We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME staff, great hotel, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Wilmington South
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed for one night. Here is the breakdown:

Staff: AWESOME. Check in was fast and efficient. The young men at the front desk were VERY well groomed; uniforms all nicely maintained. For me, that is a BIG plus and a great reflection on the hotel. There was a wedding there and our neighbors were a little loud. We told the front desk and they moved us immediately but the neighbors in the room we moved to were worse! LOL! Marcel moved us back to our original room with no problems. I wish I knew the names of the other men who assisted in our check in; one was tall and thin with a beautiful smile. The other was shorter with glasses. Both were very professional.

Room: Room was very clean. Nothing fancy but clean and very comfortable beds. Only thing missing was counter space in the bathroom.

Location: We went to Frightland and the hotel was in a great location. We were about 15-20 minutes away. There are also restaurants and shopping very close by.

Restaurant: We ordered room service. We had wings, calamari and flat bread pizza. All were decent. Nothing spectacular but good.

In all, a great place to stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

The rooms are super clean, the decor is somewhat sophisticated, our room had a tub and a shower- a real plus. The sheet were gorgeously crisp but soft, and definitely had a high thread count. We had a beautiful view from our 6th floor room. The staff is very helpful and enjoyable. Free amenities include wi-if in the room, parking, bottled water, and warm cookies with hot apple cider in the lobby. The only negative was the food in the hotel restaurant. Our pizza and salad weren't very good. And there isn't another restaurant close by. But that was minor for us. Our stay was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in while visiting Wilmington. Location is great, just off the highway. Rooms are very clean and the furniture is modern. They have great customer service and very helpful staff esp Abha at the front desk.

Highly recommended for anyone who's visiting Wilmington!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saad a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This well-appointed business traveler hotel is convenient to the airport and not much else. Fortunately, the property has an inviting bar, a nice restaurant and very well-appointed common areas and exercise facilties plus spa and pool.

The decor is worthy of a higher-priced property; too bad our room's cleanliness didn't earn high marks. This is a definite area of improvement as is the professionalism and courtesy of the front desk staff, some of whom were lukewarm while others were stiff & chilly.

All in all, lovely enough but not a hotel we could love.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camara21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal. Unlike the Sheraton in Wilmington and the DuPont Hotel, parking is not an issue. Our room was comfortable and very large. The Club Lounge was fantastic. We enjoyed the night time choices and the morning breakfast. They even had honey and silk milk for your coffee or tea. Not being able to have dairy products, this was a huge plus for me. Not listed on their website, but they do have bathrobes! We are already planning our next visit to Delaware and will be staying here for sure!

Room Tip: We had a non-adjoining room on the club level. It was a suite having a living room with separate bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldBridgeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Beautiful suite (#403) with french doors between the King Bedroom and sitting area. Spa tub and walk in shower in huge bathroom. Superb cleanliness and plenty of outlets for plugging in computer and smart phones. Location is excellent for travel to Philadelphia, Dover Air Force Base, Dover International Speeway, etc. Pool and spa were wonderful. As we were returning home my wife and I remembered we had forgotten to leave a tip for the housekeeping staff, which we always do, and we talked about mailing a tip to the hotel for the housekeepers. However when we stopped for dinner along our return route, I checked my email and found a mailing from housekeeping stating that when they checked the room a "plush" bathrobe was missing. The email stated the "plush" robe was an amenity provided to guests. That we may have inadvertently packed it, because we may have intended to purchase one, and if we didn't return it the hotel would bill us $95.00. Upon our arrival we checked the room for what was provided and no "plush" robe, or robe of any kind, was either in the closet, bureau or bathroom. If we had known there should have been one, we most certainly would have notified the desk to have one placed in the room. Both my wife and I are infuriated about the assumptions made in the email. It placed a cloud over what was a wonderful place to stay as a traveller.

Room Tip: Room #403 is a wonderful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It was a busy weekend and the hotel was fully booked. I needed a room badly for two business colleagues from Finland. Just when I thought all hope was lost, duty manager (Zack) stepped in and saved the day. He made available a Club level deluxe room facing 1-95 and gave my guests such attention that they're already clamoring to return to Delaware.

Room Tip: Overlooking 1-95 and watching those cars zoom past was a good experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ogechi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington New Castle
2.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
#6 of 12 in New Castle
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Wilmington South

Address: 365 Airport Rd, New Castle, DE 19720-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: £77 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Wilmington South 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Wilmington South Hotel is near I-95 and Newark, Delaware. Our hotel has 143 guest suites; an indoor pool; and 9,000sq ft of meeting/event space, complemented by a gorgeous outdoor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wilmington South Delaware/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing