Clarion Hotel - The Belle
Address: 1612 N Dupont Hwy, New Castle, DE 19720-1904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel - The Belle 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a gracious world of Southern Hospitality, with an ideal blend of modern elegance and classic charm. All rooms offer LCD HD TV's, Microwave, refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron & Board, MP3 Clock/Radio. Augusta Grille Restaurant and Lounge on premise,. Meeting and Ballroom space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel - The Belle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Castle Clarion
Clarion Hotel - The Belle Delaware/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing