We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Charm and Excellent Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Hen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Newark B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historic Charm and Excellent Hospitality”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in the Blue Hen as an alternative to a traditional motel. It was an excellent choice. The house has two sections - one dating from the late 1600's and the other from the early 1800's. The historic house has character and charm. The rooms are nicely appointed with traditional style antiques. The hosts provided very personalized services and truly made you feel at home. They gave a nice tour of the old sections of the house and pointed out many of its unique historic features, like signatures of the painters who decorated and restored the ceiling designs and samples of the original wallpapers. The bed was very comfortable. You will certainly enjoy a weekend in teh Blue Hen B&B.

Room Tip: We liked teh room with the canopy bed, but the other main room is very nice as well. We enjoyed a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
25
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean View, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Beautiful clean and comfortable. Great food, college freshman daughter got her "pet fix"... great breakfast. So glad we found you. Conveniently close to UD activities. Amy and Don were lovely hosts. Don is an amazing chef..Amy the baker..the blend of both....awesome.

Room Tip: Great location..comfy cozy loved the history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Having never been in Newark before, I searched for the right place at the right price. The Blue Hen was a 10 out of 10 on both counts! Don & Amy's home is simply magnificent. Their hospitality warm and friendly. The accommodations were both beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast, which included a wonderful home made granola, was delicious. Owners were very knowledgeable about the area which was helpful. The location is very convenient to the University of Delaware. It was a quiet, comfortable, and affordable stay that met all of my needs and exceeded my expectations. My only regret is that time did not permit me to stay a second night! Hope to return someday soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maulden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed three nights with Amy and Don who gave us a warm welcome, supported by their enthusiastic dogs!

The house is beautifully maintained and a fascinating place, lovely furnishings throughout, and located in a very nice residential area on the edge of Newark.

A special highlight is Don's famous Saturday morning breakfast - we were not disappointed, which is not to say that the weekday breakfast was anything other than excellent.

A thoroughly recommended place to stay, we would not hesitate to stay at Blue Hen again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife & I found ourselves in the Newark, DE area, to attend a family function. We were not disappointed by the previous reviewers' comments. This place is all that. Quiet, comfortable, very clean, welcoming, accommodating, a house full of 300+ years of history, aromatic (love the lavender scent, taken from the lavender bushes around the property!) and a gazebo out back to catch a nap, meditate, or simply relax and enjoy the 2 acre property. Amy and Don make you feel like old friends when you visit and you won't be disappointed with Don's culinary skills at breakfastime. Awesome and plentiful! We highly recommend this place and will return here should we find ourselves back in the Newark, DE area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freedatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Don and Amy are wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home. Bailey and Brandy, their two big, friendly dogs, also did their part to make us feel welcome. The house was nicely decorated, very clean and our room was lovely. The breakfasts were delicious. A power outage in the neighborhood on our last morning did not even phase Don and Amy. Don fired up his grill and made a great German breakfast for his guests while Amy set up the patio for our meal. They are a great team and we highly recommend staying at their bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We could not have made our trip to Newark if we hadn't found the Blue Hen B&B! My Mom needed an accessible space. I hoped for a flexible area that my adult daughter and I could share if she decided to visit (and she did). We were blessed with an expandable breakfast, so our Newark relatives could join us -- especially meaningful on Mother's Day. Too bad we didn't fly with our dog, because he would have found a happy home, too! Our hosts, Amy and Don Eschenbrenner, made us feel welcome from the instant we contacted them. Everything they promised was there: Beautiful, comfy beds, antique furnishings, original elements in a well-maintained and restored home -- flowers and birds all around. The breakfasts were delicious, complete with surprises like homemade scones and soufflés. We lingered with coffee in the garden gazebo or on the porches. Truly our home away from home. We had never visited Delaware before, and now we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
6.9 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
3.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hen Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blue Hen Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1202 Nottingham Rd, Newark, DE 19711-2020
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Hen Bed and Breakfast is located in Newark, Delaware on Route 273 approximately 1.7 miles west of downtown Newark in an area historically known as “The Wedge”. It’s easily accessible to the University of Delaware as well as the neighboring states of New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Maryland.Originally built in 1692, this pet friendly B&B is situated on the remaining 2 acres of land that was once part of a 255 acre farm. The Blue Hen offers 3 main guestrooms, all with private baths. Accommodations include breakfast, lavish queen sized beds, free WIFI, beverages and snacks. This is a lovely and historic venue for your intimate wedding, shower, photo shoot or wedding party dressing event. A gazebo with landscaping graces the back yard. A honeymoon suite with kitchenette and private screened in porch overlooks the patio and back yard. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing