We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save Room for Pie”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Arner's Family Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 131 Restaurants in New Castle
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
1,602 reviews
832 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
“Save Room for Pie”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is the epitome of a Pennsylvania/New Jersey/Delaware diner. The menu is loaded with favorites -- chicken, meat loaf, steak, pork chops and pasta. Add the sandwiches, soup and the salad bar and you are covered for almost everything you crave. Breakfast is special with pancakes, eggs and coffee at the center of everything (biscuits and gravy plus grits add the southern touch). But save room for a piece of the pie. Each one is piled high in the center with fruit (strawberry is the favorite) or filling so your fork is lost in the first few bites. They are delicious as they keep appearing from the bakery in back.Too many people put pressure on the cooks and waitstaff, both of whom are veterans, so be patient.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    19
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Québec city area
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good, clean, plentiful and fast service”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

There are so many fast food places that it is becoming difficult to find restaurants with healthy menus. Arner's offers variety in a generous portion, and a salad bar with many choices to accompany many of the dinner items on the menu. Be sure to check out the pastry counter as you walk in. Eight inch tall lemon meringue caught my eye. If, while in the New Castle, Delaware area, you are looking for a varied menu, health balanced meals, clean, friendly and quick service then take in Arner's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLT-LCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“franksgogetter”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Went there one time the food is good but the service is not, had to wait a little longer to be seated an a little longer to get my check to leave . they don't like your opinion you have . I will not be coming back too soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank franksgogetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“What Happened?”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I have been having breakfast at Arner's for over twenty years. We recently went there for breakfast and were totally surprised. There seems to be a lot of new staff there and we found that the service was less than what we were used to. We were seated as soon as we arrived and waited for our waitress. Once we placed our order it seemed to take longer than normal to get the food. Our order was mixed up but we could deal with that. It took a while for our waitress to return with the check once we were finished. When we paid our bill we were asked by the cashier how our meal was. My wife voiced her opinion and the cashier "blew us off." As I mentioned, we have been coming there for quite a long time but I think that was the last time we will be there. Time to find a new breakfast spot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Curt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast restaurant”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I tried Arner's for the first time after buying a reduced price gift certificate thinking it might be a place trying to establish themselves. We were mistaken and breakfast could not have been better. We arrived around 11a and found no wait, and that breakfast is available all-day with many good choices. Our meals were hot, fresh and reasonable sized. Coffee and juices were great, and sweets from the bakery case made a great ending. Our waitress was very attentive, friendly and polite. We had no complaints about the experience. Arner's was an excellent choice which we recommend highly. We definitely will be back again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arner's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Arner's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing