We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average in quality and price but convenient in location”

Golden Dove Diner Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 131 Restaurants in New Castle
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: (302) 322-1180
Dover
Level Contributor
280 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Average in quality and price but convenient in location”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you happen to be traveling south having just come over the Delaware Memorial Bridge, you will find not a lot of places to grab a bite, especially if you are traveling on DE route 1. Take the New Castle exit and drive down the DuPont Hwy to see a lot of places to grab a bite. We did last evening and stopped at this diner. It was convenient if driving south, the menu is typical for a diner with many choices. The place was clean and the food was average. Service was good. If you are in a hurry and don't fancy fast food you can easily get back onto route 1 south just down the road (follow the signs). The place is open 24 hours a day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Keep driving.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on a rainy Saturday night on our way to Jersey. The waitress was nice but couldn't give much direction on what to order. Our dinners came with soup or salad & cheese bread. The bread with a sweet cream cheese filling was the best part of the meal. If you stop here stick to breakfast or a BLT.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hair in food!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stopped here for a quick bite to eat after being on the road for hours. I ordered a buffalo chicken wrap. The buffalo sauce was unlike any color I have seen for buffalo sauce. Then, when I decided it just did not taste good, I came across a long hair in my chicken. I came pretty close to puking. None of my party, including my young kids, enjoyed their meal. The portions were big but who cares when the food is gross? The bathroom was dirty and had a nasty odor. The waitress however was friendly and apologetic. Nevertheless, we should of driven a few more blocks and went to McDonalds.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StacyB922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
182 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ok experience ... I would try elsewhere for good diner food.”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Overall a typical diner with your usual fare. Turkey was ok ... Mac n cheese had absolutely no taste at all, bagged veggies also bland. The saving grace was the crab bisque soup, they say they are known for their cheese bread with every meal but for some reason I never got any. Staff however was very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent value and huge menu”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This is definitely a gem in a smallish town near the Jersey border just off 95. We had a hard time deciding what to order as the menu is enormous. Ask the waiter what is most popular as some items were not great. We loved the chicken and dumplings and the stuffed flounder specials. Both were under $10 and included soup or salad, 2 sides, cheese bread, and ice cream or pudding! The sides were not good at all but there was so much food we didn't really care.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Dove Diner Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Dove Diner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing