We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Dairy Queen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dairy Palace

Dairy Palace
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in New Castle
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Better than Dairy Queen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

A traditional roadside stand will take you back in time to the 1950s. It's great to see a family business like this doing well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lin0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“sundae mmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

their hot fudge and peanutbutter sauce sundaes are great! I even order just their hot fudge sundaes i think the whipped cream is extra, but their icecream is really good

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindytherella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
1,102 reviews
642 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,680 helpful votes
“Still one of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I stopped here again this summer for ice cream. Dairy Palace did NOT disappoint. Large portions of good ice cream at decent prices. I love the large selection of ice cream creations and toppings. You can get just about anything you want! We have been coming here for years & will continue to visit when in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daisyferret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Delaware Institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

A boiled hot dog on a white bread bun eaten standing in the parking lot, followed by a classic ice cream confection. I have no idea why we keep going back to a place with window-only service and eat standing in a parking lot with no seating next to a noisy busy road, but we do. I honestly don't know why. The food is nothing special the atmosphere repellent, but we are always happy to see it open in the spring and sad when it closes in the fall, signalling the true end of summer is here. A New Castle tradition for something like 50 years.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank aajarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

I have been coming here for a good twenty years. When I was on the road working through out New Castle County, I always made it a point to try and get here several times a month if only just for a milkshake. The best around bar none! Its as if time has stood still at this little place. Soooo reminiscent of the 50's and 60's. Its what McDonald's and Dairy Queen used to look like. Except that this place hasn't forgotten about quality and customer service. My wife and I still come here. What an absolute treat it is.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 85Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dairy Palace also viewed

 

Been to Dairy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing