We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dying to Go Back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dying to Go Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

The lobby is huge, clean and impressive! I arrived 10 minutes early before check - in time. Marla at the front desk was really hospitable and resourceful from the time I arrived until I left. She checked me in and signed me up for their bonus card which I had no idea Holiday Inn had. I went to my room, house keeping was still cleaning it but it was totally okay because "I" was early.

My room surpassed my expectations. My phone rang instantly and it was Marla calling to apologize for me going up and my room was still being cleaned. I was so impressed with their need to go above and beyond in making sure you receive top, quality hospitality.

The hotel is close to a gigantic mall and smaller plazas. Marla gave me directions to Walmart when I inquired about the nearest one. The internet in your room is FREE! The TV is flat screen and the channels are endless and varied.

I loved the bathtub a lot because I usually stay away from taking a bath in hotels but NOT this one. I also stay away from sleeping under the covers due to bed bugs but NOT this time or at this hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and I found it hard for me to get up for the day. I also found it hard to check-out (lol)!

The continental breakfast was nice - if you can wake up early enough to grab you a bite. The work-out room was perfect for "me" if you are into cardio ONLY. There are no weights, just a bike and 3 treadmills. I wanted to try the pool but did not have time.

The service at this hotel is high quality. Every one speaks and I constantly saw housekeeping stocking this or that through out the hotel. I mean, I could not believe how much I enjoyed my stay. Bottom line, I am dying to get back ASAP! Since I left my phone charger, I guess I'll have to go back and get it :)

Room Tip: Order a Suite if You Want a Microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlkLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Hello BlkLily,

Thank you so much for your review and your acknowledgement of our staff member Marla. She was happy that she was able to leave a positive impression of our hotel and service with you. We all love your comment, “The service at this hotel is high quality”. That is why we are in this industry and to know we were able to meet your expectations is the best result of our commitment to you and all of our guests. Next time you stay with us, definitely try out our indoor pool and Jacuzzi. We would like to know your input.
Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    76
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
83
49
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a very new hotel. It is right by the exit for 95, so extremely acessible. Everything felt very fresh. The rate was reasonable compared to other local hotels. Unlike more expensive hotels, wireless and a very good breakfast were included. The only drawback was lack of nearby restaurants. However, one exit south on 95, there are many to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Hello Sadie6!

Thank you for your feedback. We are just 2 years young and strive to continue to feel as new and fresh as the day we opened. We had heard from many guests that they wish we had a restaurant within walking distance from our hotel. We did the next best thing and brought the restaurant to our guests! Now with just a push of the room service button on the in room phone, you will be directly connected to Bertucci’s Restaurant and have the option of all of their full menu selections delivered directly to your room. We hope the next time you stay with us, that you will try this new convenience out and let us know your feedback.
Thank you again! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I travel a lot for business and this is one of my favorite places to stay. The staff helped me out with a few things that were above and beyond what they were required to do. In addition, the pancakes are delicious.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kev6345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Hi Kev6345,

Thank you for your posting! We are honored to be one of your preferred hotels and we are happy that our team was able to make your stay a pleasant one. We are also glad that you enjoyed the pancakes. The pancake machine is a new addition at all of the Holiday Inn Express hotels this year and has quickly become a favorite along with our cinnamon rolls. :-)

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunlop
Level Contributor
177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

No issues, clean modern hotel & staff were friendly & helpful. Room was spacious, clean & comfortable. Breakfast was more adequate & included in the price. The pool is very small & can hardly be called a swimming pool, OK if you have children that wish to splash around.

Room Tip: Request a top floor at the end of a corridor aways
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rspatrick1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

My friend and I stayed one nite at this hotel while visiting Delaware Park. We reserved a room with two double beds, smoking. I was surprised to read some of the comments about this hotel's large rooms. We certainly didn't have lots of room. In fact, the air conditioning unit and the bed nearest the window were so close together that the cool air blew on me all nite. I have to say the bed itself was comfortable, with four pillows. The room was very clean, but housekeeping was knocking on our door at 9am (we were scheduled to check out by 11am, so why didn't they wait til we checked out?) The Arabic (or whatever) coffee provided in the room was atrocious! We arrived for the breakfast about 9:40am, and practically everything was wiped out (I got two biscuits, but no gravy left and no eggs left). They finally brought out some more eggs about 9:50am after so many people asked. The check-in/check out was good, and the young lady at the desk was very pleasant. All things considered, I do not think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel2vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Thank goodness for gps! If you're headed south on 95, be mindful wof construction times in Delaware at night, just after the bridge. You'll be detoured to exit 3, right where this HI is located. But we called ahead and got the AAA rate of $116. The hotel was a shining green beacon after our "storm" of dead stop traffic and rerouting off the highway. Immaculate grounds outside, well lit, clearly new, and parking wrapped around the one entrance so we didn't have to walk a mile with our sleepy kids in tow. Checkin was a little slow but it was midnight and we were tired so unless it happened in less than 5 seconds it felt slow to us. But the room... a standard? It was large and clean and great, from the first sniff test to the massaging showerhead the next morning. Great stop. Awesome. And there was even a Dunkin Donuts down the street.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

For a Holiday Express, this was the best hotel deal ever. VERY friendly and helpful staff, tasteful furnishings, spotless room, best mattress and pillows I've had in a motel, plus good little indoor pool and hot tub. Best of all: a substantial breakfast (great muffins) in a pleasant room. And for 100 bucks? We were very happy and surprised.

The only fault was that they forgot our early wake-up call -- something didn't work.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank amaryllisveronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
4.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Address: 1201 Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-3503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#6 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing