We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed one night as a stop over on our way south. Was affordable, clean, and comfortable, and had a great breakfast. The staff was great, friendly and helpful. Had reserved 3 rooms for kids and parents, and everyone said that the same of the hotel and their room. I have stayed in many hotels and always look for the clean ones, and this was definately one of them. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

bradjs,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as a stop over during your trip south. We are glad you all enjoyed your stay. Please stop in again on your way back up North.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Prfect hotel next to the 95 exit. 7 miles away from the campus. Big room, greate pilows. the price was right and we could have a nice night relaxation after long day travel and fixing our doughter's room at the dormes. will come again next visit (many visits....)

Room Tip: As always stay away from the Elivator and vending room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rivka847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

rivka847,

Thank you for your kind words and for selecting our hotel. Best of luck to your daughter and family. We look forward to seeing your again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Wonderful explains it all. Exceptional facility. Friendly staff that was more than one could expect.
Clean, bright , and delightful from the lobby to our room. Morning breakfast and staff were super. Stayed for four days while visiting family and friends in the area. Marcy and Jim at the front desk were very friendly and outgoing. After coming home we realized we had left my wifes
medication in the fridge. We called the hotel to notify them of the mistake so it would not fall into
the wrong hands. They went the extra mile and overnighted the meds via FedExpress to our home. How many facilities would have been that customer focused? Guess where we will be staying on our next trip to Delaware? Holiday Inn Express / Newark !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Alan J,

Thank you for the great review and for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and our staff. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at this HI Express for 1 night on our way to North Carolina. The hotel has all the features usually found in HI Express but with a modern look. Our room was large, clean, comfortable and came with a fridge and microwave. The breakfast area is bigger then what we usually experienced in other HI, you can actually sit down comfortably to eat your breakfast. The pool is a bit small, but after a long day on the road, it felt good! The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is an excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courcellesqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

coursellesqc,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip. We appreciate your business and you very kind words. Thanks again and please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised at Holiday Inn Express! Stayed to break up a long trip and am happy we found this hotel. Jimmy at the front desk was awesome-very friendly, welcoming & ready to help with any requests. Morning breakfast was wonderful-lots of choices and all fresh and nicely presented. Rooms were clean, beds and linens fresh & had choices for your pillows! I would stay here again, and again, and again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roni973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Roni973:

Thank you for your recent stay with us and such kind words regarding our hotel and staff. We are happy to hear your experience with us was so great. Please stop in again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great hotel near the highway. Nearly brand new, with fridge and microwave in the room. I often stay in the Holiday Inn Express and this location did not disappoint. The rooms are a nice size, the breakfast and business area were nice. It was also a much better value than the hotel next door. Jim at the front desk was extremely professional and courteous although I asked him a million questions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UltimateTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Ultimate Travelista,

Thank you for leaving such kinds words in your review. We do hope that you stop by again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were here for a Lacrosse Weekend at the University of Delaware so the Hotel was booked solid. We arrived earlier than planned and our room was available..The staff was first rate and the ammenities were terrific..The hotel was newly renovated and beautiful..We had asked for someone ot check our air conditioner as the tempertures were in the 90's when we were there and they were prompt to our request..Will stay again next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laxmomof3jboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiesales, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

laxmomof3boys,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We certainly appreciate your comments and are very happy to hear you will be back next year. We look forward to seeing you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Newark, DE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Address: 1201 Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-3503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#6 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £75 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing