We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the amenities before you book”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Surprised to pay for general facilities like Microwave and refrigerator. Room doesn't have iron or ironing board. Very narrow bathroom. No Laundry in the hotel. Surrounding area is feels away from locality and unsafe. I am very disappointed.

Room Tip: Check the amenities before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kromengg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

In the 1-star class of motels, we chose this unit based on the many solid reviews. For the price it's a good spot to stop over for a night. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. In fact the room we were in had been recently remodeled. Pretty sure folks smoke in these rooms. I know our room had been smoked in extensively as the odor stuck to our clothing. It's too bad because I could tell the management is trying but there is only so much they do if the customers insist on being jerks.The heating unit worked really well as did the cooler although that was a little loud. The hotel seemed very quiet the nigh we visited and that was appreciated. The bath was OK but it was a funky setup with the sink out near the unenclosed hangers. The toilet and shower separate. We didn't care at all for the relative darkness on the room. The lighting was poor and the place just felt dark and depressing at once. I just couldn't see living here for more than a night if for no other reason than the darkness in the room.

Room Tip: Nearby construction starts very early in the morning so be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdsaundrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed there one night as a stop to break up my 12 hour drive. Room 201 was clean. The bathroom, towels, sheets, sink, counter tops...all looked sanitary. And the shower had good water pressure and I felt safe. It was an easy check in and an easy check out. The staff was courteous. I had a little difficulty finding the street entrance off the freeway, but figured it out fairly quickly and made corrections. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 629Ericka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Our room was very cleaned and it smelled very nice. I would recommend it for the price. The staff were very courteous and professional. In addition, there is a Chili's right there in the parking lot next to the hotel. We ate there daily for the duration of our trip which lasted for four days. Please have a navigation device handy if you are new to the area as the hotel is hard to find at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elivia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Red Roof was a pleasant surprise! Clean, comfortable, and quiet (at least where I was staying), I couldn't ask for much more for the price.

When I first arrived, the A/C (room 219) was LOUD ... humming and buzzing. I tried smacking it a few times but to no avail. The front desk immediately moved me (on request) to a different room (317) and that was the extent of the issue. The room was clean (and kept that way by housekeeping who did an excellent job), the bedding was comfortable, and even though it was not an empty place (judging by the cars in the parking lot), it was remarkably quiet.

Definitely won't hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradigmwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Paradigmwg,

Thank your for your comments about my Inn. Myself and the staff love to hear feedback about our guests stay.

We look forward to hosting your next visit to Delaware!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Booked here for convenience of Location to where we needed near Girlfriends family. An liked stay friendly staff when we checked in The main was a clean reasonably modern room. But the bathroom could of been far better there were a good few hairs scatted about bath area it's a shame that something like this can drop your view of a room i would of rated it 5 if it wasn't for this. I would however stay here again. And intend to in a few weeks!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Spider666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Spider666,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at my Inn. I will pass on your comments to our housekeeping staff. I can assure you that this is not a usual occurance. I am fortunate to have a staff who takes great pride in giving our guests the best home away from home experience.

Look forward to seeing you during your next Wilmington visit. Please feel free to stop by the desk and ask for me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The staff were great and attentive but they have to do something about the smell in the rooms.
They did such a good job renovating this inn except for scrubbing the rooms of smoke residue. I tried 3 rooms and decieded to stop checking and settled for the least smokey.
I know I tend to be a single issue critic, but most other "smoke free" properties do a pretty good job.
I don't know what they do with the $200.00 fine, but they sure don't use it to get the tobacco residue out.

Room Tip: If you sleep in aviod rooms near the laundry. If you have a lot of clothes or gear get a first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Silverfxr,

Thank you for your comments about our Inn. Yes, you are correct about the smoking issues at our hotel. We are extremely happy to be 100% smoke free. However, this is a constant challenge to assure guests do not smoke in rooms. We are looking to add a outdoor smoking pavillion in the near future to give our smoking guest an area to use. Housekeepers are also trained in how to properly clean any room where smoking may be suspected.

We are happy to hear that you like our new product and look forward to rolling out more new items in the next few months.

Thank you for staying at our Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Newark, DE
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Newark - Christiana - Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington

Address: 415 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19713-2119
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £41 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for checking us out! We are located Near Wilmington, in Newark, Delaware. We are Newly renovated in 2012! We are a family friendly facility & we welcome / accept travelers with pets! We are just around the corner from the Casino at Delaware Park and Christiana Hospital. We cater to local Pet shows and the Dover NASCAR races. We hope you will consider us for your travel needs, and we all look forward to seeing you soon! - Ben Cummins, General Manager of Red Roof 10190 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Newark
Red Roof Inn Newark
Newark Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing