We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A nice clean hotel with very friendly staff. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic! The room was nice and clean, but the billing got a bit confusing between points and cash. It was finally sorted out and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

When visiting family in the area we have used this hotel over the years and have watched it wear down. A shame as the Carlson family of Hotels is a good Brand but they would not be happy with the way we have watched the erosion of quality over time. We had our room keys not work two nights in a row as we came back late. We found out the staff gave out a room key to some one else for our room..Inside the bathroom door we found gang markings painted on the door.. Breakfast ok but the attendent today on Saturaday was late setting up .. AT 707 he was still rushing to get food out.. Gave it two stars as it was quite and convienent and the breaksfast ok...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The customer service is amazing. Always take care of me when I go to this hotel, and the staff is very nice! Me and my friend staid two nights here and it was very close to the hospital she had to go to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OskarBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I come and stay at this hotel every week for work and I leave happy every time. Hotel might be a bit old but if you're looking for a nice, clean place to stay then look no further.

They have very nice and attentive/responsive staff. Great service and great location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saad a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Although the gas fire was burning brightly there were no cups for coffee or any promised cookies. Upon arriving in the room, it became ubundantly apparent that no one had given the property any TLC. There were HOLES in the bathtub! Can you imagine? The tub could not hold water. The sink leaked. The refrigerator made a constant clicking noise. DO NOT STAY HERE. It was really awful. Had we not been so tired after hours of driving, we would have demanded our money back and changed hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not at this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bpasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Husband's home office is in Newark, DE and we spend 8-10 nights a month at the Country Inn & Suites there. I can honestly say we have NEVER encountered a better staff anywhere, starting with the housekeeping staff (Anabella and Sylvia are wonderful) to the front desk staff (Justin and Navine are terrific) all the way up the GM (Crystal Turnipseed). It is true it is an older hotel but that doesn't keep them from providing very comfortable beds, new linens, towels, and pillows. We have stayed at many other hotels in the area (Hilton, Embassy Suites, and Residence Inn) but for the money, you cannot beat this hotel. The breakfast is very good and coffee is always available (and hot) should you desire it anytime of the day or night. There was even very good apple cider served during the holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyRonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We got suite# 318 with the Jacuzzi, what a treat I say to my wife. I did not pay attention to the smoke detector that was right above…. and you know what happened next…the steam from the hot water turn on the smoke alarm. what an embarrassment at 7AM
The mattress was hard like a rock, the carpet new some better days. Room phone did not work, same with the entrance light.
Location is by the 95 exit witch help to get to downtown Newark in 20 minutes.
Not my favorite place at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rivka847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
5.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark

Address: 1024 Old Churchmans Rd, Newark, DE 19713-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: £70 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Newark
Newark Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing