We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great basic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
eastern US
Level Contributor
108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“great basic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

I travel to this area for business a lot, but had not stayed at this hotel until a personal trip brought me to the area and I decided to stay at this Courtyard. From now on, when I travel to this area for business, I will be staying here.

The hotel does the basics, but it does them well. I ate at the little restaurant in the lobby, and normally I don't expect much in the hotel restaurants, but the food was actually great, and there was an extended menu to choose from. The staff was nice and helpful, especially the person at the restaurant, and the room was clean. Free parking and internet access. The streets in downtown Newark are a little confusing (lots of one-way streets), so be sure to print out the directions and bring them with you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank va_trailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    82
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
27
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, SC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

I travel frequently and usually stay with hotels in the Marriott chain. Usually, my stays are not that notable. The Courtyards, Marriotts, Springhills are all very nice, but nothing to get excited about. This Courtyard by Marriott is the exception. I have never experienced a more helpful, genuinely friendly, interested staff. It wasn't just one person, every employee we encountered delivered excellent service. In addition to the service the hotel was one of the nicer Courtyards. Everything about this stay was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CollinsFactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Crabcakes were the best I have ever had...but everything was great! Fresh, perfectly cooked vegetables, beautiful presentation, mouthwatering appetizers, Bread was warm and fresh and everyone there was freindly. The head chef even came out to see if everything was to our satisfaction. It was and then some. We will go back just for the food and can;t wait to try their outdoor patio grill menu. Wonderful place. Highly recommned this restaurant and hotel.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joanniePhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

I have stayed at this Marriott twice, and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Newark. It might be a little more expensive--we paid $135 night with our AAA discount--but it is so clean and comfortable. The beds are really comfortable, and they are covered with clean duvets instead of a gross hotel comforter. The place is brand new and very clean. The ONLY negative is that the hotel did not offer a complimentary continental breakfast. When we went down to breakfast, we were told we had to pay for fruit or yogurt, items that are usually included at other hotels. This was a little odd since the price is not cheap. But, other than that, the hotel is new, the staff is very friendly (I think they are mostly UD students in hospitality and tourism), and we had a very relaxing, stress free stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyfulgirl_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

From Feb 09 to May 09 I have stayed at this Marriott for a total of 6 weeks. This is a great place. I am greeted by name whenever I walk through the lobby and that was after my first week.
A number of U Delaware students work there and they are expertly trained.
I am always satisfied by my room - it's large, comfortable and has a separate sink from a large tiled bathroom floor . Plenty of towels. Comfortable bed with lots of good pillows and 2 more pillows in a drawer. I asked for a microwave and it was there that afternoon.

Lobby is really really huge with lots of comfortable leather chairs and couches and an HD TV with free Wii. They don't have a sit-down bar, but you can sit with your drink in the lobby and relax. There are refrigerators in the lobby stocked with lots of drinks, sandwiches and salads. It's open 24 hr/day. Pick what you want and tell the desk clerk. This is the only hotel out of a hundred I have been to where I deliberately make a trip to the lobby.

Alas, no free breakfast but you tell the chef exactly what you want made while loading up your plate with free fruit, pastry, yogurt and more. It's $10.

Main St is a 5 minute drive. It's where the students hang out. Lot's of places catering to students and a few really nice places to eat.

Would I stay there again? I have a 3 week stay booked for June.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDD_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

After driving around Newark for an hour trying to find a hotel room that was not that expensive and did not stink to high heaven, we ran into the Courtyard on the U of D campus. We paid $135 for 2 queens on a Sunday night. Check-in was quick and once we were settled we went down to the restaurant in the hotel to eat. The food was amazing and the prices were fair, given it was a hotel restaurant. The rooms were large and clean, like every Courtyard I have ever been to. I would recommend the hotel and restaurant to anyone I know!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank steve04386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

This courtyard is located ON the U-Del property, as such it can be a little tricky to find. The property is very well maintained, rooms are clean and up-to-date, breakfast is excellent. I wish they had a manager's reception though.

  • Liked — New location
  • Disliked — They often have trainees that aren't familiar with the procedures of the hotel.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Southeast_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
5.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware

Property: Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Address: 400 David Hollowell Dr, Newark, DE 19716-7448
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#5 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful suburban campus, the Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware offers impeccable service coupled with state-of-the-art technology. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms offer all the comforts of home, and feature well-lit workstations, complimentary wired and wireless internet service. This is a select service hotel with full service amenities, free parking, oversized guest rooms, and breakfast buffet or hot items cooked to order. The lobby lounge and dinner service is available seven days a week. If you love seafood then make sure to feast yourself on our award winning crab cakes. It will be our pleasure meeting your business or conference needs with nearby businesses such as WL Gore, Bank of America, and Siemens. We are also adjacent to Clayton Hall Conference Center, a University-run facility that boasts over 40,000 square feet of meeting space. If it’s fun you’re looking for, you can test your luck at Delaware Park, experience some of Delaware’s “tax-free” shopping at Christiana Mall, or take in some culture in the neighboring Brandywine Valley. The Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware takes pride in being one of Delaware’s first “Green Lodging” establishments. Stop by and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark - University Of Delaware Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard
Courtyard University Of Delaware

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing