We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of The Saigon Vietnam Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Saigon Vietnam Restaurant
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
192 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Visited this past Saturday the food was average the service was ok. The soups were very good. The restaurant isn't expensive. It is worth a try if you have never had Vietnam food. I cannot highly recommend however it is acceptable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Probably good for area, but not that authentic”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Dissappointed since I received a recommendation to go. Some of the Vietnamese dishes are Americanized - and limited pure vegetarian / tofu options which I expected more of. If you're craving good Asian, it might hit the spot. For me - I'd rather travel to Cherry Hill, NJ for Vietnamese. Same owners own Bah Ni Boy sandwiches across the street.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GGinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This place is not far from us and we have heard good things about it over the years but only went there for the first time recently after going to a movie. Food was quite good. Asian, but much lighter than the chinese we are used to. We ordered a cellophane noodle soup (and it was enough for two of us) and was amazingly good. I am not a fan of MISO soup, and although this was a clear broth, it had MUCH more flavor, less salty and was packed full of shrimp and vegetables. We ordered duck for our entree and also shared it. This was also was flavorful and much enjoyed. The two selections were more than enough for two people. Quality ingredients, well prepared and the staff was friendly and helpful, although they struggled a bit with our questions on ingedients. ( Wheat sensititvity so we wanted to be sure the noodles were rice or something else, not wheat.) We do plan to give this place another go as we were pleased. It's near the University and we saw students there as well as couples of varying ages. Nice spur of the moment place or would be fun for a group.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martini-mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg,Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent pho”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stopped in after a long day while on travel for work, on a cold snowy night for a hot bowl of pho. Had some great springrolls and a delicious bowl of pho. Highly recommend. Well visit next time I'm in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlynHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Duck to Die For!”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband made me try the duck several years ago and now that's what I order. That and the green beans-enough for two to share. Delicious!

Nice seating. Quiet, relaxed atmosphere. Good servers are very attentive.

Wonderful food with a very large selection. We are still finding new favorites.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank stormi-1-n-only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saigon Vietnam Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing