We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in Newark!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Newark!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Great place to stay, spacious rooms, free wifi, bicycles to borrow to cruise to main street where there are plenty of food and drink options.
The breakfast buffet is overpriced at $13. The room rate was also a bit high at $140(corporate rate)
But if your looking for a nice place to stay in the area, you'll be pleased.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan01981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    82
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
27
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Courtyard in Newark, DE. We were in town to attend a wedding, and the bridal party had reserved rooms here, and they are perfect. From the friendly welcome when we checked in, to the delicious breakfast buffet, to the convenient location - all were top-notch, and we will stay there again on a future visit.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably the same; nice that parking is free and on-site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LI NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed here for one night while visiting U Del with my family. I have to hand it to Marriott and most of the courtyard properties. You always wonder what you get when you stay i na place that isnt exactly a hotel but ann upgrade from a motel.

In this case you get a a clean, well appointed room, really comfortable beds, nice TV. If i didnt know any better id think i was in a regular Marriott Hotel. If my son does go to U Del this is where Im staying. Very pleasant staff also.. Nothing bad to say really. Nice Breakfast also...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed here on June 17 and 18 with friends of mine for a wedding that we were attending nearby. The wedding was on Friday night and we were provided a shuttle to and from the wedding and then it took us to the nearby bars once we returned from the wedding. When we got back from the bars, there were about 15 of us hanging out in my room. It was really late (around 1:30/2AM) and we were probably loud so the manager on duty (Mike) and his assistant came to the room to tell us that everyone except the people staying in that room had to leave.

At first we were a little annoyed because we didn't think we were that loud (we were drunk), but they then told us that we could be as loud as we wanted in the lobby. So all of us went down to the lobby and hung out. Then something awesome happened. Mike and his assistant started bringing us big bottles of water and tons of bags of chips and granola bars and just set them at our tables. They were giving it all to us for free! They were so nice about it, too. We thanked them profusely and my friend even tried to tip them $10 each, but they refused to take our money.

The next night we were hanging out in the lobby and I had the late night munchies so I kept buying things from the snack bar. Mike was on duty again and kept ringing me up. Then I went to get something but they ran out of what I wanted. I told Mike and he immediately went into the back and brought out several other [similar] things for me to choose from. I chose something else and he then said it was on him. Another thing for free - so nice!

This same night, the shuttle driver, the one who had been carting us around the night before, had just returned from dropping off a wedding party. My friend and I were outside smoking a cigarette when she pulled up and we got to talking to her. Her name was Yolanda. She was SO personable. We talked to her for probably 15 minutes about everything under the sun. It was really nice.

The room was good, clean, well kept up, temperature wasn't too cold or hot, shower pressure was AWESOME (felt like a massage) but the main thing that made our stay was how well we were treated by the staff. Mike, his assistant (can't remember his name!) and Yolanda all went out of their way to make sure that we were happy and our needs were met. And we really, really appreciated it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitbulLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel was beautiful and clean. It was large but cozy. Very close to University of Delaware and very convenient. It is very impressive that this hotel is run completely by students studying hospitality at the University of Delaware. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andpetros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

As a frequent traveler, I am always impressed with small hotels that make it their business to take care of you.

GREAT customer service.

I am grateful for the short but pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upsate NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

I stay at this facility several times a month. It is my number one choice in the Newark area. It is exceptionaly clean and well maintained. Most important to me as a business traveler, it is very quiet with a helpful staff. It isn't the cheapest in the area but it is well worth the cost to have an enjoyable stay with no issues.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DogShow_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware

Property: Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Address: 400 David Hollowell Dr, Newark, DE 19716-7448
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#5 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful suburban campus, the Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware offers impeccable service coupled with state-of-the-art technology. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms offer all the comforts of home, and feature well-lit workstations, complimentary wired and wireless internet service. This is a select service hotel with full service amenities, free parking, oversized guest rooms, and breakfast buffet or hot items cooked to order. The lobby lounge and dinner service is available seven days a week. If you love seafood then make sure to feast yourself on our award winning crab cakes. It will be our pleasure meeting your business or conference needs with nearby businesses such as WL Gore, Bank of America, and Siemens. We are also adjacent to Clayton Hall Conference Center, a University-run facility that boasts over 40,000 square feet of meeting space. If it’s fun you’re looking for, you can test your luck at Delaware Park, experience some of Delaware’s “tax-free” shopping at Christiana Mall, or take in some culture in the neighboring Brandywine Valley. The Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware takes pride in being one of Delaware’s first “Green Lodging” establishments. Stop by and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark - University Of Delaware Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard
Courtyard University Of Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing