We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Dover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

What an ideal place to stay! Very convenient to I-95 affording easy access to the Univ of DE campus, Wilmington, Philadelphia. From Check-In to Check-out the staff is friendly, helpful and pleasant. In addition, this must be the cleanest and most comfortable hotel I've stayed in. The rooms, lobby and breakfast area are outstanding. This hotel provides a great place to meet with business clients in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Jim F:

Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our friendly staff and our convenient location. We look forward to you next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    77
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
87
50
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is incredibly clean and well maintained. It's convenient to so much in the region, being right by I-95; with easy access to Wilmington, Philly, etc. The hotel lobby, lounge, halls, and elevators are all spotless and are very appealing and functional. The free breakfast is more than adequate, with hot and cold foods as choices. The room was large (King, Non-smoking) and very comfortable, well lit, and the cleanest I've seen in even the highest level of hotels. There's a good reason this is the number one hotel in the area. Enjoy your travels!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatterasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear hatterasman:

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. We strive for excellence in cleanliness and all aspects of our service. It is our goal to exceed all expectations. Thank you for staying and enjoying. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Fe 8,2111 I stayed here for 2 nights and found this place to have the best value compared to 2 other near by hotels that I stayed in. It was designed in a simple fashion and had a comfortable room. I felt safe because all parking was well lit and close to the main lobby. You can access DelawarePpark in 6 minuets without entering I 95. The comp breakfast was typical and limited. Joe G

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joegearth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear joegearth1:

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you found us to be the best value among our competitors. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Don't let the 3 stars fool you ....they have great rooms, great service and good location. I stay at 40 nites in Holiday Inns per year and this is my favorite! Have family nearby but we stay here every time. Clean upscale lobby, clean indoor pool, clean rooms, clean breakfast area. Very good breakfast... biscuits are flaky and not dried out, good selection of fruit, cereal and eggs. Parking is well lit, shopping mall 5 minutes away...and did I say how clean it is. One of the few places my wife feels at home. Kids love the pool and hot tub. We get the suite with kitchen area. Front desk staff always ready to help...great weekend rates...stay here you will be glad you did

Room Tip: try for a room away from I-95
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear paul1125:

We are delighted to hear how much you and your family have enjoyed our hotel. We are honored that even though you have family in the area, you still choose to stay with us. We thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Probably be my shortest review to date as there's not much to say about this location except that it's top notch all the way. I've stayed in 16 different HI Expresses over the last 2 years and this ranks as the best one so far. The breakfast menu is typical of others, but look away from your plate and you'd never know you're in an HI Express. The breakfast area is impressive with huge ceilings and tables spaced out quite nicely. When they designed this one, they definitely went above and beyond. I had a huge suite room during my two weeks here. The mini-refrigerator really isn't mini....you can even put a few items in the freezer as it's bigger than most. The beds are awesome, the rooms are very quiet and the internet is fast. For business or pleasure, you really can't go wrong here. The only thing keeping this from getting a 100 instead of a 99, would be a few more television channels. Nothing major though. If I'm ever working in this area again I know where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinlifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Pinlifter:

Thank you for such a great review. We are very happy to hear that you've recently enjoyed our wonderful hotel. We are definately proud of our property and we love hearing how much our valued guests appreciate the added touches we have provided to make our property a "Top Notch" Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

This hotel is a delight, from check-in to check-out. The staff calls after check-in to make sure your room is satisfactory. And it is more than satisfactory. It is extremely user-friendly, down to the pillowcase labels of "firm" and "soft" so there's no guessing. The alarm clock instructs you how to operate it. The room is beautiful, parking is easy, the breakfast buffet is fine.
Note that there is no dining room. We ordered in from the in-room menus, and the food arrived on-time. The large lobby has plenty of tables and TV's, so dinner is like eating at home. Also easy on and off from I95 with a gas station across the street.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_All_FromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Hi C_All_FromCT:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that your trip was terrific. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Has to be one of the nicest Holiday Inn Express's I've stayed at; and I've stay at quite a few of them. Hotel is fairly new, well maintained and well built, unlike other Express's that have been slapped up with not much care. Has a well laid out lobby with plenty of room for breakfast and meetings. The rooms are good size and clean with fast internet service. The only service I feel they could improve on is the TV channel selection, very limited. The staff was all nice and cordial. You will pay a little more than your used to but in my opinion worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason9549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Hello Jason9549:

We certainly appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel. We take great pride in our property and are excited to hear that our guests enjoy all that we offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark/Christiana Inn
1.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
4.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Address: 1201 Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-3503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#6 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing