We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites(Newark)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington(Newark)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
38
43
17
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
43
17
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristiana mallfull kitchenoatmealking bedthe bed was super comfortablevirginia beachhot breakfastminute drivewould stay here againnight's sleepplenty of parkingfirst floorfree breakfastkitchenettesupermarketdeskdelaware
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for one night. Check in took a little bit, as there was only one clerk behind the desk at the time, and there was a line of people who were also checking in or just needed some assistance. The hotel wasn't really big, and our room was clean and comfortable, and had a good night's sleep. Nice breakfast selection in the morning. We went downstairs and made a plate, and brought it back up to our room. I recommend staying here if you are in the area. great location, right off of 95, and close to many restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank justsumchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We needed a place to stop and spend the night and the hotel met those needs. The decor is a little dated but the hotel itself is very neat and clean and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious. It is located rightoff 95 and very close to many restaurants. One negative was that the breakfast was really subpar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Debbie, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Rick,
Thank you for staying with us here at Towneplace Suites in Newark , DE. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast is a grab and go for Marriott so we have yogurt, bananas, cereal, coffee, tea, juice,bagels. We have chosen to add some hot items that are different each day. We provide extra items for our guest at no extra charge. I hope you will come back and stay again with us and maybe enjoy the breakfast more on that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for one night.
The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Room was nice, clean, comfortable. Breakfast was fine. Short drive to restaurants. Would definitely stay again next time in this area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WalterBWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Debbie, Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed yourself. I hope to see you again.
Regards,
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The main gist of my review below:

We were overcharged for a small room with very few benefits and a very rude staff.

We stayed here for 33 days so here is a detailed review of the hotel. Let me start this off by saying before this hotel stay, I exclusively would stay in Towneplace Suites when I traveled for business or pleasure (which I do a good bit), and after this stay I will not only never stay in a Towneplace Suites but I will never stay in a Marriott brand hotel because of how they have handled my concerns.

The (not-so) good:
Laundry is free! However, there is one set of washers and dryers on the 2nd floor and another on the 4th floor. The dryer on the second floor didn't work during our entire stay so essentially there is one dryer and two washers for the entire hotel.

They do allow pets, for a fee. However, when we checked in there were no bags in the holder for your pet's waste and the one garage can outside for pet waste was overfilling. It was never emptied nor were the bags replaced during our entire 33 day stay.

The bad:
The rooms are much smaller than any other Towneplace Suites I have stayed in.

Noise is a big issue in the rooms. I-95 might as well be right outside your room.

We were here during many bad snow storms. Parking is therefore limited because snow piles gather in unused parking spots. This typically isn't an issue, however, an employee here drives a very nice black car that they like to back in and take up two spots and then place 2 cones, one on either side, so no one parks next to them, essentially taking up 4 parking spots for their one car. There are also two vans for the hotel, so 6 parking spots are constantly taken up by 3 cars for the employees. One night I had to park in the lot next door as their parking lot was full.

The rooms are older and dated. We had several maintenance issues which were never resolved during our extended stay- The refrigerator door needed to be lifted and then pushed before it would shut completely and every time it made a terrible noise, our closet doors were off the tracks and would not open and close, the drain for the tub wouldn't hold water and our heating unit would blow out cold air rather than hot air.

At one point during our stay one whole section of the parking lot (about 10 spots) were roped off. Several of us had our cars parked in the roped off section, making our cars inaccessible. We were never notified that it was going to be roped off or why it was going to be roped off or asked to move our cars prior to it being roped off.

Breakfast during the week is supposedly until 9 am. If you aren't there by 8:30, breakfast is being cleaned up and you will need to ask for basics like juice (you will be given one cup and no more) and utensils (you will be handed one spoon and one fork) by 8:45. Don't dare come out and try to get a bowl of cereal at 8:55.

Housekeeping was nasty and would come by around 3:30PM to hand me towels through the door. At one point we requested a vacuum so we could clean the room ourselves which was denied by the front desk.

The ugly:
The hotel "pre-settles" your bill on a weekly basis. You aren't provided a bill on a weekly basis unless you ask so it's always a guessing game as to what you are being charged for. After a week and a half of this "game", we requested a bill as our totals for the week seemed to be higher than what we were expecting. Turns out we were being charged the same rate as someone walking in off the street rather than our "extended stay" rate. We contacted the sales person (who will harass you when you inquire about an extended stay at the hotel but you will have a very hard time reaching once you check in-there were times it took days for her to respond to us) and she informed us that our bill would have a final settlement once we checked out and they would adjust our rate accordingly. When we checked out, no such luck. We inquired at the hotel again and they told us that our card had already been charged so there was nothing they could do for us at this point.

When you call the Marriott customer care line they only forward you back to the hotel manager, so we have now escalated the issue to the corporate level.

We were overcharged over $500 during our 33 day stay for a small, dirty, noisy hotel room with lousy customer service.

We considered leaving the hotel, but we were told that if we left before our 30 days, we would be charged the full rates for each of the nights when we received our final bill. Turns out we stuck through hell just to be charged the full amount anyways.

This hotel is a joke, but really my disappointment is with Marriott and how they have handled us being overcharged and our complaints about the hotel's condition and staff.

This area has so many nicer, cheaper hotels. Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Debbie, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Andrea,

In response to all three of your Guest Surveys, I felt it was necessary to address all your concerns as they are not an accurate portrayal of our hotel and the service we provide.

Breakfast: Breakfast is served during the weekdays from 6:30-9 AM, 7-10 AM weekends. We’ve never had any complaints about the timing. We have always accommodated Guests beyond the cut-off time.

Laundry: The laundry facilities are provided as a complimentary amenity.

Pets: Yes, pets are allowed with a fee fee as required by Marriott. The pet requirement is less than 35 lbs., however, your pet was well over that weight limit. We have designated areas for Guests to walk their pets, however, you chose to walk your dog in front of the hotel and did not clean up after him. Our staff constantly cleaned up after your dog and we also has Guests complain.

Rooms Size: Our rooms are spacious and we always get positive feedback about the size of our rooms. This is a very popular design for our Guests. The rooms have extra vanity areas as well as a kitchenettes plus a personal desk area for your work space.

Noise Issue: You stated the noise was a big issue and that I-95 might as well be right outside your door. We are an exit off the I-95, we are not on the I-95. Your room faced the opposite direction of the highway; your room also did not have a view of the highway. Noise has never been an issue for any side of the hotel and we have never had complaints about noise.

Parking: You stated that an employee has a black car that takes up to three spaces in the parking lot. That car belongs to a Guest. All employees park away from the hotel so Guests can park closer to all entry points.

Outdated Rooms: You indicated our rooms are outdated. We recently underwent renovations per Marriott Standards. The design was selected and approved by Marriott.

Housekeeping Staff: You stated the housekeeping staff was “nasty.” Our staff is loyal and courteous. We have never had an issue with the staff being nasty or discourteous to Guests. It is wrong and unfair to pass such judgment on our hardworking staff. When you have a “Do Not Disturb” sign on your door, housekeeping will do exactly that. They will not be discourteous and enter or even knock on your door while the sign is on. You often made special requests for towels and they brought those to you. We have traced back to our logs for your room, out of 33 days, 12 days you had the “Do Not Disturb” sign on, in addition, for 2 days, you requested “Towels Only,” 1 additional day you requested “towels and trash only” and 3 days, instead of a “refresh” you requested a “full clean” and we accommodated that request at no extra charge.

Maintenance Issues with Room: You indicated that you had maintenance issues with your room which were never resolved. As our hotel policy, we log every concern and request by a Guest in our service system so that any issues can be resolved right away. We traced the logs to your room prior to your stay as well as after your stay and there have been no complaints or issues about the components in the room not working as they should.

Heating: You indicated the heating unit blew cold air as opposed to hot air. We checked our logs, and do not have any complaint from you regarding that issue. The heating works accordingly.

RATE: Finally, the rate. We explained multiple times to Mr. Bigus, who was the ONLY registered Guest under this reservation. Initially, the reservation was set for 30 days, and on day 3 the reservation was changed to 5 days, which adjusted your rate automatically, despite that, you still were charged the lowest rate for the first 2 days as you changed your mind on the 3rd day. From the 3rd day on, your rate reflected what that current tier was that you were in because you were due to check out in a few days. Close to the time of your check out, you extended by another few days and were due to check out in less than a week, again. You stated clearly you were clueless about your rate and had no idea what was going on when. We have documentation of all of our communication back and forth about the rate. You changed your reservation length more than 10 times never giving us an accurate portrayal of the length of your stay. We bill weekly if your stay extends beyond 7 days.

We were always very welcoming as well as accommodating to you and Mr. Bigus. I am still confused however as to why a Guest would choose to stay at a place especially for 30+ days if everything was so unpleasant as you have clearly listed. We strive ourselves in giving the best customer service possible and we are saddened to read your reviews in the manner you have portrayed them.

Regards,

Debbie Deliman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed for two nights and must say what a great hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast was a plus for me as well as the options. My room was neat and clean ,made me feel like home

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amerah05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Debbie, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington Newark/Christiana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank You, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again.

Regards,
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews