We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth waiting for if there is a line or crowd...”
Review of Mamma Gina Pizza

Mamma Gina Pizza
Ranked #33 of 131 Restaurants in New Castle
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: 302-328-5845
Restaurant details
Description: 302-328-5845
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Worth waiting for if there is a line or crowd...”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our first time at Mama Gina's, and hopefully the first of many! What a gem! Many different pizza choices, plain, white, white with tomato, white with ricotta, white with ricotta tomato and spinach, pepperoni, sausage, onion, mushroom, ham and pineapple- too many selections for me to even mention. The service was fast and friendly. The pizza was delicious! Not greasy, not over cooked, not over seasoned. It was very very good and judging from the crowd of people in their dining room and fairly long line (but moving) a lot of other people would agree with me. We will absolutely be going back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cin4513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bear, DE
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza, large variety, too bad only open Fri - Sun”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

One of the best pizza places in the area. My favorite is the "Mexican" pizza, which is a traditional crust with Pepperoni, Onions, Jalapenos, and an unknown, but great, meat sauce on it. Large variety of pizzas, white, Sicilian, traditional crust, etc. The only thing is they do not take credit cards, cash only, and not really a restaurant type establishment, you stand in line, order what you want, wait for it, then sit down to eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
1,214 reviews
685 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,789 helpful votes
“Still great pizza”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Had another great visit with Mamma Gina's the other day while visiting the farmer's market. Slices were served up fast & hot. We paid $7.20 for 3 slices of sausage & pepperoni. Love the selection of pre-made slices. Good pizza at decent prices. Wish they had more seating. They have a large space, but seating fills up quick!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyferret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
1,214 reviews
685 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,789 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We often get Mamma Gina's pizza when visiting the farmers market. The prices are cheap and the pizza is pretty good. They are only open on weekends being in the farmer's maret, but that is OK. The large pizza is only like $10 & it is a pretty decent sized NY style pizza. I ordered a whole plain cheese pie the other day by walking up to the counter & was walking out with the pizza 2 minutes later! Amazing!! They have a large variety of ready made slices for sale too. So that is a plus. Seating is limited when busy. I have noticed though that service & the quality of the pizza is better when the owner is present--a coincidence or not? We often skip it if the owner is not there, but if he is there--we don't hesitate!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyferret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best pizza I've ever had, and I've been all over the country.”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Their crust is perfect everytime. If you like white pizzas, get a slice of the tomato spinach and ricotta. Best slice of pizza I've ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Playzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Gina Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Gina Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing