We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Have now stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Newark, DE four times, and each time has been a good experience. The staff is welcoming, the lobby calming, and the room comfortable and more important, clean! Add to the above their VIP (Very Important Parent) program, and it can't be beat! As the parent of a Freshman at UD, we plan to stay here any time we visit the college over the next four years.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Michelle, thanks for sharing your comments about our hotel and our Very Important Parents program, and welcome to the University of Delaware! We are honored to host your family as you visit your student and the campus of the University of Delaware!

Thanks and go Blue Hens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Lovely hotel, lovely friendly staff (particularly the barman who is a true professional). Rooms are big, modern and clean. A short walk from Newark main street so you can go out for a beer and a meal and not worry about driving.

The only thing I can say that's bad about it is significant to the business traveller. They used to have a breakfast buffet. It was very good. You came in, got what you want, and were out in less than 15mins to go to your meetings. They have now replaced it with some kind of pay at the counter starbucks coffee shop thing where if you want a proper breakfast you have to order it and wait. Additionally, everyone is having breakfast at the same time, so you queue up and wait before you can even place an order.

I don't know about you, business guys and ladies of the world, but I don't have 30-40mins to spend on breakfast when I am on a business trip. It doesn't work for me. For this reason, I stay elsewhere nowadays. I hope they fix it and I'll come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpetburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thanks for your business and for taking the time to comment on our hotel and food service. Our Courtyard Brand standard is the Bistro and we no longer have our breakfast buffet mid-week. I am sorry you had a delay in your service and I assure you our goal is to provide prompt, polite, and professional service at all times and I hope you give us a chance to regain your full confidence. Thanks for your comments on Ed, our head barman, he is an exceptional guest contact leader!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Checked into a double queen room which was very spacious, clean & quite. The front desk reps were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on the Univ of Delaware campus. The Biestro's breakfasts were delicious & the chef more than helpful and accomadating. We had a wonderful time at this facility!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car122010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Car, thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel and services. We were honored to host the wedding here this weekend and I am pleased that all aspects of your stay were pleasant!

We look forward to seeing you again soon and as always, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel has got it down! What a great friendly clean experience. I wish I could stay hate more often. On the UD Campus. Losts of things walkable from here too. Crab cakes are NOT on the menu, but they are AMAZING. I was skeptical too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Critic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for most gracious comments about your recent visit to the Courtyard Newark at the University of Delaware. We are proud of our hotel and we share your comments with our staff. And I agree on the crab cakes

Hope your travels bring you back soon and often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My sister and I stayed here for one overnight on our way through Delaware. I was surprised at how large the hotel room was. We had a double queen room booked through hotels.com. The room was exceptionally clean. I have to say I've never stayed in another hotel room that was this clean and neat! The mini fridge did not stick out into the room, as other reviewers had in their rooms. The complimentary toiletries smelled so good and were better than the standard found in other hotels. The beds were comfortable, although I didn't like the small, square pillows.
We had a small issue with the lamps and someone was sent up immediately to fix the problem. All of the staff we dealt with were very friendly and professional. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that we heard a lot of noise all through the night (voices, slamming doors, etc) but this is to be expected in a college town during drop off weekends. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 310 - very very clean and nice view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit the Courtyard Newark at the University of Delaware. Your most caring comments are valuable to our future guests, as they choose their hotel in Newark and to our staff, as we work to continuously work to improve our product and service. We will share your comments with our team today at our daily stand up meeting. I agree about the pillows and they are due to upgraded to full size in the next three weeks.

thanks and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Here on biz - check-in was quick and seamless. Room was large, clean, well-appointed. Staff was quite friendly and helpful. Not too far from the "main-drag". After returning from dinner got a late night drink and dessert to take back to my room. Highly recommend the apple crisp w/ ice cream. Work area in room is large and allows you to spread out and get stuff done... Rain this morning so I did my workout in a nice fitness center. Will gladly stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Jon, thanks for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at our hotel. We all appreciate your business and hope we have the opportunity again soon to see you here. I will share your fine comments with our team, and please have safe travels!

Bill Sullivan, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is the "official" hotel of the Univ of Delaware. (that also makes it somewhat pricey - there are not a lot of really good hotels close by the University) Hotel is well appointed and well kept. About fifteen minute walk to the main shopping/restaurant area and tehy offer shuttle service .Good location if you are doing something at the university, can be a pain for others. To get out of the parking lot, you must take a circular route through University propriety, high rise dorms, etc. When something is going on at the school, What a mess to get around!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranMan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Frank, thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel, we appreciate your comments and business. I think you ran into some re-routing in our parking lot as we re-sealed it, so I am sorry that you had to take the "longer way" out. That work is all done and we look forward to your next visit the Newark and the University of Delaware. Thanks and enjoy the summer season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
5.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
273 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware

Address: 400 David Hollowell Drive, Newark, DE 19716
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range: £134 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful suburban campus, Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware offers impeccable service coupled with state-of-the-art technology. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms offer all the comforts of home, and feature well-lit workstations, complimentary wired and wireless internet service. This is a select service hotel in Newark, Delaware with full service amenities, free parking, oversized guest rooms, and breakfast buffet or hot items cooked to order. The lobby lounge and dinner service is available seven days a week. If you love seafood then make sure to feast yourself on our award winning crab cakes. It will be our pleasure meeting your business or conference needs with nearby businesses such as WL Gore, Bank of America, and Siemens. We are also adjacent to Clayton Hall Conference Center, a University-run facility that boasts over 40,000 square feet of meeting space. If it’s fun you’re looking for, you can test your luck at Delaware Park, experience some of Delaware’s “tax-free” shopping at Christiana Mall, or take in some culture in the neighboring Brandywine Valley. Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware takes pride in being one of Delaware’s first “Green Lodging” establishments. Stop by and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark - University Of Delaware Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard
Courtyard University Of Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing