We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

First of all, I truly do appreciate the goodies offered free of charge every evening during the cocktail reception. When traveling all day, it was a welcome treat to tide us over until the dinner hour.

The breakfast (also included in the price of the room) was good and the wait staff very accommodating and attentive. We were leaving just after 7 am that day to start the drive home and we certainly appreciated the 6:30 am breakfast start time offered.

The rooms are showing some signs of age but the suite like rooms are very large and definitely worth the price.

I do wish you did not have to make a U-turn when trying to get to the hotel from the opposite side of the highway. Just a minor inconvenience though.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is on the atrium location. This provides more light coming into the living room po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    186
    78
    38
    32
See reviews for
275
92
29
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel and staff offered all the elements one is looking for in a hotel experience. The rooms are clean, spacious, and provided all the necessary elements for a comfortable stay. The food was excellent especially the complimentary breakfast. The amenities were all what you would want in a quality hotel. I loved our stay at this Embassy Suite Hotel. The only item that would make it perfect is free WIFI.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

A good hotel. I have stayed here several times. It is one of the better ones in the Newark area. The staff is friendly. The breakfast and reception are very good. The hotel is showing its age and the rooms need renovating. They updated the lobby last year, but need to update the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I've been staying at Embassy Suite hotels since I was in high school and not having been to one in several years I was curious if their standards had slipped at all. I was glad to discover that it's the same great hotel chain it's always been! This particular site is starting to show its age (cracked tiles and pealing caulk) but still clean and spacious and the service was fantastic. I was staying there because my cousin's wedding reception was at the hotel and the entire experience, from the cake cutting, to the last dance on aching feet, to breakfast the next morning before heading out, was a pleasure. I've got another cousin attending UD and I wouldn't hesitate booking at the Embassy again when I'm in town!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawyergirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
247 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

A nice place to stay if you have business in the Newark or Elkton area - easy access on and off of I-95 - close to the UD football stadium if that's what you're in town for... overall, spacious and clean - typical ES floor plan you find in most places. Breakfast is great and 'happy hour' is a good place to unwind if you have the time. My only complaint is it is located next to a busy highway that has the noise to go with it at all hours it seems - ask for a room on the 'quiet side' (facing the Homewood Suites)... staff and service are usually excellent. As an added bonus, if you really don't want to get in the car and go out to dinner, you can simply walk through the lobby to the attached FRIDAY'S restaurant. If for some reason the ES is sold out, there is a nice Homewood Suites literally across the parking lot.

Room Tip: If you prefer quietness for sleep, call ahead and ask for a room on the 'quiet side' - facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanM320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

You can never go wrong with Embassy Suites, and this one is no exception. Ask for a corner suite, if you can. My first apartment was smaller. Large living room area with dining area. Good size bathroon, and bedroom even had sitting area. Only minor complaints were the satellite TV kept cutting in and out, and snacks at evening reception weren't kept near empty. I can recommend this property.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were in town for a concert and stayed at the Embassy Suites because of its proximity to the venue. The room was clean and smelled fresh. No major complaints, other than the air conditioner not functioning properly, we were very pleased with our stay and will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank akellyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Property: Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Address: 654 South College Avenue, Newark, DE 19713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing