We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel, Great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Newark
new jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, Great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Perfect overnight stay. Great price compared to other hotels in the neighborhood. Customer service excellent. Water and trail mix at check-in along with the usual cookies. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    63
    49
    35
    27
See reviews for
97
51
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
northern virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

traveling with elderly mom who uses walker and has difficulty getting around. had to find hotel quickly while traveling at southmost end of nj turnpike since she was feeling ill/tired. did quick search and found country inn & suites for good price in delaware. right off i-95, very clean and large room. complimentary hot breakfast was very good - eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffle machine, yogurt, fruit, etc. - all the standard stuff done well and plentiful. we arrived on thursday night and stayed for couple days. as my mom rested, got a chance to explore.

being close to udelaware, hs/college teams were around - well-behaved and not loud. front desk very helpful and lots of restaurants close by. found plow & hearth outlet (not many of these!) just down the street, along with tj max, best buy and great coffee/sandwich place called 'purebread'...fresh, cozy and everything named after dogs!! hospital was across from shopping area (just in case) and christiana mall was the other direction.

this hotel was real find and little gem in the middle of many higher hotel chains. on a side road from main road, but you can still see it. though they didn't have any suites, room was large and beds comfy. lending library of books is cute and underground parking was convenient getting her to car when we checked out. definitely recommend.

Room Tip: upper floor so you can walk down center staircase and take elevator to underground parking garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaglegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

People at the front desk were nice enough, but the place was filthy. Our Room (416), was smoked in by someone else, when we complained about it we were told they Motel cleaning people had something they would use to clear that up, we ask to come back in a couple hours. We did, and we were so sorry we did! The room reeked of some type of cleaning agent, so bad we started coughing. Tried to open a window and could only slightly crake open one, the other was froze in place. The room was covered with dust and the bathroom was in need of a good cleaning as well. We left and went across the street to the Hilton, more expensive but clean and quiet... Don't stay here...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzy3062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We do understand how frustrating this must of been. We do appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We will take them and address them with the hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel while in town for the Easter Seals Volleyball Challenge at the Delaware Orthopedic Sportsplex and were very impressed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fresh and the staff paid close attention to ensure everything was refilled and the tables were kept clean. I also really enjoyed the fresh coffee throughout the day. Parking was easy and we had quick access to a couple of restaurants without having to go out on the main road. The only thing missing was the newspapers that were advertised on their website but absent at the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor near the main stairs and did not have any complaints about noise from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amymjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMERALD ISLE
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and the complimentry breakfast was very good. The room was very clean and comfortalbe. The lobby and hall way rugs need to be replaced because they are worn out and prehaps they could could have used a good vacuuming also.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I was in this hotel for 2 weeks, I travel for work, I have been on the road for years so I know what I am expecting. This location was pleasant, the staff was very nice. Checking in I was greeted by a sleeping clerk, but when you check in at 3 am this can happen. The rooms are clean, great parking under the hotel, and breakfast is not the same thing everyday. For the price this is cheaper than the Hilton across the street and just as nice in my eyes. Not only do I recommend this place but I am going to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryinn1024, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Hello,
Thanks for the kind words. We strive to make every stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. We hope to see you in the near future.

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We found ourselves with a 22 hour layover at Newark airport one week before Christmas. This property was an awesome option for us because it is across the street from a very large outlet mall.

The hotel was very clean, the workers very friendly, shuttle service prompt, and the room was as comfortable as you could ask for. The rooms offer refrigerators, free wifi, comfortable beds, and quick in and out service. The complementary breakfast is very good.

I strongly recommend this hotel for an overnight at the airport.

Room Tip: Great for an overnight at EWR
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Address: 1024 Old Churchmans Rd, Newark, DE 19713-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Newark
Newark Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing