We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expect more for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Expect more for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a recent conference. The hotel is clean and well appointed. The front desk staff was friendly. The room was comfortable and very clean. The location though "on campus" is on the far fringes of campus, it is a good 15 min walk to the main drag or the heart of campus. The pool was warm and the hot tub hot.

Two things that keep it from getting a better rating from me:
- the heat wasn't on in the rooms. The University owns the building and therefore dictates when the heat gets turned on. There is no advanced notice of this, so I spent time playing with the theromstat in the room, that did nothing. I would have liked up-front notice when I checked in along with an offer of space heaters or blankets (both of which they offered once I complained).
- the staff didn't know how to split the bill between me and my "roommate" for the conference. It took them about 30 minutes when I was checking out to get the bill right. They did offer me a snack while I waited, and were really polite about it, but it still was something that should have been straight forward.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleReebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us for your conference. I apologize for the issue with the heat and billing, both are unacceptable and not our standard. Our heat issue was a temporary one that impacted some rooms and was corrected on Sunday. I am sorry this impacted you and your roommate.

I hope we get a chance in the future to regain your full confidence in our hotel and that your meeting again comes to Newark and the University of Delaware!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    82
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
73
27
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Marriott Courtyard at University of Delaware when we visited our grandchildren who attend UDEL. The hotel is right on campus, owned by UDEL and the university's students intern there. The front desk staff was courteous and friendly and gave us directions and campus maps. We opted for a King room. The room was large and had a couch and desk. It was immaculate which is always important to me. The mattress and pillows were very comfortable. We loved the down blanket which was thin, lightweight and warm. The bathroom was ample and had another feature that I liked. It had room on the side of the sink to put your makeup and bathroom accessories. The water was always hot. If I could suggest one thing to add to the bathroom it would be a wall swivel make up magnifying mirror. Many of the guests are parents and grandparents of the students whose eyesight is not so good and who would appreciate this touch. We did not eat in the small restaurant which I understand is very good because our grandkids had made reservations elsewhere. They do not have a complimentary breakfast as many of the hotels do nowadays. All in all we had a very pleasant stay here and we would not hesitate to come back here on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for your very kind comments about our hotel and we pleased that you made us your base for visit to the University of Delaware. As the campus hotel, we always welcome families, guests and prospective students to the hotel, and we are pleased that our staff helped you with maps and directions. I will note your comment on the room mirror and see if we can incorporate that into our upcoming guest room renovation. (to start Nov and over by end of Feb 2014). Our brand does not offer free breakfast, but next time you come, ask for the “stay with breakfast” rate that will give you an excellent value on breakfast.

Thanks and please come again soon, and meanwhile, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The place looked great! The service staff was good! The only problem was that it was below 60 degrees in my room and the heat was not working! It was October 26 and 42 degrees outside And NO HEAT!!! According to the hotel the heat was controlled by the university? Really??? They did supply a heater that didn't warm the room because of its miniature size. I never received the blankets I was promised either!!! I would suggest a better policy regarding the heat , in most places heat is available after October 15th. I had a horrible night and an aggravated medical condition because off the cold!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for your note about your recent stay with us and I apologize for the issue with the guest room temperature, that is clearly unacceptable and not our standard. I hope you can give us a chance to regain your full confidence in our hotel and please contact me, Bill Sullivan, General Manager for your next visit to Newark and our Hotel.

thanks so much for taking the time to share this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Visited my younger sister at university of delaware and stayed at the Courtyard Marriott by recommendation of my parents. It was the perfect place to stay for this trip. Due to a late flight, we checked in close to midnight and the man at the front desk was so kind even though it was so late! The rooms are updated and nice, ours had a balcony which was nice to open as the weather was perfect that weekend. The lobby is very nice too with many places to sit and gather withe friends. Did not eat there but breakfast looked good. The hotel is also a very short walk to Main Street. I am sure we will be staying here many times over the next four years and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sox33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thanks for your very kind comments about our hotel and we welcome your family to the University of Delaware and our hotel. We hope we can be your "Newark Home" while your family member attends the University of Delaware. We are on campus and we agree with you about our great location for access to Newark Main Street, with over 100 shops and restaurants.

thanks so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was in town for a wedding and really enjoyed my stay here. Free parking and walking distance to main st. Very clean and comfortable room. Starbucks in the lobby which is always a plus. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are pleased that your wedding event choose our hotel for their special event, and hope all had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you to Newark, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg MD USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We checked in at approximately 9:00pm, looked at some TV and went to bed. We woke up at approximately 8:00am. When I looked down at the floor, I saw two bugs. They looked a little like ants but much bigger. One ran under the rug. I slammed the other with my shoe. It was still moving after a good hit, so I did it again. Ten minutes later I noticed it was still moving, so I hit it a third time. They must be wearing helmets, but this whack did the trick. I then opened the curtains. The windows were absolutely filthy.If you looked out the window from a distance, it appeared to be raining, but it wasn't. A little while later I saw another bug on the floor, or maybe it was the one I saw previously. I have stayed at Marriott properties throughout the US and Europe. I willl stay at them again. This includes Marriotts, Courtyards and the other Marriott brands. I willl never set fooot in the Newark, Delaware Couryard again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thanks for your comments on our hotel and I assure you that we take all feedback very seriously. Our staff will fully inspect the room that you stayed in and insure that any issues are fully corrected. We hope we have the opportunity in the near future to win you back as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed two nights while on a business trip. It's a very quiet, clean, and comfortable hotel. The staff is friendly and efficient. They have changed the way they handle breakfast since my stay there a year ago when we enjoyed a nice breakfast buffet. Now they have a small bistro where you order at the counter and then they bring your food to your table. Overall, a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Sincere thanks for your very positive comments about our hotel and staff. We are working hard to keep our Courtyard as one of the best in the US, and thanks to guests like you are doing well.

we hope to see you again soon in Newark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware

Property: Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Address: 400 David Hollowell Dr, Newark, DE 19716-7448
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Family Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful suburban campus, the Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware offers impeccable service coupled with state-of-the-art technology. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms offer all the comforts of home, and feature well-lit workstations, complimentary wired and wireless internet service. This is a select service hotel with full service amenities, free parking, oversized guest rooms, and breakfast buffet or hot items cooked to order. The lobby lounge and dinner service is available seven days a week. If you love seafood then make sure to feast yourself on our award winning crab cakes. It will be our pleasure meeting your business or conference needs with nearby businesses such as WL Gore, Bank of America, and Siemens. We are also adjacent to Clayton Hall Conference Center, a University-run facility that boasts over 40,000 square feet of meeting space. If it’s fun you’re looking for, you can test your luck at Delaware Park, experience some of Delaware’s “tax-free” shopping at Christiana Mall, or take in some culture in the neighboring Brandywine Valley. The Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware takes pride in being one of Delaware’s first “Green Lodging” establishments. Stop by and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark - University Of Delaware Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard
Courtyard University Of Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing