We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Suites-Relax-Reward yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Great staff, professional,polite, friendly Embassy Suites hotel. Hilton Honors reward stay + upgrade. Made to order omelets for breakfast and enough other breakfast items to make the included breakfast enjoyable & convenient. The evening reception was especially enjoyable and relaxing /pretzels/chips/dips fresh veggies the Bartender was neat- friendly and enjoyable to converse with actually/one of the better evening receptions @ Embassy Suites) since we were traveling from southeast Florida to NY,the location is ideal right off I-95. TGIFridays attached to the hotel. Hotel rooms are built around the central atrium style We stay on the higher floors corner room away from elevators extremely private & quiet..,.We travel south & back several times a years & we have tried other Hilton's along the way but finally decided Embassy Newark meets all of our traveling needs -- already booked our return stay for 2013.

Room Tip: Top floors way from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

Clean, comfortable sleeping rooms. Public spaces decent if not exceptional. Very attentive staff. Decent breakfast. Very close to the University of Delaware. Plenty of parking and a restaurant is attached, if you call TGI Fridays a restaurant.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not face the perpendicular road to South College Avenue. Lots of traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveDELIWEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Chef John Barry was great -- always helpful and cheerful, remembers my omelette preference from one trip to another! He's the reason I'm giving the hotel a service rating of "Average" and not lower. He's one reason we're sorry not to be staying at Embassy Suites when we're in Newark, DE.

The problem I have with this hotel is that their toilet paper holder "locks" the spare roll, and if you run out in the middle of the night, you may be too embarrassed to call the front desk to bring the key to release the spare toilet paper or bring you some extra rolls. If so, you'll have to tear off the empty cardboard holder, stick your fingers (if your hand is not fat) inside the holder, and sort of coax the spare roll out into the open.

It's a pain -- and the staff members don't seem to understand how irritating it is. When you complain to them about it, their response is very cavalier. For example, I once complained to the person whose name was on the welcome letter for Hilton Honors members (I think she was Lorin Gilchrist), and when I told her that their toilet paper holder is locked and you cannot access the spare roll without a key, her response was a very nonchalant "Yes, it is." To me, that response meant, "So what?" I told her how annoying -- and embarrassing -- it is to have to call at 2:00 a.m. and ask for spare toilet paper rolls, but she had no response to that. I suggested that if it's too expensive to change all their toilet paper holders, the hotel could alleviate the problem by placing another spare roll on the tank, but that the housekeeping staff members (according to one whom I spoke with) are apparently not allowed to do that. Ms. Gilchrist never once apologized and simply said that she was going to put a note in my record that they would put spare rolls in my bathroom whenever I'm their guest. Yet, the last time I was there (checked out yesterday, 11/18), there was none.

Since my conversation with her, I've instead booked as often as I can at Homewood Suites or even Sleep Inn, which are right next door. I stay at Embassy Suites only when there are no rooms at Homewood Suites or Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Luisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I just returned from another week long stay at Embassy Suites in Newark - this is my favorite place to stay. I love the arrangement where the front room with desk and couch is separate from the bedroom. For this trip I invited several of my colleagues to stay here at Embassy, mostly for convenience but everyone had a great time and enjoyed the manager's nightly special and also they liked having TGIF next door. The fitness center is available 24 hours and the equipment is well maintained.

Room Tip: The top floor can be noisy from roof top air handlers. The south side gets noise from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomerang025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Whenever I stay at an Embassy Suites, I wonder why I don't have it on my list of go-to hotels. I like the fact that guests can close the door to the bedroom to shut out the noise of the corridors. As with other hotels in the chain, there is a living area with fold-out bed, television, microwave, refrigerator, sink, and coffee maker. The bed has an abundance of pillows to prop yourself up when reading or watching tv, as there is a second tv in the bedroom area.

Embassy Suites also offer an open-bar manager's reception in the lobby atrium, with light food, which is a nice touch. The only problem with this particular hotel is that the lobby isn't all that interesting. It's rather sterile, although there are some couches and end tables.

Breakfast is included in the room rate. It's a very generous breakfast with fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausage, toast, bakery, cereals, juice, etc. If you'd like, you can have the chef cook you an omelette to order, which is a nice touch.

It takes about 5 minutes to drive into the University of Delaware campus or Main Street (where there are many restaurants). And this hotel is right off the interstate, too, so it has a convenient location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarperMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I stayed at this Embassy suites for a week long business trip and was honestly expecting a little more for $192 a night.

First let me start off with the good: The staff were pretty friendly and helpful. There is a TGI Fridays connected to the hotel which is open until 1 am each day I believe. The food was pretty good for a TGI Fridays. The one night I was able to enjoy the Manager's Reception I really enjoyed it....they had a good selection of drinks and also food (This was the first time I have been to one of these Manager's Receptions and seen Bruschetta!). The hotel is located right next to the University of Delaware and also not a bad drive into Wilmington.

Now the stuff I was not a fan of: I spend basically every week in a hotel for business so after a while I tend to get pretty picky. The room was fairly clean except for the shower had a couple of nasty stains on the floor and random hairs everywhere which always grosses me out. There is a Homewood Suites located across the parking lot which is nice but when you are staying on the side of that hotel you tend to have some internet problems. I could connect to the Embassy Suites network when I was in my living room but whenever I brought my iPad into the bedroom closer to the Homewood Suites I would lose connection and it would try and have me reconnect to the Homewood Suites network. I am sure there was a way around it to block the Homewood Suites but because both are Hhonors networks I wasn't able to figure it out.

Also the hotel was performing work on the Cable so there were a lot of times the cable was out. Yes I know this was more of an intermittent issue and not a permanent problem for the future but when I was having the internet problems and now no TV access it got pretty annoying quickly when all I wanted to do was relax and unwind.

I come to Wilmington a lot and usually stay at the Hilton Christiana when they are not booked up but will probably try another hotel next time besides the Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I were looking to get away from the cold and hardships that Hurricane Sandy brought to NJ so we called the Embassy Suites in Newark DE. We were told that they had a vacancy that night but could not be sure they would be able to accomodate us for the following night. We went anyway and were happy that we did. We also phoned a friend and asked them to join us, which they did. After we checked in, the hotel staff encouraged us to keep asking about a cancellation for the following day. We followed that suggestion and rooms did open up,. We extended our stay for four nights.(So did our friends) During that time, we were given a special low rate that was being offered to Hurricane victims, we enjoyed hot buffet breakfasts daily and cocktail hours in the evening. The highlight of the breakfast buffet for us was the cheerful, friendly, singing chef who made great omlettes , eggs and pancakes to order. The entire staff made us feel like we wanted to make the Embassy Suites our permanent home. Conveniently attached to a Fridays', we were able to have dinners without going out in the cold. Conveniently located across the street from the U of Delaware, there are also many restaurants on College Ave. All in all, we were delighted that were able to "suffer through" Hurricane Sandy in such a beautiful, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Address: 654 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £95 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Wilmington South in Newark, Delaware is situated just one mile from I-95 adjacent to the University of Delaware’s sports complex and less than a mile from the main campus. Guests staying in one of the 154 two-room suites will find every convenience at their disposal, including the brand’s famous complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include: indoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center, 24-hour sundry/gift shop and local area transportation. High-speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. A TGI Friday’s restaurant is located on-site. The beautiful six story atrium tower features 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities including divisible ballrooms and two dedicated boardrooms. The spacious atrium is ideal for pre-function receptions, weddings for up to 350 people, or trade shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing