We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Door to room did not close properly. Breakfast selection...”
Review of Super 8 New Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 New Castle
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    26
    29
    19
    10
See reviews for
42
25
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
500 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was pleased with the size of our king suite for just myself and my son, the last non-smoking room available for the race weekend. The bed wasn't too comfortable, and I'd have liked more pillows. The microwave and fridge were unknowingly connected to a switch by the door, along with a lamp on another outlet. Glad we figured this out as we were using the fridge/freezer. Two of three ceiling lights were burned out before we got there. I took a shower in the morning and after 10 mins or so, and adjusting the water to the warmest setting, the water quickly turned ice cold. Should have showered the night before as the hotel was full for the Nascar race weekend. My son took advantage of the free breakfast and that was fine. The desk staff was friendly enough and the room could have all been nicer but I felt it was clean.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel but could still hear sport bikes on the highway while settling in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy31Virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have never been so disappointed in a hotel before. It began with them insisting that they had to charge my CC for the full amount of the reservation upon check-in and they refused to give me the AARP discount or late check-out time. We got to the room, which was the tiniest hotel room I've ever seen. It seemed clean enough if you didn't look too closely. The queen sized bed had 2 flat as pancake pillows and scratchy sheets. We went down to the front desk and asked for more pillows and he handed us 1 and said it was the only clean one they had, which wasn't saying much since there were dark ash smudges on one side. The microwave looked to be about 50 years old and the glass carafe was missing from the coffee pot. The outlets were so loose that my phone charger kept falling out. Lets just say, they aren't concerned with your comfort in any way & the continental breakfast was a joke with 3 types of dry cereal, a carafe of milk, a pot of coffee, and a couple of dried up danishes that looked like they were 2 weeks old. We canceled our last night and they did refund the money but then told me to ignore and delete any emails from booking.com regarding the stay. Of course as soon as the 1st email came I called booking.com's customer support, told them what he said, she thanked me very much for letting them know. Apparently he had marked us down as a "no-show" so he wouldn't have to pay them their fee. I wouldn't stay at this place ever again, even if it were free!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSuper8NewCastle, General Manager at Super 8 New Castle, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Sorry, for inconvenience but Madam you using third party (BOOKING.COM) to booked the room for
3 nights and at check in asking AARP Rate we said that when you booked you should ask booking.com to offer that rate(which is not available) and you want to change your reservation from 3 to 2 nights again we recommended that you have to called Booking.com but you said can you do that and we said you will get e-mail that we change reservation and there will be fee but
just ignored that and You said that is fine...and at the check out you didnot mention your concern at all...So please any hotel you choose and if there is concern please let front desk know so that
we will aware what is our Guest want so we promptly address that...Again sorry for misunderstanding on Booking.com issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Skyways New Castle
3.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
Clarion Hotel - The Belle
#6 of 12 in New Castle
155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark/Christiana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington New Castle
6.5 mi away
Super 8 Pennsville/Wilmington
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Wilmington South
Sheraton Wilmington South
#1 of 12 in New Castle
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 New Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 New Castle

Property: Super 8 New Castle
Address: 215 S Dupont Hwy, I-95 Exit 5A to Rt 141, New Castle, DE 19720-4141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 New Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do Not Allow PET in our Hotel. This Property is not PET friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 New Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Castle Super Eight
New Castle Super 8
Super Eight New Castle
Super 8 New Castle Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing