We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facility is in great need of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The front desk & breakfast staff were extremely helpful & friendly. The room was clean, but in extreme need of updating, especially the bathroom. There was a large, jagged crack in the bathtub, a hole in the wall near the shower head, and obvious water damage on the walls.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Heather, Thanks for your review of the hotel. I'm very glad our staff was helpful and friendly throughout the hotel! Our goal is certainly to provide you with great service and a clean room. My sincerst apologies on the condition of your room in regard to any damages. Such conditions are not what we stive for in offering a great product to our customers. Thank you for bringing it to my attention, we will address your concerns immediately!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have been very impressed with the Country Inns across the country; this one not so much. Everything in my room was worn and really beat up. Peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling and door. The chair in the room is covered with cigarette burns; non-smoking room??? TV is really old and doesn't work properly.
When I am in the area next time, I will look at the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtdman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear JTDman37, Thank you for your review, I am so sorry your room was not up to our usual high standards of quality. I would very much like to speak with or hear from you directly so that we can address the room you stayed in, & ensure these issues do not impact our future customers. If you would like to share more information with me or I can do anything to alliviate this issue, please contact me at CNewarkDE@carlsonrezidor.com, or 302-266-6400- Ben Cummins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have stayed here before visiting family in the area. The hotel is in a cluster of hotels/motels right off the I-95 highway between Newark and Wilmington DE. Not much else in the area, close to the big tax-free Christiana shopping mall. Most guests seem to be passing through, visiting the big hospital up the road, or visiting the U of D in Newark. The hotel is clean and modern chain-hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. Nice warm breakfast that they rotate the from day to day. Good value for money and reliable.

Room Tip: The rooms straight ahead from the reception desk are next to the elevator and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear DJM3, Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear your impression of the hotel was favorable. We do our very best to provide the clean rooms and great service you mentioned. I'm very glad you enjoyed our breakfast- and thanks for mentioning our rotation and varying selection of breakfast items! The Christiana Mall is very close, as well as Christiana Hospital, Delaware Park Racetrack and Casino, the Newark Airport, University of Delaware, and much more. We hope to see you again on your next trip through the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel staff was great. Room very clean and comfort. Hotel convience to all the location I visited and easy access to the interstate. Breakfast was great.I stayed two nights with family and friends and we had joining rooms, we could stay in bed and talk without having to leave the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlethia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks for the great review! We're very glad you were able to enjoy your stay with family and friends comfortably, and that breakfast was to your liking. There's always more to see in the area, so we hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed one night while in town for a family function, and it was probably one of the worst hotel stays we have ever had. We have stayed in Country Inn and Suites before, and NEVER have we had such an awful night.
The walls were so thin we could hear not only every word of the people on both side of us, but every movement. When we turned out the lights you could see light streaming in along the wall/ceiling seam from the rooms next door. I finally said to my husband around 1 a.m., in a normal voice, "do you think they will ever put those kids to bed?" Suddenly things quieted down a bit. At least no more screaming kids. We did have to listen to their TV show for a few more hours, however.
Breakfast was mediocre.
Think about another place to stay if in Newark Delaware.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinIslanddreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Dublinislanddreamer, Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property. My sincerest apologies for the noise and disruption from another guests' room. Any time during any stay, please let us know and our staff would be happy to address any noise issues. The enjoyment and comfort of your stay is paramount to our guest sevice commitments. You will be excited to hear we have redesigned our breakfast arrangement and are listening to our customers in regard to breakfast, & making some changes for improved breakfast experience. I appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us a try again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I normally stay at The Hilton which is across from this Country Inn, but wanted to stay some place different to save some money. I stayed in a King Suite, enjoyed free Wi-Fi, had free coffee and free breakfast each morning. I stayed 4 nights so I received a 30% discount. Large room, quiet location, and free amenities convinced me this will be my hotel in the future when I come to Wilmington. I saved about $75/day by staying here. Well worth the savings! I took my savings and then shopped in tax free Delaware!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Beachlady0722, Thanks for such a wonderful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us- I couldn't ask for a better list our amenities and the benefits to staying with us! I and all of my staff are excited to have you back anytime! Tax-Free Delaware and the nearby newly renovated Christiana Mall are a great place to use those savings! We hope to see you next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel looks nice from the outside but looks are deceiving! The halls are dirty. Our room had wall paper falling off the wall, the tv was disconnected from the back, and the worst part was discovering the used condom next to my nightstand! I wouldn't stay at this hotel again even if I had to sleep in my car!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
5.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark

Address: 1024 Old Churchmans Rd, Newark, DE 19713-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: £70 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Newark
Newark Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing