We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel and staff offered all the elements one is looking for in a hotel experience. The rooms are clean, spacious, and provided all the necessary elements for a comfortable stay. The food was excellent especially the complimentary breakfast. The amenities were all what you would want in a quality hotel. I loved our stay at this Embassy Suite Hotel. The only item that would make it perfect is free WIFI.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank marksO9082OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

A good hotel. I have stayed here several times. It is one of the better ones in the Newark area. The staff is friendly. The breakfast and reception are very good. The hotel is showing its age and the rooms need renovating. They updated the lobby last year, but need to update the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I've been staying at Embassy Suite hotels since I was in high school and not having been to one in several years I was curious if their standards had slipped at all. I was glad to discover that it's the same great hotel chain it's always been! This particular site is starting to show its age (cracked tiles and pealing caulk) but still clean and spacious and the service was fantastic. I was staying there because my cousin's wedding reception was at the hotel and the entire experience, from the cake cutting, to the last dance on aching feet, to breakfast the next morning before heading out, was a pleasure. I've got another cousin attending UD and I wouldn't hesitate booking at the Embassy again when I'm in town!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawyergirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A nice place to stay if you have business in the Newark or Elkton area - easy access on and off of I-95 - close to the UD football stadium if that's what you're in town for... overall, spacious and clean - typical ES floor plan you find in most places. Breakfast is great and 'happy hour' is a good place to unwind if you have the time. My only complaint is it is located next to a busy highway that has the noise to go with it at all hours it seems - ask for a room on the 'quiet side' (facing the Homewood Suites)... staff and service are usually excellent. As an added bonus, if you really don't want to get in the car and go out to dinner, you can simply walk through the lobby to the attached FRIDAY'S restaurant. If for some reason the ES is sold out, there is a nice Homewood Suites literally across the parking lot.

Room Tip: If you prefer quietness for sleep, call ahead and ask for a room on the 'quiet side' - facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanM320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

You can never go wrong with Embassy Suites, and this one is no exception. Ask for a corner suite, if you can. My first apartment was smaller. Large living room area with dining area. Good size bathroon, and bedroom even had sitting area. Only minor complaints were the satellite TV kept cutting in and out, and snacks at evening reception weren't kept near empty. I can recommend this property.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were in town for a concert and stayed at the Embassy Suites because of its proximity to the venue. The room was clean and smelled fresh. No major complaints, other than the air conditioner not functioning properly, we were very pleased with our stay and will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank akellyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here for the Alumni Weekend for University of Delaware. The price was great. The location was perfect. Free breakfast and cocktail hour a plus. Rooms were clean. BUT, there was an event in the lobby on Friday and Saturday nights that were so loud you couldn't even hear the tv in your room yet alone try to sleep. Both lasted until 10 and 10:30 pm. Since the rooms are situated all around the lobby no room could escape the noise. Many guests were complaining and the only offer was to make a note that I wanted to speak to a manager on check out. And guess what, no manager at the time of the event nor at check out was present. I would think twice before booking here again. Disappointed to say the least.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask if they will have any events in the main lobby area during the time of your stay. I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellehug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
275 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Address: 654 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £96 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Wilmington South in Newark, Delaware is situated just one mile from I-95 adjacent to the University of Delaware’s sports complex and less than a mile from the main campus. Guests staying in one of the 154 two-room suites will find every convenience at their disposal, including the brand’s famous complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include: indoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center, 24-hour sundry/gift shop and local area transportation. High-speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. A TGI Friday’s restaurant is located on-site. The beautiful six story atrium tower features 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities including divisible ballrooms and two dedicated boardrooms. The spacious atrium is ideal for pre-function receptions, weddings for up to 350 people, or trade shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing