We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra nice Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our daughter is attending U of DE as a freshman this Fall. This was our first stay at the Courtyard for the Freshman Orientation. The hotel was especially nice for a Courtyard brand, as the rooms were as nice or nicer than Full service Marriott hotels we have stayed in. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Welcome to the University of Delaware and our hotel. I hope you are also aware of our Very Important Parent Program VIP, that offers special rates and services to UD Families. Please contact me anytime at Bill Sullivan, billsull@udel.

We are honored to be your “Newark” home during our students years at UD!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here for new student orientation. Got a good price on Priceline, as I feel their basic rates are too high compared with other accommodations in the area. The rooms were lovely, the location perfect for the 8am start to the orientation day, the staff were warm & welcoming, though they did comment on the Priceline reservation! :) We even ate there as the food was supposed to be good. The crabcakes were as tasty as advertised, I just didn't like eating in the open lobby. it was a great stay at the lower than advertised price!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Welcome to the University of Delaware and our hotel. Your comments on our food and service are most appeciated, and I agree about our famous crab cakes, a guest favorite!

I hope you are also aware of our Very Important Parent Program VIP, that offers special hotel room rates and services to UD Families. Please contact me anytime at Bill Sullivan, billsull@udel.

We are honored to be your “Newark” home during our students years at UD!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We called the Courtyard by Marriott in a pinch when another previously booked hotel was too disgusting to actually check into.. The Courtyard welcomed us (3 rooms) at the last minute even during the busy freshman orientation weekend at the University of Delaware. Great points: CLEAN rooms, indoor pool, outdoor patio area, Starbucks in the lobby, and a "Go Board" in the lobby which is a simple to use touch screen board full of needed travelers information such as weather forecasts, street maps, local restaurants etc. Only one thing I can say as a constructive criticism.... we wish this hotel had a courtesy beverage in the lobby such as iced tea or even iced water. As a matter of fact, the guest services book in the room states that complimentary coffee is offered in the lobby, which turned out not to be true, perhaps because the Starbucks moved in. We once stayed in a Marriott in Long Island (Islandia) that offered iced cinnamon apple water. It was a nice touch that we couldn't help but notice was missed here. But overall, excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thanks for your comments about your families stay at our hotel for student orientation. We welcome you to Newark and the University of Delaware. We are pleased that you found the services and location of the hotel to be convenient to your needs.

Sorry about lobby beverage, we do offer free coffee at the station behind the Go Board, I am sorry that was not made clear to you.

I hope you are also aware of our Very Important Parent Program VIP, that offers special hotel room rates and services to UD Families. Please contact me anytime at Bill Sullivan, billsull@udel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed here by myself for a couple nights. The hotel is incredibly convenient to campus, esp. the North side. I'll probably get some details wrong, but the hotel has a partnership with the University of Delaware for their Hotel Management program. The program is well run and the partnership is great. The hotel itself was very nice. I missed my chance to try the pool but it looked nice. The staff was helpful with recommendations for food.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
Thank cinnamon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Sincere thanks for your comments on your visit to our hotel. We are proud to also be a teaching hotel for the University of Delaware for Hotel Management program, helping train future leaders in hospitality, Thanks as well for your comments on our staff, I will share those as part of our training.

We do look forward to your next visit to Newark and our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have stayed at a number of Courtyards. This was the best. Beautiful lobby area and nicely appointed rooms. The staff was also very friendly and helpful.

We were there for our son's orientation at UDel. The staff is very attuned to what is going on at the the University and really caters to students and their families.

The only criticism I have is that the cafe breakfast is very expensive. $7.50 for an egg sandwich. Yes, it is a Starbucks, but save your money and go to Dunkin Donuts or one of the other restaurants on Main Street. It is only a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbright31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Welcome to the University of Delaware and our hotel. Thanks for your comments about our facilities and services.

I understand your concern about our breakfast pricing and will look at that. We do offer rooms rates that include breakfast, so that could be an option for future visits as well.

I hope you are also aware of our Very Important Parent Program VIP, that offers special rates and services to UD Families. Please contact me anytime at Bill Sullivan, billsull@udel.

We are honored to be your “Newark” home during our students years at UD!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed here with my two teenage sons for a college visit to the University of Delaware. The location is perfect to visit the campus, and the hotel was clean and nicely kept. Like most people do, I made my reservation through a third party (i.e. Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, etc). I received a good pre-paid rate, and I reserved a room with two Queen sized beds for my teenagers to share. Unfortunately when we checked in, we were given a room with a King sized bed and a pull-out couch. When I asked to switch to a room with two Queen beds, I was told that they were sold out and that third party reservations did not guarantee the type of room. So, we were stuck with a thin, flimsy pull-out couch mattress that had coils and springs sticking up in all the wrong places. Have you seen the Seinfeld episode where Elaine has to sleep on the pull-out couch? It was just like that, but worse, especially for my two 6 feet tall sons whose legs hung off the mattress all night. To make matters worse, we had to make up the couch by ourselves, and my boys complained that the blanket was itchy. Needless to say they had a poor night's sleep and complained of aches and pains from the bad mattress the next day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thanks for your feedback on your campus visit UD, I am sorry that it was not a better experience. If you student does attend UD, we do offer our Very Important Parent Program VIP, that offers special hotel room rates and services to UD Families. Please contact me anytime at Bill Sullivan, billsull@udel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The staff was very helpful, even letting us know where the one free parking area was off Main street. The rooms were large, clean and nicely decorated. Location was close to restaurants and campus but far enough away to be quiet and relaxing. The cafe was exceptional. Their crab cakes were incredible. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#3 of 24 in Newark
279 reviews
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newark South
5.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware

Address: 400 David Hollowell Dr, Newark, DE 19716-7448
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#5 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £107 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful suburban campus, Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware offers impeccable service coupled with state-of-the-art technology. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms offer all the comforts of home, and feature well-lit workstations, complimentary wired and wireless internet service. This is a select service hotel in Newark, Delaware with full service amenities, free parking, oversized guest rooms, and breakfast buffet or hot items cooked to order. The lobby lounge and dinner service is available seven days a week. If you love seafood then make sure to feast yourself on our award winning crab cakes. It will be our pleasure meeting your business or conference needs with nearby businesses such as WL Gore, Bank of America, and Siemens. We are also adjacent to Clayton Hall Conference Center, a University-run facility that boasts over 40,000 square feet of meeting space. If it’s fun you’re looking for, you can test your luck at Delaware Park, experience some of Delaware’s “tax-free” shopping at Christiana Mall, or take in some culture in the neighboring Brandywine Valley. Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware takes pride in being one of Delaware’s first “Green Lodging” establishments. Stop by and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark - University Of Delaware Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard
Courtyard University Of Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing