We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll get less than you pay for at this place...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 New Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 New Castle
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“You'll get less than you pay for at this place...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have never been so disappointed in a hotel before. It began with them insisting that they had to charge my CC for the full amount of the reservation upon check-in and they refused to give me the AARP discount or late check-out time. We got to the room, which was the tiniest hotel room I've ever seen. It seemed clean enough if you didn't look too closely. The queen sized bed had 2 flat as pancake pillows and scratchy sheets. We went down to the front desk and asked for more pillows and he handed us 1 and said it was the only clean one they had, which wasn't saying much since there were dark ash smudges on one side. The microwave looked to be about 50 years old and the glass carafe was missing from the coffee pot. The outlets were so loose that my phone charger kept falling out. Lets just say, they aren't concerned with your comfort in any way & the continental breakfast was a joke with 3 types of dry cereal, a carafe of milk, a pot of coffee, and a couple of dried up danishes that looked like they were 2 weeks old. We canceled our last night and they did refund the money but then told me to ignore and delete any emails from booking.com regarding the stay. Of course as soon as the 1st email came I called booking.com's customer support, told them what he said, she thanked me very much for letting them know. Apparently he had marked us down as a "no-show" so he wouldn't have to pay them their fee. I wouldn't stay at this place ever again, even if it were free!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSuper8NewCastle, General Manager at Super 8 New Castle, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Sorry, for inconvenience but Madam you using third party (BOOKING.COM) to booked the room for
3 nights and at check in asking AARP Rate we said that when you booked you should ask booking.com to offer that rate(which is not available) and you want to change your reservation from 3 to 2 nights again we recommended that you have to called Booking.com but you said can you do that and we said you will get e-mail that we change reservation and there will be fee but
just ignored that and You said that is fine...and at the check out you didnot mention your concern at all...So please any hotel you choose and if there is concern please let front desk know so that
we will aware what is our Guest want so we promptly address that...Again sorry for misunderstanding on Booking.com issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    27
    18
    8
See reviews for
38
25
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Central MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Not even worth the $68 we paid. Shower rod falling off the walls, we didn't feel safe taking a shower in the morning. No bulbs in the bed lamps at all and the fixture was so loose that the lamps were both tipped to the outside. You could tip them the other way too. A big black eye on the chain name. Save yourself the grief and use another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffgrizzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Castle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Skyways New Castle
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Wilmington South
Sheraton Wilmington South
#1 of 12 in New Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington New Castle
3.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
#4 of 12 in New Castle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.5 mi away
Super 8 Pennsville/Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 New Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 New Castle

Property: Super 8 New Castle
Address: 215 S Dupont Hwy, I-95 Exit 5A to Rt 141, New Castle, DE 19720-4141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 New Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do Not Allow PET in our Hotel. This Property is not PET friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 New Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Castle Super Eight
New Castle Super 8
Super Eight New Castle
Super 8 New Castle Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing