We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is the best part..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The morning chefs were outstanding. The food was delicious and service was great. The morning front desk staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. If you had a problem during the evening, the staff were not receptive or helpful. One weekend hosted a large group on a religious retreat. For three days, this group trashed the hotel, allowed their children to run wild throughout the day and night, and were never reprimanded. Housekeeping was especially lax. Room was never vacuumed during the two week stay, and toiletry items were randomly replaced.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Conci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Worst hotel stay ever !! Hotel was hosting a conference during my stay. The guests for this conference were out of control. Children running around halls, playing on elevators, screaming until 2:30 in the morning. No managment on staff. Hotel employees were not helpful. Elevators were out of service, front lobby was being distroyed by children. And you could forget about sleeping or getting any rest. Not to mention, people were actually bathing in the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Have been going to Embassy Suites all over the US for years. This one was about 10% full, but they put us in a very cigarette-smelling room, right by vending/ice machines. I'm sure it was due to getting a discount on the room (AAA). Also, breakfast buffet was pretty minimal-not the typical type Embassy Suites are famous for. We were moved to another room, which was better than the smoky one. But, the hotel is nonsmoking and they said they save 2 rooms for smokers and are room was right above one. Nonsmoking hotel? Sure!?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This property had nothing wrong wit it - great suites, free wifi, good hot to order breakfast... I'm an Hhonors Diamond member so I stay at about 30 hotels a year.... this one was a top-tier example of a great Embassy Suites. See the photos I submitted of this property in the gallery.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I tried so hard to understand why so many travelers gave this property a positive rating. Recently stayed at this hotel for a youth lacrosse tournament. I tried to have an open mind knowing that we were directly across from the Univ. of Delaware and many, many families are in and out this facility. I was shocked and so dissapointed at the condition of this hotel. The only positives are the condition of the common lobby area which look recently updated. Rather than go into a long, winded explanation, I will just say that the room I stayed in was filthy. This is a "suite" hotel and the "living area" was gross. The couch and rugs were completely stained and stinky. I had to use the towels to cover all sitting spaces for my children. When I walked into the bedroom, it smelled so "funky". Clearly.the "bed spreads" were not changed. I removed the bed spreads and asked that housekeeping please change all the bedding. When I returned to my room, after a long day on the fields, the bedding had in fact been changed but with a gross and stained duvet. I ran into the housekeeping manager, who informed me that she changed the bedding but unfortunately they were "all out of duvets". Why would a hotel chain keep a stained duvet cover??? THROW IT OUT! Gross! I also requested that the moldy, gross shower curtain be changed. They changed the outside curtain, but to my delight, the moldy liner remained. I didn't complain directly to the manager because we were up at the crack of dawn, and returned late in the evening due to the sporting events, I also knew that the hotel was packed with families and heard enough excuses from the front desk and housekeeping manager. The condition of this hotel is not due to the overwhelming amount of guests. The rugs, couches, bathroom, all common areas are OLD, DIRTY, SMELLY and in need of an immediate updating. SO Disgusted.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

First of all, I truly do appreciate the goodies offered free of charge every evening during the cocktail reception. When traveling all day, it was a welcome treat to tide us over until the dinner hour.

The breakfast (also included in the price of the room) was good and the wait staff very accommodating and attentive. We were leaving just after 7 am that day to start the drive home and we certainly appreciated the 6:30 am breakfast start time offered.

The rooms are showing some signs of age but the suite like rooms are very large and definitely worth the price.

I do wish you did not have to make a U-turn when trying to get to the hotel from the opposite side of the highway. Just a minor inconvenience though.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is on the atrium location. This provides more light coming into the living room po...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel and staff offered all the elements one is looking for in a hotel experience. The rooms are clean, spacious, and provided all the necessary elements for a comfortable stay. The food was excellent especially the complimentary breakfast. The amenities were all what you would want in a quality hotel. I loved our stay at this Embassy Suite Hotel. The only item that would make it perfect is free WIFI.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank marksO9082OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
5.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
273 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Address: 654 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £106 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Wilmington South in Newark, Delaware is situated just one mile from I-95 adjacent to the University of Delaware’s sports complex and less than a mile from the main campus. Guests staying in one of the 154 two-room suites will find every convenience at their disposal, including the brand’s famous complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include: indoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center, 24-hour sundry/gift shop and local area transportation. High-speed internet access is available throughout the hotel. A TGI Friday’s restaurant is located on-site. The beautiful six story atrium tower features 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities including divisible ballrooms and two dedicated boardrooms. The spacious atrium is ideal for pre-function receptions, weddings for up to 350 people, or trade shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing