We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good business travel facility and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
1,441 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 877 helpful votes
“Very good business travel facility and location”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I needed a place to stay for a business trip in town. Our company had a negotiated discount with this Courtyard locaiton.

Finding the hotel was easy as I drove into town on Rte 273 with signs pointing the way onto Rte 896.

My room (236) was a non-smoking double queen. It was a decent sized room with a chair for reading and a business desk and swivel chair. The room's view overlooked the roof of what I think was the pool. There was a small fridge and a large HDTV with plenty of channels available.

As for the work desk area, it was limited with space. The swivel chair did not raise up very high, so the desk top was higher than what I am used to working with.

Downstairs, they had a small restaurant with a breakfast buffet as well as a bar area. I did not eat there, but I did have a beer ($9 for a draft pint).

The hotel is located about a half mile walk from Main Street with plenty of dining options.

Overall, I thought it was one of the nicer Courtyards I have visited.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ct-cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thanks your visit to our hotel and we appreciate your comments. Our hotel is located on the University of Delaware Laird campus and as you mentioned, very close to the downtown Newark Main Street. Main Street is an award wining location with numerous pubs, restaurants and shops, all for the convenience of our guests. We offer local van service as well for our guests to help them explore the Newark area. Tax Free Delaware is a great place to visit as well for all shopping needs!

We look forward to your next visit and a pleasure to serve your company!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    83
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
28
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I have stayed at many properties in the Newark area for business. I liked this one as it is clean, has a nice staff and the rooms are spacious. It is close to many eateries on the main street of Newark. the workout space is a little tight. The equipment is good but not a lot of space.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UDbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Sincere thanks for you comments and our hotel, staff and services. We value this direct feedback from our guests. In addition to our fitness room, we do an agreement with a nearby local fitness club, Fusion Fitness, where a much more extensive equipment, space and staff. We are pleased to arrange this at the front desk for passes, directions or transportation.
We look forward to your next visit to Newark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I've stayed here twice for business at the University of Delaware and the staff is competent and friendly, there is complimentary internet that is NOT deadly slow, good sized desks with lots of decktop electrical outlets and the breakfasts are a good value--a small standard buffet with omelets made to order for around $12.

Room Tip: If you want to open your window be sure not to get a room near the employee smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thanks your note about your recent stay, we really appreciate your business and you taking the time to comment on the property and our services. We are proud to be a Marriott Courtyard and have recently upgraded our lobby and related services as part of the Marriott Refreshing Business process, and I am pleased that you enjoyed those features

also, thanks for the note on the employee smoking area, we will take action there immediately to improve that situation

thanks for your notes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

As a regular business road warrior, I made a reservation literally at the last moment. This hotel is nestled in between a few University of Delaware dorms. Signage is not great so be prepared, especially if dark. However my room was one of the most comfortable rooms I have ever had. Spacious clean and quiet. And I could open two mall windows for fresh air. Having any window that opens is a real plus. The bistro serves absolutely fabulous crab cakes. U of Delaware students seemed to be working at dinner. My server was adorable. The breakfast bistro staff was mediocre and only marginally nice or efficient. Doesn't matter because my room was perfect. A touch expensive but probably worth it. I got a great night's sleep and was completely refreshed

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank K1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thanks for your comments on our hotel, it was a real pleasure to be of service and thanks for selecting our hotel! We appreciate your feedback on all of our staff, food and services. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to our hotel and Newark Delaware. We will also focus on making our Bistro service the very best for your dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Though I only stayed at this hotel for one night while traveling north, I was pleased to find such a well maintained hotel. The entire hotel and grounds were very clean which being adjacent to a college campus can be something of a feat.

Pros
Extremely clean building and grounds
Friendly, but very young, staff
Very spacious rooms

Con
I will say that the navigating the parking lot and surrounding roads can be somewhat of a headache if not familiar with the area and network of one ways. If traveling only I'd recommend staying at a hotel closer to the interstate (which was not possible due to lack of availability for us)

Room Tip: I was surprised to have a room with a balcony and in comparison to a friend's room without, mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4TravelingFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel, we value your business and the feedback on our facility, services and location. Being located on the north end of the University is a challenge and we continue to look at signage and GPS fixes to help our guests. We look forward to being of service to you on your next trip to Newark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landenberg, PA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Great place to stay right on the University of Delaware's north campus. Lots of restaurants nearby on Main Street, but you should make a point to stay and eat dinner at the Courtyard's Cafe Bistro. Many delicious and reasonably priced entrees to choose from, but you should order the crabcakes. They're rated the best crabcakes by the Delaware News Journal's food critic and we think so too!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thanks for your feedback on our hotel, and the most gracious comments about our award winning crab cakes. Chef Mark Chopko is the creative culinarian that prepares them every day for our guests. Nearby Newark Main Street, as you stated so well, is an award winning Downtown Main Street with great shopping and dining. We look forward to your next visit to UD and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Very nice hotel! I was there for meetings over a weekend. The dinners that we had there as part of our event were delicious. I would highly recommend the stuffed chicken breast and the salmon. Our waiter, Greg, was amazing! He provided very attentive service. The hotel staff is personable and prompt. The breakfast buffet, included in our room rate, was very good. It included the usual assortment of continental breakfast items, but made to order omelets were also available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
We really appreciate and value your comments about our hotel, food and service.Greg is one of our best servers and we are proud of all of our staff, good and services. We hope your meeting was a success and that you will return to Newark to our hotel and the adjacent Clayton Hall conference center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware

Property: Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Address: 400 David Hollowell Dr, Newark, DE 19716-7448
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful suburban campus, the Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware offers impeccable service coupled with state-of-the-art technology. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms offer all the comforts of home, and feature well-lit workstations, complimentary wired and wireless internet service. This is a select service hotel with full service amenities, free parking, oversized guest rooms, and breakfast buffet or hot items cooked to order. The lobby lounge and dinner service is available seven days a week. If you love seafood then make sure to feast yourself on our award winning crab cakes. It will be our pleasure meeting your business or conference needs with nearby businesses such as WL Gore, Bank of America, and Siemens. We are also adjacent to Clayton Hall Conference Center, a University-run facility that boasts over 40,000 square feet of meeting space. If it’s fun you’re looking for, you can test your luck at Delaware Park, experience some of Delaware’s “tax-free” shopping at Christiana Mall, or take in some culture in the neighboring Brandywine Valley. The Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware takes pride in being one of Delaware’s first “Green Lodging” establishments. Stop by and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark - University Of Delaware Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard
Courtyard University Of Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing