We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management Needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Newark
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Management Needed!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just got back from an overnight trip to Newark for my sons graduation from The Univeristy of Delaware. We stayed Friday night of Memorial Day weekend. Since it was both a holiday and graduation weekend, of course the hotel costs were higher than usual. We had three hotel rooms booked a year in advance and paid nearly $700 for one night! There was a total of 10 people in our party. Upon check in, the hotel decor was appealing and the front desk clerk was pleasant. The first of many downfalls began when we found out that breakfast is not served till 7:00 am on weekends. This is not stated on the website, and this was one of the reasons we booked this hotel since we had to eat and be out of our rooms early for graduation the next morning. The gentleman that was working the breakfast area the next morning stated that he was not informed that graduation was that day and he had guests waiting to grab something to eat prior to leaving. Our next problem was after my sister checked into her hotel room and went to use the toilet. The handle on the toilet was completely broken and it could not be flushed. I called the front desk to inform them and the clerk told me that it was a problem since the maintainence person called out sick and there was no one available for repairs. They offered her to switch her room to another room, but it was a lower grade room. My sister had opted for a jacuzzi suite and the replacement room she was offered was only a king bed room. When asked how she would be reimbursed for the difference in price, the clerk said that the room was prepaid and she could not authorize a price differential. We then asked to speak to the manager. We were told that the general manager (Robert) was on vacation. We asked when he would be returning and was told probably Monday or Tuesday! How could a manager take a vacation on a holiday/graduation weekend without a replacement? The final, and worst problem was at night when we were getting ready to retire for the evening in our room. I tried to put on the light in the bedroom, and it basically fell part and did not work. I then pulled back the pull-out sofa to make the bed (after I had to go to the front desk to get my own sheets/blankets) and found a mouse trap, and dirty sock behind the sofa! Imagine my disgust when I saw that! I took pictures and showed it to the clerk the next morning. She noted it on a piece of paper along with my number for the manager to contact me. Well, it's already Tuesday and I haven't heard from him as of yet. My next letter I am writing is to the corporate office of Country Inns to inform them of their lack of management and cleanliness!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billhens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    64
    49
    36
    30
See reviews for
101
52
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
222 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My husband stayed here while visiting his mom at a local nursing home. He was really pleased with the room. He said the bed was very comfortable, the hotel was dead quiet at night on the third floor, and all of the personnel were very helpful. Of special note was Dominic. Dominic is the employee who manages the breakfast area. My husband raved about the spotless breakfast area. Great stay. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

As is usually the case with Country Inn & suites, this hotel was clean and comfortable. The location was convenient to I-95 and the breakfast was good. This is our second stay here!

Had a Jacuzzi room!

Convenient to the Brandywine Valley and local Dupont family attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jao988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We took a whirlwind trip to Boston and back to Virginia and the best customer service we encountered the whole trip was Reza and the staff at Country Inn & Suites in Newark, DE. We stopped late at night after many hours of driving and he made us feel welcome and greatly helped us out with our rooming situation for the night. He was back again the next morning and helped us find our way to Duncan Donuts before heading out for another day of driving. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
258 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Whether you need one night or 10 this is a very comfortable place. Staff are pleasant attentive and responsive. The facility is very vlean and well maintained. The bed was comfy. comfy, comfy!!! As with all CI & S rooms, you have loads of space. Snack bags and cookies are offered at check-in.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stay at CI&S because we can count on being treated with courtesy and competency and it is clean. We are fortunate that we had a reservation because we were on the road 13 hours due to traffic delays. We were greeted by Reza who immediately made our journey better. He moved us quickly to our room and gave us some snacks and toiletries since it was later than expected. He even called when we were in the room to see if we were satisfied and if he could do anything more for us. THIS is why we are fans of CI&S. The room was excellent except it did not have a safe. Since we were only there for one night and were leaving upon waking it did not concern us. However, if this was an extended stay we would expect a safe in the room. Our only surprise was plastic and foam at breakfast. This is the first time we experienced this at a CI&S. The food was excellent as usual and we were on our way in good time; well rested and satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AscDac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a short trip away for shopping. The hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly. Our room was clean, although wallpaper was peeling off on the wall where the heater is. Used the fitness room, which is small, but adequate for fitness needs while traveling. Had a problem with the shower - the temperature would not stay consistent, had to adjust the faucet every 1-2 minutes - in all fairness to the hotel, we did not report it until we left because we didn't want to deal with intrusion of maintenance or having to change to a different room. We were next to a suite room, so often heard noise from children nextdoor//thin walls...
Beds were comfortable, internet worked great. Overall, we were happy with the room. Free breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Address: 1024 Old Churchmans Rd, Newark, DE 19713-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Newark
Newark Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing