We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Wilmington South
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Although the Sheraton overlooks I95, the rooms are wonderful! We booked two King suites for my son's wedding. One suite for us and another for out-of-town guests. The livingroom was very large with a sofa, chair, table to seat four, and a side bar sink with cabinet. Huge bathroom with whirlpool tub, separate shower and beautiful vanity (just one sink.). Bedroom separated by glass French doors, very comfortable king bed...just lovely! We asked for a suite on the side away from I95 that had a nice view of grasslands. Staff was very nice. We would stay again.

Room Tip: We used a Groupon for $99 vs $189 normal price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinaker M, Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Karen B-
Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Wilmington South. Congratulations to you as a parent and your son on his marriage! We wish him a long and fruitful marriage! Thank you for noting all the perks to our Deluxe King Suites, you described it so well! Our deluxe suites are the best of our rooms and we are glad you stayed with us for such a special occassion!

We are glad to hear you would stay with us again and we hope that you will soon!
Congratulations to your son once again!

Warm Regards,
Dinaker M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

It's been a while since i stayed at this sheraton but felt as though I should take the time to share with fellow travelers a great place to stay! I stayed for one night on business and booked last minute. there was only one room left which i was able to snag as a starpoints frequent member. It was a suite which i'm not sure if all are but was awesome! On the club level which is worth it as it has free breakfast, snacks, and a great little area of tables and tvs to get work done or read the paper. The bed was amazingly comfortable and if needed, you could shut the door for complete privacy. there was a separate sitting room with comfy (hotel comfy) couches and tv. bathroom was spotless. the whole place is completely upgraded! the gym was better than usual as well.
I did have a couple of minor issues: tv didn't work, got locked out when shut bedroom door- but maintenance was there is a couple of minutes and were super friendly.
I usually stay at the downtown wilmington sheraton but this may be my new hotel choice..
love !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momo303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Momo303-
Thank you for returning to the Sheraton Wilmington South! Thank you for bringing those issues to our attention, we hope that those issues did not prevent your experience from being excellent! Our maintenance team is quick to respond and they do it with a smile, they are the back bone of our hotel.
It makes us proud that you returned to stay with us again. As a Starwood Preferred Guest member you are given the amazing amenity of 2 Starpoints per dollar you spend with us, and that’s the least of it! Starwood has proven to be the best of loyalty programs and we are thankful to see our guests utilize it. The club level is quite the luxury! For 30 dollars a night, or complimentary if you are a SPG Platinum member, you have access to the Club Lounge 24 hours a day! We hoped you enjoyed the 1,400 square foot Sheraton Fitness Center by Core Performance, it is without a doubt one of the biggest fitness centers in a hotel of our size. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We found this GEM of a hotel on Groupons Getaways at a very affordable price. We loved the decor and architecture, the friendly and helpful staff, the delicious food, the warm jacuzzi and refreshingly clean indoor swimming pool, the central A/C (it was a delicious 68 degrees inside while it was 100 degrees outside), and the fact that they welcomed our dog, a Berkshire Beagle Hound, as if he was a VIP. We slept like Kings in the King size bed with the luxurious linen and down fluffly pillows. Just don't wait like we did to report a problem with your suite's door lock or the gasket in the private jacuzzi, because the staff is there to take care of it right away - it is not an inconvenience. I thought good customer service was dead in America, but it is alive and well at the Sheraton Wilmington South.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear “dcmarcus,”
Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Wilmington South and utilizing our deal through Groupon! Our Deluxe Suites are the best rooms to stay with maximum comfort and quality. We appreciate guests that notice our Associates efforts, they are loyal and hard working to make sure our guests have the best experience possible! Please let us know about any requests or concerns you have in the future, our staff is dedicated to you as a guest. And we love having your dog in our hotel since we are a Dog Friendly Sheraton (with certain restrictions of course), we try to treat him like the VID (Very Important Dog) that he is! Please come back and stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed here for one night on my way from Boston to DC and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean, bright and nicely furnished with a massive bathroom. The hotel is very conveniently located near the highway but even so it was very. The gym and swimming pool downstairs were also great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear “BigPB,”
Thank you for staying with us as a rest from your travels! We hope that the Sheraton Wilmington South can be a place for our guests to relax and revitalize, especially after such a long drive from Boston! The “extremely comfortable” beds are our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, the best beds in the business! We are glad you were able to access us so easily off of the highway. Thank you for utilizing the complimentary amenities such as our 1,400 square foot Sheraton Fitness Center by Core Performance and our Heated Indoor Swimming Pool. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will do so again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

This stay was a last minute choice, but wow did we pick the right place. The lobby and lounge was beautiful and the staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The room was immaculate. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmwek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear “kmwek,”
Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Wilmington South, we are glad you picked the right place too! We take pride in our lobby and lounge, being one of the most spacious lobbies for a hotel in Delaware so our guests can relax and enjoy their stay with us. Thank you for saying such nice things about our associates, they are dedicated to you as a guest, and it is great that you noticed that. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel was gorgeous, from the minute we walked in the door we were greeted with smiles. My husband and I got there at 930 A.M. and knew we were very early. We just wanted to check in so if we came back late we would be able to just get our key and go to the room. Our beautiful room was available and we were taken care of right away. Everyone from the desk people to the custodial staff said good morning, and can we help you with something. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend the suites, I could have lived there! Only kidding, but it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear “Liz B,”
Thank you for staying with us and saying such nice things about our hotel! Our associates absolutely believe in a “service with a smile” mentality and we are glad you noticed! While early check-ins are on an availability only basis, we are glad we could accommodate you in that way for your stay. Thank you for recommending our hotel to the web world and we hope to see you personally again soon at the Sheraton Wilmington South!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My daughter surprised my wife and I with a night's stay at the Sheraton Wilmington South to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived until we left the next day, EVERYTHING was outstanding. The desk clerks were so friendly and accommodating, even offering us complimentary drinks in the lounge to celebrate our anniversary.

Dinner in the Atrium Lounge was exceptional! Food was great and the bartender/waitress was super friendly. She presented us with free dessert compliments of the chef.

Then there was the room! Spacious, clean, new and fresh!

This was an AWESOME experience! We have traveled extensively and this one-night stay was equal to some of the best hotels we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebeeve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear “thebeeve1,”
Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Wilmington South and congratulations on 39 years of marriage! That is truly an accomplishment. We are thankful you shared that experience with us. From the moment you arrived, our goal is to give you the best experience possible. Thank you for noticing our Food & Beverage outlets on our property, they are truly a hidden gem and the best part is there’s no need to leave our hotel! Our rooms are the newest Sheraton brand furniture, Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds, and the best quality products for our guests. Thank you for having such a great experience and we look forward to celebrating 40 years of marriage at the Sheraton Wilmington South soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington New Castle
2.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
#6 of 12 in New Castle
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
9.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Wilmington South

Address: 365 Airport Rd, New Castle, DE 19720-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: £76 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Wilmington South 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Wilmington South Hotel is near I-95 and Newark, Delaware. Our hotel has 143 guest suites; an indoor pool; and 9,000sq ft of meeting/event space, complemented by a gorgeous outdoor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wilmington South Delaware/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing