We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good for a Night”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

In the 1-star class of motels, we chose this unit based on the many solid reviews. For the price it's a good spot to stop over for a night. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. In fact the room we were in had been recently remodeled. Pretty sure folks smoke in these rooms. I know our room had been smoked in extensively as the odor stuck to our clothing. It's too bad because I could tell the management is trying but there is only so much they do if the customers insist on being jerks.The heating unit worked really well as did the cooler although that was a little loud. The hotel seemed very quiet the nigh we visited and that was appreciated. The bath was OK but it was a funky setup with the sink out near the unenclosed hangers. The toilet and shower separate. We didn't care at all for the relative darkness on the room. The lighting was poor and the place just felt dark and depressing at once. I just couldn't see living here for more than a night if for no other reason than the darkness in the room.

Room Tip: Nearby construction starts very early in the morning so be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdsaundrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    70
    48
    24
    21
See reviews for
76
64
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed there one night as a stop to break up my 12 hour drive. Room 201 was clean. The bathroom, towels, sheets, sink, counter tops...all looked sanitary. And the shower had good water pressure and I felt safe. It was an easy check in and an easy check out. The staff was courteous. I had a little difficulty finding the street entrance off the freeway, but figured it out fairly quickly and made corrections. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 629Ericka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Our room was very cleaned and it smelled very nice. I would recommend it for the price. The staff were very courteous and professional. In addition, there is a Chili's right there in the parking lot next to the hotel. We ate there daily for the duration of our trip which lasted for four days. Please have a navigation device handy if you are new to the area as the hotel is hard to find at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elivia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Red Roof was a pleasant surprise! Clean, comfortable, and quiet (at least where I was staying), I couldn't ask for much more for the price.

When I first arrived, the A/C (room 219) was LOUD ... humming and buzzing. I tried smacking it a few times but to no avail. The front desk immediately moved me (on request) to a different room (317) and that was the extent of the issue. The room was clean (and kept that way by housekeeping who did an excellent job), the bedding was comfortable, and even though it was not an empty place (judging by the cars in the parking lot), it was remarkably quiet.

Definitely won't hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paradigmwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Paradigmwg,

Thank your for your comments about my Inn. Myself and the staff love to hear feedback about our guests stay.

We look forward to hosting your next visit to Delaware!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Booked here for convenience of Location to where we needed near Girlfriends family. An liked stay friendly staff when we checked in The main was a clean reasonably modern room. But the bathroom could of been far better there were a good few hairs scatted about bath area it's a shame that something like this can drop your view of a room i would of rated it 5 if it wasn't for this. I would however stay here again. And intend to in a few weeks!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spider666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Spider666,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at my Inn. I will pass on your comments to our housekeeping staff. I can assure you that this is not a usual occurance. I am fortunate to have a staff who takes great pride in giving our guests the best home away from home experience.

Look forward to seeing you during your next Wilmington visit. Please feel free to stop by the desk and ask for me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The staff were great and attentive but they have to do something about the smell in the rooms.
They did such a good job renovating this inn except for scrubbing the rooms of smoke residue. I tried 3 rooms and decieded to stop checking and settled for the least smokey.
I know I tend to be a single issue critic, but most other "smoke free" properties do a pretty good job.
I don't know what they do with the $200.00 fine, but they sure don't use it to get the tobacco residue out.

Room Tip: If you sleep in aviod rooms near the laundry. If you have a lot of clothes or gear get a first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Silverfxr,

Thank you for your comments about our Inn. Yes, you are correct about the smoking issues at our hotel. We are extremely happy to be 100% smoke free. However, this is a constant challenge to assure guests do not smoke in rooms. We are looking to add a outdoor smoking pavillion in the near future to give our smoking guest an area to use. Housekeepers are also trained in how to properly clean any room where smoking may be suspected.

We are happy to hear that you like our new product and look forward to rolling out more new items in the next few months.

Thank you for staying at our Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POCONOS, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My son and I were traveling and taking a flight out of Wilmington Airport. We drove down the night before and needed a hotel. We were trying to find a safe, clean hotel and not break the budget. We trusted the Trip Advisor reviews and got a great AAA rate for this hotel. The check-in was quick and efficient and the room was spotless and appeared to have been recently updated. We had no complaints and the price was extremely fair.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TC-PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear TC_PA,

Thank you for commenting about your recent stay at my Inn. The staff is pleased to hear about how you enjoyed your stay. Many guests are suprised at how nice of a room Red Roof Inn's have for such a reasonable price.

I hope you will remember us the next time you are in Wilmington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Newark
Quality Inn Newark
#20 of 24 in Newark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
Address: 415 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-2119
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for checking us out! We are located Near Wilmington, in Newark, Delaware. We are Newly renovated in 2012! We are a family friendly facility & we welcome / accept travelers with pets! We are just around the corner from the Casino at Delaware Park and Christiana Hospital. We cater to local Pet shows and the Dover NASCAR races. We hope you will consider us for your travel needs, and we all look forward to seeing you soon! - Ben Cummins, General Manager of Red Roof 10190 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Newark
Red Roof Inn Newark
Newark Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing