We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Spent 1 night while visiting Univ. of Delaware --right on Interstate 95,nice room 2 queen beds, clean, decent continental breakfast and friendly staff Would stay again .4 miles from campus on same road.Nice restaurants near university too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear bralex:

We are very glad you chose to stay with us. Thank you for enjoying our hotel and our staff. We take great pride in the fact you would stay with us again. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

They delivered what I would expect for a fair price. The room was clean and nice. Bedding and all was comfortable and pleasant. Breakfast buffet was clean and good with a nice presentation in a nice area. Staff was professional and nice. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Jordan C:

On behalf of our entire team, Thank You for choosing our hotel as your home away from home. We are glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

very clean, comfortable, good customer service at front check in.

Room Tip: I always ask for no smoking/no pets/no ice machine nearby/no electrical room nearby/and not a handic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M200789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear M200789:

Thank you for choosing and enjoying our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This quietly unassuming hotel is quite a good value compared to the other properties I considered in Newark. Clean, nicely decorated, & comfortable, I would definitely stay here again. It's very convenient to I-95; and while not as immediately adjacent to the University as some other hotels, it's still only about a 10-minute drive straight down 273.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCEllenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

DCEllenH:

Thank you for the recent review on our hotel. We certainly are glad you choose to stay with us while in the Newark area. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

What an ideal place to stay! Very convenient to I-95 affording easy access to the Univ of DE campus, Wilmington, Philadelphia. From Check-In to Check-out the staff is friendly, helpful and pleasant. In addition, this must be the cleanest and most comfortable hotel I've stayed in. The rooms, lobby and breakfast area are outstanding. This hotel provides a great place to meet with business clients in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Jim F:

Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our friendly staff and our convenient location. We look forward to you next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is incredibly clean and well maintained. It's convenient to so much in the region, being right by I-95; with easy access to Wilmington, Philly, etc. The hotel lobby, lounge, halls, and elevators are all spotless and are very appealing and functional. The free breakfast is more than adequate, with hot and cold foods as choices. The room was large (King, Non-smoking) and very comfortable, well lit, and the cleanest I've seen in even the highest level of hotels. There's a good reason this is the number one hotel in the area. Enjoy your travels!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatterasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear hatterasman:

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. We strive for excellence in cleanliness and all aspects of our service. It is our goal to exceed all expectations. Thank you for staying and enjoying. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Fe 8,2111 I stayed here for 2 nights and found this place to have the best value compared to 2 other near by hotels that I stayed in. It was designed in a simple fashion and had a comfortable room. I felt safe because all parking was well lit and close to the main lobby. You can access DelawarePpark in 6 minuets without entering I 95. The comp breakfast was typical and limited. Joe G

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joegearth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear joegearth1:

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you found us to be the best value among our competitors. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
4.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Address: 1201 Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-3503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#6 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £93 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing